LGBTQIA+ Support and Resources
Celebrating Pride Month
Finding Local Pride Events
There are many events taking place in the King and Pierce County areas to celebrate Pride Month, but now, in June and into the summer months. Find information for events happening in the area by looking at the "Events" or "Calendar" sections on the following website.
- Tacoma Pride FestivalFind information about Tacoma's Pride Festival and be sure to click on the "Events" tab to see related local events planned for this year.
- PFLAG TacomaPFLAG (Parents Families & Friends of Lesbians and Gays) Meets at the Rainbow Center, messages taken at (253) 383-2318
- Rainbow CenterThe Rainbow Center's mission is to "eliminate discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity by providing education, resources, information and opportunities for empowerment to individuals and organization with the south Puget Sound area." Among other activities, the Center sponsors the Tacoma Pride Festival.
- Seattle PrideFind information on local events in Seattle, Tacoma, and all across King, Pierce, Kitsap counties & more
Looking for more info about local gay history?
Check out PNW guide, linked below, to find more info on LGBTQ+ people & events in local history. Click on the "People Groups & Immigration" tab for more.
Celebrate Pride Month with a good book or film
Learn about LGBTQ history and the continued struggles and successes of the LGBTQIA populations through documentary and feature films, or try reading a fiction or non-fiction book from the library's collection.
Consider the linked videos below, or, to find more streaming films and books/eBooks be sure to...
- click on the "Library resources by type" tab, here in this guide
- Select "Films" to find a list of DVDs and streaming film platforms where you can search for documentary and educational films, as well as feature films.
- Select "Books" to see some featured titles in the collection, or try a search of your own to find books and ebooks
(click on image to enlarge)
Featured Online Videos
- City of Seattle celebrates start of Pride Month with flag raisingWatch the 30 minute video from Seattle Channel, from June 1, 2022
- Stonewall Forever - A Documentary about the Past, Present and Future of PrideA 2019 film from LGBTCenterNYC
Google Arts & Culture Collections
Consider the collections from Google Arts & Culture to learn more about LGBTQ history and pride in both the US and globally
- Amending America: LGBTQ Human and Civil Rights - A Google Arts and Culture Collection"Explore selected stories about LGBTQ human and civil rights."
- Desire, love, identity: exploring LGBTQ histories - A Google Arts and Culture CollectionFrom the British Museum "From prominent figures of the classical world like the Roman emperor Hadrian and his lover Antinous to the gender fluidity of an early 20th century N'domo mask from Mali, this selection presents stories that have often been overlooked or underrepresented."
- Here, Queer, and Exploring Beyond the Atmosphere - A Google Arts and Culture CollectionThis collection, in part, features "Veteran, astronomer, and activist Dr. Franklin (Frank) Kameny" who worked "to dismantle homophobia and break down the unjust systems it created."
- History of Pride Flags in Protest - A Google Arts and Culture Collection"Jake Hall, a queer freelance journalist, selects key examples of the rainbow Pride flag being used as a protest symbol"
- One Love: LGBT Families - A Google Arts & Culture CollectionTo create this collection "recruited families from the Richmond metropolitan
region to pose for portraits and to share their perspectives - from challenges
and points of pride and to things they love about each other and about
Richmond." - The Original Pride Flag - A Google Arts and Culture Collection"Jake Hall, a queer freelance journalist, unpacks the design inspiration and political history of the original, eight-stripe Pride flag, from 1978"
- Pride - A Google Arts and Culture CollectionFind videos, images, articles, documents, and other related sources in this collection. "The flag, the parade, the photographs, and preserving the memory of Stonewall"
- Stonewall Forever (Interactive exhibit)"Explore a living monument to 50 years of Pride" From the NYC LGBT Community Center
Featured Podcasts
Consider the linked podcasts below. Have a suggestion for another podcast that looks at LGBTQ issues and history? Use the "Get Help" tab to send a message with your suggestions!
- Making Gay History [Podcast]"The Making Gay History podcast mines Eric Marcus’s decades-old audio archive of rare interviews — conducted for his award-winning oral history of the LGBTQ civil rights movement — to create intimate, personal portraits of both known and long-forgotten champions, heroes, and witnesses to history."
- Queer America [Podcast]A podcast from "Learning for Justice" The "Queer America is an exploration of the history of sexual identity and gender identity in the United States."
- StoryCorps - Stonewall OutLoudSearch videos, podcasts, and other resources in this collection focusing on Stonewall
Featured Resources
- A Proclamation on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, And Intersex Pride Month, 2022A 2022 briefing article from the White House
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Pride Month"The collections of the Library of Congress contain many books, posters, sound recordings, manuscripts and other material produced by, about and for the LGBTQ community. The contributions of this community are preserved as part of our nation’s history, and include noted artistic works, musical compositions and contemporary novels."
- Support LGBTQ+ People Every Month, Not Just During Pride MonthA 2021 article from the Journal of Financial Planning
- What to Watch | Celebrate LGBTQIA Pride Month"A collection of documentaries and programs that highlight LGBTQIA voices and experiences." - From PBS
- What Is Pride Month and the History of Pride?A 2020 article from "Them" - an award-winning authority on what LGBTQ+ means today — and tomorrow.
- Celebrate Pride With Us!Find resources, videos, and related content to help you learn now to celebrate the month - From the Human Rights Campaign
- Queer History in Seattle, Part 1: to 1967An article from HistoryLink.org
- Queer History in Seattle, Part 2: After StonewallFrom Historylink.org
- The Black and brown activists who started PrideA 2021 article from Brookings
- Gay & Lesbian Archives of the Pacific Northwest LGBTQ HistoryA part of "The Oregon Encyclopedia" and a project of the Oregon Historical Society.
- LGBTQ HistoryFrom the Smithsonian Institute, the National Museum of American History provides a list of resources and online exhibitions on the history of the LGBTQ+ movement in America.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!