Self-Help Resources

Self-Help Resources

This guide provides information and links to TCC Library's self-help books (print and electronic), useful films and apps, and also helping organizations and agencies in the Tacoma-Pierce County area.  Links to e-books (call number: online) will take you to the book itself; links to print books take you to the library catalog entry for that book.

Self-help collections are a specialty of many public libraries.  If you don't see what you need here at TCC, we encourage you to check online at Tacoma Public Library or Pierce County Library.  Let us know if you need us to arrange an interlibrary loan from one of those (or any other) libraries.

The Health & Wellness Collection

The library has a small but growing collection of books aimed at physical and mental well being. Follow the instructions below to limit to just this collection of books. 

1. Use the Library Catalog

2. Choose the "Health & Wellness" collection using the drop-down menu in the search box 

• Enter a title, author, or keyword into the search box and select the search button.

3. Look for the Call Number

• There are many ebooks available for health and wellness topics; however, the Health & Wellness collection is a physical one consisting of printed books and CDs inside the library. The collection is on a bookshelf near the Help Desk. These physical items are the only ones that will show up when you limit your search to this collection. Click on the title of the book or CD item in your search results.

• Note, as shown below, whether it is available (checked-in or out) and also the call number (its location). Someone in the library will help you find it. Just ask us!

(click on image to enlarge)