Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing sources: Citation basics in databases

When and how to cite (and avoid accidental plagiarism!)

Citation tools in library databases

Citation tools in library databases

Many Library databases include a button or link providing citation information (in a number of styles) that you can then copy and paste into your document. Here are some examples and screenshots of what to look for:

sample of a "cite" button/tool in a library database sample of a "cite" button/tool in a library database sample of a "cite" button/tool in a library database

screenshot of cite button in Academic Search Complete database

Doublecheck your database citations!

Note: The database-provided citation may have errors! Make sure you compare the database citation to your instructors' examples, Library style sheets (located in the sub-pages under the "Citation Styles" tab) or in the official manuals for each style.

 

Why the different citation styles?

Members of certain professions agree upon a set of citation standards that work best for their professional communities. For example, information necessary to cite sources in the legal community may not be necessary if you are writing a paper for an English class.

Check out the web site below from Dartmouth College about the basics of citing your sources.

CC BY SA license

Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.

Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087