Faculty Professional Development Resources
Anti-Racism Resources
Featured Books
Racial Battle Fatigue in Faculty : Perspectives and Lessons From Higher Education
Main Collection LC212.42 .R343 2020
Featured Web Resources
Linked below are websites, online exhibits, and other digital collections from larger organizations and non-profits already doing the work of combatting racism and discrimination in various spheres of life.
- Anti-Defamation League (AD)"ADL is the leading anti-hate organization in the world. Founded in 1913, its timeless mission is “to stop the defamation of the Jewish people and to secure justice and fair treatment to all.” Today, ADL continues to fight all forms of antisemitism and bias, using innovation and partnerships to drive impact. A global leader in combating antisemitism, countering extremism and battling bigotry wherever and whenever it happens, ADL works to protect democracy and ensure a just and inclusive society for all."
- Black Lives MatterBlack Lives Matter Global Network Foundation, Inc. is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes.
- BlackPast.orgThis is a great resource for information on a wide variety of topics pertaining to African American History, Global African History, current events, and more. Find videos, audio, images, interactive timelines, biographical articles, and more.
- The Center for Antiracist Research"The Boston University Center for Antiracist Research represents a collaborative research and education effort across multiple disciplines to build a world where racial equity and social justice prevail."
- Coalition of Anti-Racist Whites (CARW)"The Coalition of Anti-Racist Whites (CARW) is a collective of white organizers in Seattle and King County working to undo systemic racism in partnership with organizers of BIPOC-led movements."
- Equal Justice Initiative"The Equal Justice Initiative is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic injustice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society."
- Human Rights CampaignThe Human Rights Campaign is America’s largest civil rights organization working to achieve gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender equality. By inspiring and engaging all Americans, HRC strives to end discrimination against GLBT citizens and realize a nation that achieves fundamental fairness and equality for all.
- National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)Established in 1909, the NAACP stands strong today as one of the leaders in fighting racism. Find resources and information on their website.
- Race and Social Justice Initiative (RSJI)"The Race and Social Justice Initiative (RSJI) is the City’s commitment to eliminate racial disparities and achieve racial equity in Seattle."
- The Seattle Civil Rights & Labor History ProjectA collection at the University of Washington, this project allows you to search essays, photos, maps, films, oral history interviews, and more.
- Southern Poverty Law Center"The Southern Poverty Law Center is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society."
- Inquire Higher"Inquire Higher is a space where Black students and professionals come together for multigenerational growth. It’s a place where professionals can pay it forward and students can learn from relatable role models in a safe space."
Featured Websites & Online Guides
Linked below are websites, online exhibits, and other digital collections with resources on topics related to taking action against racism.
- #FightRacism at Stand Up For Human RightsFind information and resources on this website which "aims to foster a global culture of tolerance, equality and anti-discrimination"
- Being AntiracistAn article with linked resources from the "Talking About Race" guide from the National Museum of African American History and Culture
- Black PerspectivesThe award-winning blog of the African American Intellectual History Society (AAIHS). Includes articles on Black history topics written from a Black perspective.
- Color of Change"Color Of Change is the nation’s largest online racial justice organization...Color of Change leads campaigns that build real power for Black communities. "
- The Movement for Black Lives"The Movement for Black Lives (M4BL) formed in December of 2014, was created as a space for Black organizations across the country to debate and discuss the current political conditions, develop shared assessments of what political interventions were necessary in order to achieve key policy, cultural and political wins, convene organizational leadership in order to debate and co-create a shared movement wide strategy"
- My Language. My Choice: Words Mean ThingsAn interactive resource from Puget Sound University (PLU) that outlines some key terms and definitions and includes a short Q&A assignment
- Racial Equality Resource GuideCreated by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, this online guide provides an array of resources aimed at Racial Equity
- Talking About Race: Being AntiracistAn interactive article and resources from the National Museum of African American History & Culture
- Racial Equity Tools"Racial Equity Tools is designed to support individuals and groups working to achieve racial equity. It offers tools, research, tips, curricula, and ideas for people who want to increase their understanding and to help those working for racial justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities, and the culture at large. "
- Racial Equity Tools GlossaryFind the definitions of a variety of terms in this glossary from the Racial Equity Tools website
- SURJ: Showing Up for Racial Justice"A home for white people working for justice"
- 21-Day Racial Equity Habit Building ChallengeFind readings, podcasts, linked resources and more - all aimed at bringing positive, long-lasting change in connection to "power, privilege, supremacy, oppression, and equity" From America And Moore - The Privilege Institute
- National Museum of African American History and CultureIn partnership with the Smithsonian - "A place to explore history and culture through an
African American lens"
Featured Video Collections
Linked below are some online video collections that are great places to learn more about topics relating to racism, as well as links to 
the library's video streaming databases, and the library's catalog (to look up films by title or keyword).
- To find links to specific topical podcast episodes related to Black history in the US, consider the African American History guide linked below.
- Black American History - Crash Course video playlistCrashCourse video series (6-13 min. each) with innovative graphics, last updated 2023. Focuses on major events, issues, and figures in Black American history. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
- Black Film Center/ArchiveAn archive at Indiana University "dedicated to collecting, preserving, and making available historically and culturally significant films by and about Black people." Although the physical archive is in Indiana, there are several useful online features and collections.
- Left of BlackFrom the John Hope Franklin Center at Duke University - "Left of Black is a web series featuring interviews with Black Studies scholars created and hosted by James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of African and African American Studies Mark Anthony Neal."
- Black History in Two Minutes or soA channel on YouTube focusing on various people, places, and events within Black history in the US
- NAACP on YouTube"This channel highlights some of the NAACP activities and messages from the National office and Units from across the nation. "
- Say It Loud - YouTube Channel"Say It Loud is a PBS Digital Studios series that celebrates Black culture, context, and history. Hosts Evelyn from the Internets and Victor Jackson give you a comedic take on identity and pop culture, from Black pride movements to Black Twitter shenanigans. The show explores the complexity of Black experience and finds joy in the many ways Black folks have influenced American life."
- StoryCorps"StoryCorps mission is to provide people of all backgrounds and beliefs with the opportunity to record, share, and preserve the stories of our lives."
- TED TalksTED Videos have a CC BY NC ND 4.0 license, and TED encourages users to freely view, share, and download the videos without restraint. The website is provided as a public service to promote the spread of good ideas.
- Telling Their Stories: Oral History Archive ProjectRead, watch, and listen to student interviews of elders who witnesses key historic events of the 20th century
- Voices of the Civil Rights Movement SeriesA collection of videos with first-personal narratives and interviews with those living through the school segregation, protests, and other events during this time in history.
Streaming Film Databases
- Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
TCC Library subscribes to Swank streaming films that have been requested by faculty to support their online and hybrid classes. - Kanopy This link opens in a new window
TCC Library subscribes to Kanopy streaming films that have been requested by faculty to support their online and hybrid classes. - Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments. - Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Featured Podcasts
Linked here are some of the larger podcasts that often cover topics relating to systemic, structural, and interpersonal racism and Black history in the US.
- 15 Minute History [Podcast]"This podcast series is devoted to short, accessible discussions of important topics in world history, United States history, and Texas history with the award winning faculty and graduate students at the University of Texas at Austin, and distinguished visitors to our campus. They are meant to be a resource for both teachers and students, and can be enjoyed by anyone with an interest in history."
- The 1619 Project"1619 is a New York Times audio series, hosted by Nikole Hannah-Jones, that examines the long shadow of American slavery. "
- Abolition Today (podcast)"Abolition today is a weekly online radio program with specific focus on modern slavery as it is practiced through the 13th amendment of the US constitution and by private for-profit prisons worldwide."
- About Race [Podcast] A little over 50 episodes of a podcast called "Our National Conversation About Conversations About Race." - "Co-discussants Anna Holmes, Baratunde Thurston, Raquel Cepeda and Tanner Colby host a lively multiracial, interracial conversation about the ways we can’t talk, don’t talk, would rather not talk, but intermittently, fitfully, embarrassingly do talk about culture, identity, politics, power, and privilege in our pre-post-yet-still-very-racial America. This show is "About Race.""
- Be Antiracist with Ibram X. Kendi [Podcast]A podcast by Ibram X. Kendi - listen online or with Apple Podcasts
- Blackbelt Voices [Podcast]"The Blackbelt Voices podcast tells stories from and about Black folks down South that honor our history, celebrate our culture, and shape our future. Through first-person narratives and in-depth conversations, hosts Adena J. White, Kara Wilkins, and Katrina Dupins share the experiences of Black Southerners living in, loving, and reconciling with the region we call home."
- The Black History Buff [Podcast]"Heard in over 100 countries the Black History Buff podcast is a fun and thrilling journey through time. Covering the full historical tapestry of the African Diaspora, you’ll hear tales covering everything from African Samurai to pistol-wielding poets"
- Black History in Two Minutes (or So) [Podcast]This podcast is "Black History delivered in short, lively, fact-packed stories accessible to people of all ages and education levels. It’s fast, accurate U.S. history available in free video podcast recordings describing major historical events and introducing less well-known experiences involving Black Americans"
- Black History Year [Podcast]"Black History Year connects you to the history, thinkers, and activists that are left out of the mainstream conversations."
- Code Switch - NPRA podcast that talks about race and is hosted by journalists of color who "explore how it impacts every part of society — from politics and pop culture to history, sports and everything in between."
- Dig: A History Podcast [Podcast]"Dig: A History Podcast is a narrative-driven, open access, and accessible digital history project bridging the worlds of popular and academic history with an explicitly feminist perspective."
- The Diversity Gap [Podcast]This podcasts "explores the gap between our good intentions for diversity and the impact of those intentions. In this collection of conversations, you will be challenged to think about organizational culture and racial diversity in a fresh and nuanced way. You will also pick up on strategies and best practices to help you create the kind of culture you say you want–one where people from all racial backgrounds are equipped with what they need to thrive at work."
- Driving The Green Book Podcast"They drive from Detroit to New Orleans, collecting powerful, personal testimony about how Black Americans used the historic travel guide The Negro Motorist Green Book during the height of segregation as a vital resource to quell fears, find safe havens, and travel with dignity. As he drives the Green Book, Alvin unearths both inspiring and heartbreaking tales that tell a different story from what Hollywood would have you believe"
- Ear Hustle [Podcast]"The daily realities of life inside prison shared by those living it, and stories from the outside, post-incarceration"
- Fair Fight Initiative Podcast"Each episode we’ll speak to reformers, informers, and survivors of our broken system of justice in the United States, and hear how the Fair Fight Initiative is crowdsourcing justice for its victims. We’ll get updates on how to make change in the system in your community. And leave you with the infinite hope that we can end mass incarceration for future generations. "
- Historically Black PodcastPodcast that brings personal stories and histories of the Black experience, through user-submitted objects, to life. Listen to interviews, music, and archival sounds.
- Ibram X. Kendi with Brene Brown on Unlocking Us (podcast)An episode of "Unlocking Us" with Brene Brown speaking with "How to Be Anti-Racist" author, Kendi
- Intersectionality Matters! hosted by Kimberlé Crenshaw [Podcast]"Intersectionality Matters! is a podcast hosted by Kimberlé Crenshaw, an American civil rights advocate and a leading scholar of critical race theory."
- Justice in America [Podcast]"Justice in America, hosted by Josie Duffy Rice and Clint Smith, is a podcast for everyone interested in criminal justice reform— from those new to the system to experts who want to know more. Each episode we cover a new criminal justice issue. We explain how it works and look at its impact on people, particularly poor people and people of color. We’ll also interview activists, practitioners, experts, journalists, organizers, and others, to learn. By the end of the episode, you’ll walk away with a better understanding of what drives mass incarceration and what can fix it."
- Momentum: A Race Forward [Podcast]"Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast features movement voices, stories, and strategies for racial justice."
- Pod For The Cause [Podcast]"We’ve joined the airwaves to help spark conversation and activism on some of the most critical issues of today. From the courts to immigration, we’re seeing unprecedented attacks on the values we hold near and dear. At Pod for the Cause, we’re going to tackle these issues and more."
- Pod Save the People"On Pod Save the People, DeRay Mckesson explores news, culture, social justice, and politics with Sam Sinyangwe, Kaya Henderson and De’Ara Balenger. They offer a unique take on the news, with a special focus on overlooked stories and topics that often impact people of color."
- School Colors [Podcast]School Colors is a narrative podcast from Brooklyn Deep about how race, class, and power shape American cities and schools.
- Seeing White"Produced and hosted by John Biewen, Scene on Radio comes from the Center for Documentary Studies (CDS) at Duke University and is distributed by PRX"
- Slavery and its Legacies [Podcast]The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition is pleased to announce “Slavery and Its Legacies,” a podcast series featuring visiting scholars, activists, and others about their contributions to the understanding of slavery past and present and its ongoing role in the development of the modern world.
- Slavery and the Civil War - Teaching Hard History [Podcast]Episode 1, season 1 of the podcast, Teaching Hard History - made as a part of Teaching Tolerance, a project of the Southern Poverty Law Center
- The United States of Anxiety [Podcast]From WNYC Studios "A show about the unfinished business of our history and its grip on our future."
- Whites For Racial Equity"Whites for Racial Equity is a group of white people who are committed to dismantling racism. We are taking responsibility for learning about systemic racism, our own internalized racism, white privilege, and ways to challenge it. "
At TCC
- TCC's Black Lives Matter Support StatementsFind more information on the ways TCC is dedicated "to eliminating systemic racism, and to standing with Black students, faculty, staff, and the Black community."
- TCC's Anti-Asian Hate Support StatementsFind more information on the ways TCC is dedicated to support the Asian and Pacific Islander population on campus.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!