Music: How to search databases
Library subscription databases
On this page, find tutorials for how to use three different TCC Library subscription databases. Many of the tips you learn in these three tutorials will apply to other databases.
What are databases and why you need them. (2011). Yavapai College Library. Standard YouTube license applies.
Academic Search Complete tutorial
Explore the Academic Search Complete Database
Find academic, scholarly, and peer-reviewed journal articles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
Searching Tutorial
- Academic Search Complete Tutorial (2020)Click the link to watch this video for an introduction to searching Academic Search Complete.
ProQuest tutorial
Explore the ProQuest Database
Find newspaper, magazine, trade journal and scholarly journal articles.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
ProQuest Tutorial
JSTOR tutorial
Explore the JSTOR Database
Find scholarly journal articles, dating from the 1800s through about 3 years ago.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR!
Video Tutorial
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!