EDI Fellows 2023-24 - Research and more: TCC Library databases - periodicals and books
Library subscription databases
TCC Library databases are outstanding places to look for general reference works to learn about a topic overall, and they are perfect places to find information that is more detailed and focused, including scholarly works on narrow research questions. Your TCC Library subscribes to over 60 databases. Many of them will be perfect sources for your project. See the lists below for our recommendations.
Reference sources (encyclopedias and more)
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic before you begin your active research. - African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic. Like all reference sources, a great place to get foundational knowledge before beginning your active research. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
These weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic. Great place to get the overall gist of an issue. - CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories.
- TCC Library database tutorialsWatch video tutorials on many of our research databases.
Multi-disciplinary (multi-topic) periodical databases
These are your "go-to" databases that will serve you well for almost any topic or issue I can think of. After you explore Gale eBooks, start with these.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
- TCC Library database tutorialsWatch video tutorials on many of our research databases.
More voices.
- Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) News, culture and history from 200 plus publications from the ethnic, minority and Native press in English and Spanish. - Fuenta Académica This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) More than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. - Social Work Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide array of topics, such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity. - Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles on 400 topics, each with an overview and an argument, and many with opposing arguments. Also includes primary sources. - Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of ethnic groups in the United States, with peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.
Sciences databases
ScienceDirect holds life and physical sciences journals, health care fields journals, and psychology journals (and books). Like any database, try it out for your topic, even if you don't think there will be anything relevant - I am often surprised by the things I can find!
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and 11,000 books, including reference works. (Tip: After searching for your topic, choose the "Refine by subscribed journals" feature on the results page to view the items you can access free of charge because you are a TCC student.)
Psychology databases
Your topic may well have a psychological impact component to it. Test these databases out.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
(Also known as APA PsycARTICLES).(Ebsco) Periodical database of peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology. - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) More than 500 full-text journals, covering the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
Health-related databases
There are many topics and issues that you may want to explore that are directly, or indirectly, related to health and health care. Even if you don't think your issue has a health component, give at least one of these a try - it might reveal something interesting. I recommend starting with CINAHL.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text provides access to over 600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Coverage of nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. - alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- TCC Library database tutorialsWatch video tutorials on many of our research databases.
eBooks
Certainly we have print books, but our electronic books holdings are much more vast! We have two ebook databases. And sometimes Google Books sometimes has full text offerings, or a hefty preview.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 180,000 electronic books, with broad coverage on academic topics. Viewable with your web browser; also downloadable to e-readers or e-reader apps with some restrictions. - eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 electronic books, covering a large selection of multidisciplinary academic subjects. Books can be read through a web browser or downloaded.
TCC Library catalog - this can put you in touch with print and ebooks in one location
Google books can offer full text, or large previews that can allow you to do the work you need to do!
Get help.
You do not have to do this all alone, even at 2am! Live chat research help is available literally, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
You are more likely to be able to chat with a TCC Librarian during the following hours: (For all other hours, you are more likely to chat with a librarian at another college, in another state, or maybe even another country!)
- Mondays-Fridays 9am to 3pm
Remember, you can also work with a research librarian at the TCC Library Research Desk:
- Mondays-Fridays, 7:30am to 6pm
You can also call us to set up a time to meet, even on Chat! Library Research Desk:
- 253-566-5134
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!