Music: Databases
Databases for reading, listening, watching
TCC Library subscribes over 60 databases, many of which that you may find useful for your research-based-writing projects. Below find links and tutorials for several databases that hold scholarly music journals, popular music publications, video, and audio recordings. New to using databases? See the tab under the Databases tab above.
ProQuest
ProQuest holds at least 47 journals (and 1,447 books) that are either devoted to topics in music, or include music in their coverage. Note, however, that this number does not include publications that cover general topics, such as newspapers and popular magazines, and other scholarly journals, where you can also find articles about topics in music.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Journals pictured above are examples of the many music and music-related publications you can access in the ProQuest database.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete holds at least 250 journals that are either devoted to topics in music, or include music in their coverage. Note, however, that this number does not include publications that cover general topics, such as newspapers and popular magazines, and other scholarly journals, where you can also find articles about topics in music.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals pictured above are examples of the many music and music-related publications you can access in the Academic Search Complete database.
Films on Demand (FoD)
Films on Demand holds nearly 40,000 individual documentary and instructional video titles. Search by Subject under Music & Dance, or simply type in a key word to search the entire FoD collection. Use this link to view just one video segment, "Gnaoua Music."
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments.
JSTOR
JSTOR holds at least 77 journals (and 1,889 books) that are either devoted to topics in music, or include music in their coverage. Note, however, that this number does not include other scholarly journals, where you can also find articles about topics in music. JSTOR is an archival database that largely holds older materials, which add valuable retrospective content to your research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals pictured above are examples of the many music and music-related publications you can access in the JSTOR database.
Think creatively about databases!
You may find outstanding periodical articles and books that explore music topics in unexpected places. Think about the nature of your research topic, read the database descriptions, and explore!
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research and trade journals related to topics in nursing and other health professions
- Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly work and current news applicable to U.S. military and the government
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!