Physical Education - TCC OER Subject Guide: OER starting points
This guide compiles starting points for OER and freely available resources for Physical Education courses and topics. This OER subject guide was created for TCC faculty and staff and reflects TCC courses and curriculum. The purpose of this guide is to help faculty and staff more easily find and review OER in their areas so that they can make decisions about quality, accuracy, relevancy, and potential use.
OER starting points for Physical Education, by course area and material type
Total fitness
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Fitness (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. "[I]t is important to understand the principles, components, and the different ways to improve your fitness." Organized into 7 sections, with a glossary of terms. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
- Group fitness (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Basic guide to group fitness, organized into 7 sections. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
- Concepts of Fitness and Wellness (OER textbook + ancillary resources)Lisa Jellum, et al, University System of Georgia, revised 2022. Organized into 13 chapters. Editable Word format for each chapter, plus slides, videos, and labs. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Lifetime Fitness and Wellness (OER course)SUNY OER course via Lumen Learning and currently hosted by LibreTexts. Organized into 4 units and 9 chapters, with assignments. Nutrition is one module. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- A Guide to Physical Activity (OER textbook)OER textbook developed by University of Saskatchwan instructors. Organized into 3 main sections: Physical Activity Foundations, The Benefits of Physical Activity, and Nutrition for Health and Physical Activity. Quiz questions that accompany the text are available for faculty and instructors upon request. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Exercise and Physical Fitness - MedlinePlusGateway site for resources relating to exercise and physical fitness, provided by the National Institutes of Health, U.S. National Library of Medicine. Several guides and booklets available in PDF downloads. Includes videos and tutorials. Public domain unless otherwise marked.
- Study Hall: Data Literacy - Crash Course video playlistCrash Course and Arizona State University collaboration of 15 short videos with innovative graphics, 2021. "[B]uild data literacy skills to help you make sense of the numbers behind our daily lives, from health to sports to politics." Includes videos on Data in Sports and Health Data. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics.
Badminton
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Badminton (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Basic guide to badminton, organized into 8 sections. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if converted to a print-ready format.
Basketball
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Basketball (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Basic guide to basketball, organized into 8 sections with integrated videos. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
Body conditioning
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Body conditioning (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Basic guide to body conditioning, organized into 7 sections. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
Health, wellness & nutrition
Canvas course shells:
- Health and Wellness (WACTC OER course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by SBCTC, 2019. Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Introduction to Health - 2nd edition (OER textbook)Kelly Falcone, Palomar College, 2nd ed., 2022. "Provides a broad overview of information pertaining to human health and opportunities for improving health and wellness throughout life. The intended goal of the book is to equip the learners with important information needed to better understand their own health and how their daily choices may impact both their quantity and quality of life." Organized into 15 chapters + "continued learning" pages with additional videos for each chapter. CC BY SA ( Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Nutrition (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. "[I]t is important to know there are strategies out there to eat healthy on a budget and consume all the nutrients you needs." Organized into 7 sections, with a glossary of terms. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
- Healthy Lifestyle (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Covers the basics of healthy lifestyle. Includes sections on Physical Wellness, Dimensions of Wellness, Building Healthy Habits, and a glossary of terms. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
- Mental Health & Wellness (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Covers the basics of mental health and wellness, with linked videos. Organized into 5 sections plus a glossary of terms. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
- Basic Foundation of Nutrition for Sports Performance (OER textbook)Byerley, American Public University, 2020. Organized into 23 chapters, such as Protein Basics - The Athlete's Structure Builder, Hydration and Thermoregulation for Athletes, plus selective topics such as Diabetic Athlete and Nutrition for Sports Injury. Online, PDF, print book files, and LMS course formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- A Guide to Physical Activity (OER textbook)OER textbook developed by University of Saskatchwan instructors. Organized into 3 main sections: Physical Activity Foundations, The Benefits of Physical Activity, and Nutrition for Health and Physical Activity. Quiz questions that accompany the text are available for faculty and instructors upon request. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Concepts of Fitness and Wellness (OER textbook + ancillary resources)Lisa Jellum, et al, University System of Georgia, revised 2022. Organized into 13 chapters. Editable Word format for each chapter, plus slides, videos, and labs. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Interdisciplinary Perspectives in Lifetime Wellness (OER textbook)Erick Richman, University System of Georgia, 2022. Organized into 11 classes, including strategies for wellness, fitness planning, flexibility, eating for wellness, and more. Online, PDF, and editable Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Women’s Health (OER textbook)Dawn Markell, Mt. Hood Community College, 2021. "[E]xplores the multidimensional aspects of health and wellness as they overlap the female experience. Reproductive anatomy and physiology (including pregnancy and childbirth), cancer risk, nutrition, fitness, gender and sexuality, self-care, and health ageing are introduced." Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Health Education (OER textbook)Leora Gabay, et al., College of the Canyons, 2nd ed., 2022. "Readers will learn about the nature of health, health education, health promotion and related concepts. This will help to understand the social, psychological and physical components of health." Organized into 14 chapters. PDF and editable Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Lifetime Fitness and Wellness (OER course)SUNY OER course via Lumen Learning and currently hosted by LibreTexts. Organized into 4 units and 9 chapters, with assignments. Nutrition is one module. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Contemporary Health Issues (OER course)OER course from Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. Intended for a health science introduction to personal health. Organized into 11 chapters/modules. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Nutritional Fitness and Resilience: A Review of Relevant Constructs, Measures, and Links to Well-Being (open access report)Developed by RAND Corporation, 2014, this in-depth report was "designed to support Air Force leaders in promoting resilience among its Airmen, civilian employees, and Air Force families. It examines the relationship between nutritional fitness and resilience, using key constructs found in the scientific literature that address address self-regulation, positive affect, perceived control, self-efficacy, self-esteem, and optimism." The research it includes, however, is not specific to the military. Online and PDF formats of the entire report and chapters. Not openly licensed but freely available to view or link to.
- Principles of Nutrition (OER textbook)Georgia Highlands College faculty, 2nd ed., 2018. Organized into 20 chapters, including a "Nutrition and Fitness/Athletes" chapter. Editable Word version, and PDF versions for full text and individual chapters available. CC BY SA 4.0 (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Food and Nutrition - USDAFood and nutrition topics on the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture site. Pages on Dietary Health, Food Security, Food Loss and Waste, and more. Public domain unless otherwise marked.
Hiking
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Backpacking (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Basic guide to backpacking and hiking, organized into 7 sections. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
- Outdoor Adventure (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Basic guide to outdoor adventures, including hiking, organized into 5 sections. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
Self-defense
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Self-defense (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Basic guide to self-defense, with linked video tutorials. Includes key terms, fundamentals, and sample assignments. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
Soccer
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Soccer (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Covers the basics of soccer, with integrated videos. Organized into 7 sections. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
Softball
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Softball (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Basic guide to self-defense, with linked video tutorials. Organized into 5 sections. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
Volleyball
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Introduction to Volleyball (OER textbook)Developed by University of Georgia instructors, Spring 2019. Organized into 7 sections, including volleyball rules, volleyball fundamentals, strategies, equipment, and volleyball application assignments. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Walking and jogging
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Walking and Jogging for Fitness (OER textbook)Developed by Georgia Highlands College instructors, 2018. Organized into 7 chapters. PDF and Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Walking (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Covers the basics of walking, with integrated videos. Organized into 6 sections. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
- Jogging (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Basic guide to group fitness, organized into 6 sections with integrated videos. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
Weight training
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Weight Training (OER textbook)Univ. of Georgia PEDB Program, 2020. Covers the basics of weight training, with integrated videos. Organized into 7 sections. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand, if converted to a print-ready format.
Yoga
Library e-books with unlimited user access:
An introduction to YogaCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012"Many people know Yoga as a form of stress-relieving fitness regime. This book delves into the rich philosophy and history of this ancient physical and mental discipline."
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- A Digital Textbook for Yoga I and II (Open access textbook)Autumn Mist Belk, North Carolina State University. Site organized into 6 sections. "This website serves as a free, open-source digital textbook for yoga students." Not specifically openly licensed, but the description and purpose encourage educational use.
- Concepts of Fitness and Wellness, 2nd ed. (open textbook)Developed by Georgia Highlands College instructors, 2022, last updated 2023. Organized into 13 chapters, including a chapter on Flexibility. Online, PDF, and Word formats for the book and individual chapters. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommecial - ShareAlike) license.
More Info
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Foundations of Physical Education & Fitness: Beginner Yoga (open lesson)Developed by a physical education instructor, updated 2024. "A step by step guide for a beginning yoga instructor. Includes basic movements and descriptions of the movements in an easy to follow progression." CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- El Yoga en españolList of the most common yoga poses and useful words in Spanish, 2018. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
- Yoga websiteYoga basics, tips, and types of yoga for beginners, 2012. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Coaching theory
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Essentials of Exercise and Sport Psychology: An Open Access Textbook (OER textbook)Zachary Zenko and Leighton Jones, published by Society for Transparency, Openness, and Replication in Kinesiology, 2021. "This text represents the collaboration of more than 70 authors from multiple countries." Organized into 33 chapters; includes chapters on Motivation in Coaching: Promoting Adaptive Psychological Outcomes ; Values-Based Coaching: The Role Coaches in Moral Development ; Leadership Development in Sports Teams ; Group Dynamics in Sport. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum.
Your OER librarian
Jennifer Snoek-Brown
she/her
Contact:
Email: jsnoek-brown@tacomacc.edu (the fastest way to contact me)
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Website
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Your liaison librarian
Heather Gillanders
Contact:
Bldg 7, Library
If I'm not available, please stop by the reference desk to talk to another librarian.
If I'm not available, please stop by the reference desk to talk to another librarian.
Attributions
Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide was compiled by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Tacoma Community College Library, and is licensed under a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!