Citing sources: MLA (Modern Language Association)
TCC's MLA style handouts
MLA Style Handouts
Here are some handouts (in both .docx and .pdf formats) featuring examples of citations for sources you might find through TCC's Library and the Web. This first handout is for the full works cited page.
Works Cited
- MLA style works cited guide (8th ed.) 2018 [doc]This double-sided .doc handout provides some example citations for commonly used sources.
- MLA style works cited guide (8th ed.) 2018 [pdf]This double-sided .pdf handout provides some example citations for commonly used sources.
In-Text Citations
- MLA style in-text citations guide (8th ed.) 2018 [doc]This double-sided .dochandout provides some example in-text citations for commonly used sources.
- MLA style in-text citations guide (8th ed.) 2018 [pdf]This double-sided .pdf handout provides some example in-text citations for commonly used sources.
Citing Social Media
- MLA style social media citations (9th ed.) 2021 [.docx]This double-sided .docx handout provides some example Works Cited section citations for social media content.
- MLA style social media citations (9th ed.) 2021 [.pdf]This double-sided .pdf handout provides some example Works Cited section citations for social media content.
MLA fill-in-the-blank web forms ("citation builders")
MLA Fill-in-the-Blank Citation Generators
Plug in the appropriate information in the following "citation builders" and view your citation in MLA format. Successful use depends upon entering the proper information! Compare your results with an MLA style handout (such as the one to the right).
- Citation Machine: MLA styleCitation Machine helps students properly credit their sources and create bibliographies. You can choose a manual entry mode, with fill-in-the-blank forms for different types of sources, or enter a URL for auto-filled mode.
- Noodle Tools ExpressJust need one or two quick citations? No need to log in or subscribe -- simply generate them in NoodleTools Express and copy and paste what you need into your document. Note: citations are not saved and cannot be exported to a word processor using this version of the tool
MLA style books in the TCC Library
MLA handbook, 8th ed. by Call Number: Reference LB2369 .G53 2016Publication Date: 2016Our copies of the new edition for the MLA Handbook are available in our reference section for in-library use. There is also a copy available to check out in Reserves at the front Front Desk.
What is MLA style?
What is MLA style?
What is MLA style?The Modern Language Association (MLA) publishes a style guide used by authors who publish in the humanities.
- MLA style refers to both the physical appearance of your paper (type size, margins, running headers, etc.) and to the way you cite your sources, both in text and in your bibliography
- Ensures consistency
- Includes elements such as:
- selection of headings, tone, and length;
- punctuation and abbreviations;
- presentation of numbers and statistics;
- construction of tables and figures,
- citation of sources both in-text and in a Works Cited page;
- and many other elements that are a part of a manuscript.
- You will collect the same information you would for an APA style bibliography (author, title, title of journal, date, etc.), but arrange it in a slightly different manner.
- Remember than many of the Library's databases will provide an MLA citation that you can cut and paste.
- What is MLA style?Official definition and history of MLA style, by the MLA itself.
Video: How to create in-text and works-cited citations in MLA Style, 8th ed.
Watch this short video (3 mins, 38 seconds) to learn how to create both in-text and works-cited citations that adhere to the MLA Style (8th edition).
MLA help links
Get more help with MLA
Try these helpful sites that provide examples of citations for common sources, like books, e-books, and articles.
- The Purdue OWL: MLA Style Citation GuideThis resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (8th ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
- UNC-Chapel Hill: Citing Information - MLA 8th ed.From the UNC-Chapel Hill Citing Information guides. Use the links on the left menu to view sample works cited, in-text citations, and sample citations for both print and online sources.
- The MLA Style CenterSite for the Modern Language Association (MLA), with FAQs, a Quick Guide to the 8th edition, and more.
APA and MLA help for citing government documents
APA 7 and MLA 8 Help for Citing Government Documents
Government documents or reports -- from local, county, state, and/or national government departments -- are cited a little differently in both APA and MLA citation styles. For government documents or data, in most cases the author will be the government department responsible for compiling or publishing the data/report/document.
Examples for Citing Government Documents
Click the links below for good guides, with examples, for how to cite Census data, tax forms and other government documents.
- APA 7 style help for citing U.S. government documentsExamples and basic formats for how to cite online and print government documents in APA style (7th ed.) From Columbia College.
- MLA 8 style help for citing U.S. government documentsExamples and basic formats for how to cite online and print government publications, using MLA style (8th ed.). From the Indian River State College Library site.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!