Nursing - TCC OER Subject Guide: OER starting points
This guide compiles starting points for OER and freely available resources for Nursing courses and topics. This OER subject guide was created for TCC faculty and staff and reflects TCC credit, continuing education, and corrections course offerings. The purpose of this guide is to help faculty and staff more easily find and review OER in their areas so that they can make decisions about quality, accuracy, relevancy, and potential use.
OER starting points for Nursing, by course area and material type
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Nursing Assistant (OER textbook)Myra Sandquist Reuter, Chippewa Valley Technical College, 2022. "Chapters contain interactive learning activities and videos of instructor skills demonstrations." Organized into 11 chapters, including chapters on basic nursing care, personal patient care, client data, professionalism, rehabilitation care, and more. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Nursing Skills (OER textbook)Chippewa Valley Technical College, OpenRN project, May 2021. Part of the OpenRN project. "[F]ocuses on the development of evidence-based clinical skills and physical assessment across the lifespan. Content includes mathematical calculations and conversions related to clinical skills. In addition the course includes techniques related to obtaining a health history and basic physical assessment skills using a body systems approach." Organized into 23 chapters, each with assessments, checklists, supplementary videos, learning activities, and glossaries. Includes answer keys. Online, digital PDF, print PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- The Complete Subjective Health Assessment (OER textbook)OER textbook by Ryerson University (Canada) instructors, 2019. "This textbook is designed for the novice learner who is seeking to develop a foundational understanding of the complete subjective health assessment in the context of health and illness. The textbook deconstructs the categories of the complete subjective health assessment, providing learners with explanations and examples of what constitutes relevant subjective data. This textbook provides an opportunity to learn how to respond to normal, abnormal, and critical findings when completing a complete subjective health assessment." This textbook may need to be adapted or supplemented with U.S.-specific content. Organized into 4 chapters, each with reflective questions, as well as glossary and index. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Vital Sign Measurement Across the Lifespan – 2nd Canadian Edition (OER textbook)Jennifer L. Lapum, et al, Ryerson University (Canada), 2nd ed., 2021. "The purpose of this textbook is to help learners develop best practices in vital sign measurement. Its intended audience is students in health-related post-secondary programs as well as healthcare providers. Using a multi-media and interactive approach, it will provide opportunities to read about, observe, practice, and test vital sign measurement. This 2nd Canadian Edition includes over 120 H5P activities." Online, PDF, EPUB, and course cartridge formats. Includes H5P ancillary activities. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Physical Examination Techniques: A Nurse’s Guide (OER textbook)Jennifer Lapum, et al., Ryerson University (Canada), 2021. "[A]n introductory resource to guide best practices of objective assessment techniques related to inspection, palpation, percussion, and auscultation (IPPA). Its intended audience is students in health-related post-secondary programs such as nursing." Organized into 10 main chapters. Online and PDF formats: "best viewed via the online, Pressbooks format so that you can view the videos and participate in the interactive components." CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Introduction to Infection Prevention and Control Practices for the Interprofessional Learner (OER textbook)Michelle Hughes, et al., eCampus Ontario (Canada), 2021. "[D]esigned for novice undergraduate healthcare students learning about infection prevention and control practices." Note: Written to align with Canadian health standards and practices. Organized into 7 chapters. Online format. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Supporting Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities & Mental Illness (OER textbook)OER textbook by Sherri Melrose, Athabasca University (Canada), published by BC Campus, 2015. "This multidisciplinary resource develops topics of interest to all those who care about and for individuals with co-occurring intellectual disabilities and mental illness. Each chapter presents current evidence informed practice knowledge. Each topic is also presented with audio enabled text boxes emphasizing ‘Key Points for Caregivers.'" Organized into 7 chapters. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online, PDF, and e-book formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know (OER textbook)Susan E. Lowey, SUNY, 2015. "The purpose of this textbook is to provide an indepth look at death and dying in this country, including the vital role of the nurse in assisting patients and families along the journey towards the end of life. There is an emphasis throughout the book on the simple, yet understated value of effective interpersonal communication between the patient and clinician. The text provides a basic foundation of understanding death and dying, including a brief historical examination of some main conceptual models associated with how patients cope with impending loss. An overview of illness trajectories and models of care, such as hospice and palliative care are discussed. Lastly, the latest evidence-based approaches for pain and symptom management, ethical concerns, cultural considerations, care at the time of death, and grief/bereavement are examined." Organized into 3 parts, with 12 chapters total. Online, PDF, and Ebook formats. Faculty peer reviews of this OER textbook available on this site. CC BY NC SA (Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Foundations for Assisting in Home Care (OER textbook)OER textbook by Kimberly B. McLain, Andrea C. Wade and Erin O'Hara-Leslie, OpenSUNY, 2018. "Home health services are those which are provided within the comforts of the home setting to help people avoid hospitalization or skilled nursing facility placement while they recover from illness, injury, or disability. Home health care may also be provided to people who suffer from chronic illnesses, those who have cognitive or physical disabilities or those who have been diagnosed with a terminal illness. Home Health Aide and Personal Care Aide are two of the fastest growing occupations. This text will provide you with the background necessary to begin working toward a career in the home care field." Formats include online, zip download file, and PDF. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Physical Therapy Applications for Individuals with Neurologic Dysfunction (OER textbook)Augusta University instructors, 2016. "This textbook for the Integration for Practice: Neuromuscular course is a multimedia PDF with videos embedded. The videos make the file size of the PDF almost 600MB, which is a large download but preserves offline use of videos. Topics include interventions and assessment for patients with Guillain-Barre and spinal cord injury, respiratory assessment and interventions, and proprioceptive neuromuscular facilitation." Video-integrated PDF and accessible PDF file formats. Not technically openly licensed, but it is open access and allows educational use. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Vaccine Practice for Health Professionals - 1st Canadian Edition (OER textbook)OER textbook by Ryerson University (Canada) instructors, 2020. "This resource is designed for students in post-secondary health profession programs, including nursing. [...] This textbook provides information related to clinical practice, including the administration of vaccine, and communication with clients." Focuses on Canada, so may need to be updated or supplemented with U.S.-specific laws and regulations. Organized into 7 chapters. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online, PDF, and E-book formats. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- OpenRN Videos + Lesson Plans (OER ancillary materials)Open RN project, funded by Dept. of Education and created by Chippewa Valley Technical College, 2020. This summary sheet provides links to videos as well as teaching plans for each video. Categories include End of Life, Heart Failure, OB, Newborn, Therapeutic Communication, and Wound Management. YouTube videos and lesson plans linked via SkillsCommons site. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Nursing Skills VideosNursing Skills Videos produced by BCIT (British Columbia Institute of Technology, Canada) as part of the Health OER project, 2022. Current videos include: Newborn Bath Demonstration, Post Operative Head To Toe Assessment, Pediatric Post Surgical Assessment, Post Partum Assessment, IV Medication Administration, and Airway Medication Administration. Videos range from 4-20 mins each. Accessible with closed captioning. Embed codes provided. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Learning Resources Collection for Training Healthcare Workers (OER ancillary materials)Collection of learning resources -- modules, videos, activities, and more -- for many different courses for training healthcare workers. Created by Roane State Community College, 2015. Designed for Tennessee state standards; would need to be updated for Washington state standards. Course topics include: Medical Law and Ethics, Mental Health Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Pharmacology for Nursing, Transitions to Nursing Practice, Care of the Childbearing Family & Women's Health, Nursing Study Skills, IV Therapy, Professional Communication, Professional Etiquette, Surgical Technologist, and more. Zip folder downloads. Everything has a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Nursing Pharmacology (OER textbook)Created by Chippewa Valley Technical College, OpenRN project, 2020, this textbook "explains basic concepts of pharmacology and describes common medication classes." Organized into 10 main sections + answer key. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Principles of Pharmacology (OER textbook)Developed by MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) via LibreTexts, 2019. “The object of this text is to teach students an approach to the study of pharmacologic agents. The focus is on the basic principles of biophysics, biochemistry and physiology, as related to the mechanisms of drug action, biodistribution and metabolism. The course consists of lectures and student-led case discussions. Topics covered include: mechanisms of drug action, dose-response relations, pharmacokinetics, drug delivery systems, drug metabolism, toxicity of pharmacological agents, drug interaction and substance abuse. Selected agents and classes of agents are examined in detail.” Organized into 18 sections. Online format, also available in PDF formats (click on the ref “PDF” icon along the top right of the textbook screen). CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Principles of Pharmacology -- Study GuideOER textbook by Dr. Esam El-Fakahany and Becky Merkey, [2019]. Organized into 22 chapters, with lots of original, colorful graphics in each chapter. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.
- Public Health in Pharmacy Practice: A Casebook, 2nd ed. (OER textbook)Jordan R Covvey, et al, SUNY Binghamton, 2nd ed., 2021. "[A] collaboration of over 90 individuals with expertise and training in public health pharmacy. A total of 54 chapters are presented, covering a broad array of topics relevant to pharmacy applications of public health. These topics include, but are not limited to, cross-cultural care, health literacy and disparities, infectious disease, health promotion and disease prevention, medication safety, structural racism, advocacy/policy analysis, chronic disease, women’s health, rural health, travel medicine and more. The book is designed to allow educators/students to choose chapters of interest as they feel suited, as each chapter is independent from the others. Each chapter contains learning objectives and an introduction to the topic, followed by a case and questions. The chapter closes with commentary from the authors and patient-oriented considerations for the topic at hand." Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Pharmacology Notes: Nursing Implications for Clinical PracticeGloria Velarde, 2020. “[I]ntended to organize pharmacological information in a meaningful manner that draws from prior learning (i.e. anatomy & physiology and pathophysiology), in order to reveal and reinforce relevant nursing implications. These notes utilize the framework, A-T-A-T, to assist in understanding nursing implications related to medication administration.” Organized into 9 units, organized by body systems and related pharmacology. PDF format. CC BY NC SA 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- “Medicines by Design” bookletPublished by National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS), NIH, 2014. “A science education booklet that discusses the many different ways medicines work in the body and how this information guides the hunt for drugs of the future.” This site states that they are working on updating the content. Organized into 4 main sections, with glossary and a puzzle activity. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. Public domain.
- “Clinical Pharmacology” Merck Manual“[This] manual deals with Pharmacology topics such as Adverse Drug Reactions, Concepts in Pharmacotherapy, Drug Therapy in the Elderly, and others. Each sub-section has an Introduction along with Description of the Problem and Symptomology.” Open access, which means you can link to this page/site.
- Learning Resources Collection for Training Healthcare Workers (OER ancillary materials)Collection of learning resources -- modules, videos, activities, and more -- for many different courses for training healthcare workers. Created by Roane State Community College, 2015. Designed for Tennessee state standards; would need to be updated for Washington state standards. Course topics include: Medical Law and Ethics, Mental Health Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Pharmacology for Nursing, Transitions to Nursing Practice, Care of the Childbearing Family & Women's Health, Nursing Study Skills, IV Therapy, Professional Communication, Professional Etiquette, Surgical Technologist, and more. Zip folder downloads. Everything has a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
Library e-books:
To access these library e-books, user the same username and password used to log into the MyTCC portal. Use permalinks for e-book chapters or pages. Publisher sets "fair use" limits for page/chapter downloads.
Davis's drug guide for nursesCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014"It’s the drug guide that always puts safety first with more high-alert coverage and patient safety information than any other drug guide." E-book used by California community college instructors.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Creative Clinical Teaching In The Health Professions (OER book)Athabasca University instructors, 2015. "This peer reviewed e-book is a must-read for nurses and other health professionals who strive to teach with creativity and excellence in clinical settings. Each chapter presents current evidence informed educational practice knowledge. Each topic is also presented with text boxes describing ‘Creative Strategies' that clinical teachers from across Canada have successfully implemented. For those who are interested in background knowledge, the authors provided a comprehensive literature base. And, for those interested mainly in 'what to do,' the text box summaries offer step-by-step directions for creative, challenging activities that both new and experienced instructors can begin using immediately." Organized into 7 chapters, with index and glossary. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online, PDF, and e-book formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Nursing Skills (OER textbook)Chippewa Valley Technical College, OpenRN project, May 2021. Part of the OpenRN project. "[F]ocuses on the development of evidence-based clinical skills and physical assessment across the lifespan. Content includes mathematical calculations and conversions related to clinical skills. In addition the course includes techniques related to obtaining a health history and basic physical assessment skills using a body systems approach." Organized into 23 chapters, each with assessments, checklists, supplementary videos, learning activities, and glossaries. Includes answer keys. Online, digital PDF, print PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- CCMA - Certified Clinical Medical Assistant course (OER ancillary materials)Roane State Community College, 2015. via SkillsCommons OER repository site. “This course prepares students for the duties of a medical assistant in the clinical setting. Students will learn clinical procedures including administering medications, performing an electrocardiogram, obtaining laboratory specimens for testing, educating patients, and maintaining a clean clinical environment.” Zip file and audio file downloads. Video files linked in record. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Vaccine Practice for Health Professionals - 1st Canadian Edition (OER textbook)OER textbook by Ryerson University (Canada) instructors, 2020. "This resource is designed for students in post-secondary health profession programs, including nursing. [...] This textbook provides information related to clinical practice, including the administration of vaccine, and communication with clients." Focuses on Canada, so may need to be updated or supplemented with U.S.-specific laws and regulations. Organized into 7 chapters. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online, PDF, and E-book formats. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Health Case StudiesGlynda Rees, Rob Kruger, Janet Morrison; British Columbia Institute of Technology (Canada), 2017. "Health Case Studies is composed of eight separate health case studies. Each case study includes the patient narrative or story that models the best practice (at the time of publishing) in healthcare settings. Associated with each case is a set of specific learning objectives to support learning and facilitate educational strategies and evaluation. [Case studies] are based predominantly in an acute healthcare setting. Educators can augment each case study to include primary healthcare settings, outpatient clinics, assisted living environments, and other contexts as relevant." Accompanies the OER textbook, Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care, linked above. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike) license.
- Introduction to Communication in Nursing – 1st Canadian Edition (OER textbook)Jennifer Lapum, et al., Ryerson University (Canada), 2020. "[I]ntended to guide best practices in communication in the context of the nursing profession. The resource addresses communication theory, therapeutic communication and interviewing, and interprofessional communication as it relates to nursing. This resource is designed for students in undergraduate nursing programs." Organized into 3 main chapters. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Nursing Virtual Case Studies (OER ancillary materials)Adrianna D'Ilio and Amanda Egert, BCcampus (Canada), 2023. "These learner paced, interactive virtual branching case studies aim to help learners develop their noticing and clinical judgment skills. Each case study is designed to work with a specific level of learner (novice to advanced) and uses a variety of resources to help learners prepare for the experience and reflect on their actions. Concepts of patient-centered care, communication, safety and health and illness are used to demonstrate how care is provided in a variety of health care settings across the lifespan (community and acute care)." Organized into 4 in-depth case studies. Online (Pressbooks) format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Surgical Technologist Support Modules (OER ancillary materials)Roane State Community College, 2015, via the SkillsCommons site. "This self-paced study guide introduces topics including the role of the surgical technologist, pharmacology and surgical terminology, patient care, surgical micro and asepsis, and provides a review of surgical terminology and anatomy. All 5 module units contain learner activities, worksheets and answer keys." Zip folder download. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
- Learning Resources Collection for Training Healthcare Workers (OER ancillary materials)Collection of learning resources -- modules, videos, activities, and more -- for many different courses for training healthcare workers. Created by Roane State Community College, 2015. Designed for Tennessee state standards; would need to be updated for Washington state standards. Course topics include: Medical Law and Ethics, Mental Health Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Pharmacology for Nursing, Transitions to Nursing Practice, Care of the Childbearing Family & Women's Health, Nursing Study Skills, IV Therapy, Professional Communication, Professional Etiquette, Surgical Technologist, and more. Zip folder downloads. Everything has a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
- Dosage activities (OER ancillary materials)Different dosage activities shared via OER Commons site. Learning activities include: Computing Dosage for Infants and Children; Administering Medications to Patients -- Calculating Dosages in the Clinical Setting; Calculating Safe Medication Dose Ranges; and
Liquid and Weight Conversion used for Medication Administration. Most of the activities have a CC BY-NC-SA license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Nursing Management and Professional Concepts (OER textbook)Chippewa Valley Technical College, Open RN project, 2022. "This book introduces concepts related to nursing leadership and management, prioritization strategies, delegation and supervision, legal implications of nursing practice, ethical nursing practice, collaboration within the interprofessional team, health care economics, quality and evidence-based practice, advocacy, preparation for the RN role, and the avoidance of burnout with self-care. Several online, interactive learning activities are included in each chapter that encourage application of content to patient-care situations. Additionally, the Appendix includes a “suite of patients” with suggested prompts for classroom discussion to assist students in applying concepts from the book to real patient-care situations." Organized into 12 chapters plus an answer key. Online, EPUB, and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Leading Change in Health Systems: Strategies for RN-BSN Students (OER textbook)Kathy Andresen and Charli Swanson, University of West Florida, 2023. "[D]esigned for practicing nurses pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Nursing. This book is focused on building upon previous knowledge, skills and attitudes Registered Nurses (RNs) related to leadership in healthcare systems. Readers will be able to apply the theoretical knowledge gained from this course in their clinical practice environment." Organized into 7 units, including chapters on leading effective teams, evidence-informed decision-making, etc. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Introduction to Nursing (OER textbook)Georgia Highlands College instructors, 2020. "The text covers an overview of nursing history, professional roles, professional education, legal and ethical considerations, evidence based practice, caring, the culture of nursing, technology and informatics, and nursing theories." Organized into 8 chapters. Online and PDF files for the entire text and individual chapters available. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Nursing Fundamentals (OER textbook)Chippewa Valley Technical College, OpenRN project, Fall 2021. "[F]ocuses on basic nursing concepts to provide evidence-based care to diverse patient populations across the lifespan. Current and historical issues impacting nursing will be explored within the scope of nursing practice. The nursing process will be introduced as a framework for organizing the care of patients." Organized into 20 chapters, each with basic concepts, applications, learning activities, and a glossary. Answer key included. Appendices include samples of care plans. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Transitions to Professional Nursing Practice - 2nd Edition (OER textbook)Jamie Murphy, The State University of New York at Delhi, 2020. "A pivotal learning experience for students transitioning from an associate degree education to a baccalaureate degree. Content includes a broad overview of the nursing profession, the role of accrediting and professional organizations with a strong focus on the American Nurses Association’s foundational documents. The competencies of the Standards of Professional Practice and the Code of Ethics are weaved throughout the text. Topics covered in this text include professional nursing practice, baccalaureate education, healthcare in the 21st century, autonomy and accountability, nursing philosophy, professional development, communication, interprofessional collaboration, critical thinking, introduction to evidence-based practice, and nursing leadership and theory." Organized into 6 chapters. Online and PDF formats. Faculty peer reviews of this textbook are available on this site. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- NUR2811C Role Transformation (OER ancillary materials)Course materials shared by Florida State College at Jacksonville, 2014, via SkillsCommons site. Designed for a hybrid/blended course. "A clinical course designed to facilitate critical thinking skills and advanced competencies as the student moves from the student role to the practitioner of nursing. Concepts of leadership, accountability, delegation, discharge planning, and advocacy will be emphasized as the student adapts to the complex realities of the work arena." Course cartridge download and zip files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
- HSC0003 Health Careers Core (OER ancillary materials)OER course materials shared by Florida State College at Jacksonville, 2013, via SkillsCommons site. "A clinical course designed to facilitate critical thinking skills and advanced competencies as the student moves from the student role to the practitioner of nursing. Concepts of leadership, accountability, delegation, discharge planning, and advocacy will be emphasized as the student adapts to the complex realities of the work arena." Course cartridge and zip files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
- Leadership and Influencing Change in Nursing (OER textbook)Joan Wagner, University of Regina (Canada), 2018. "[D]esigned for a single-semester introduction to the professional nurse’s leadership role as both a care provider and a formal leader." Note: Focused on Canadian health care systems, but some basic principles and issues may still be useful for discussion assignments, etc. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Learning Resources Collection for Training Healthcare Workers (OER ancillary materials)Collection of learning resources -- modules, videos, activities, and more -- for many different courses for training healthcare workers. Created by Roane State Community College, 2015. Designed for Tennessee state standards; would need to be updated for Washington state standards. Course topics include: Medical Law and Ethics, Mental Health Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Pharmacology for Nursing, Transitions to Nursing Practice, Care of the Childbearing Family & Women's Health, Nursing Study Skills, IV Therapy, Professional Communication, Professional Etiquette, Surgical Technologist, and more. Zip folder downloads. Everything has a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Nursing Advanced Skills (OER textbook)Chippewa Valley Technical College, 2023. Part of the OpenRN Project. "[D]eveloped specifically for prelicensure nursing students ... Organized into 8 parts, including chapters on IV Therapy. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Nursing Skills (OER textbook)Chippewa Valley Technical College, May 2021. Part of the OpenRN project. "[F]ocuses on the development of evidence-based clinical skills and physical assessment across the lifespan. Content includes mathematical calculations and conversions related to clinical skills. In addition the course includes techniques related to obtaining a health history and basic physical assessment skills using a body systems approach." Organized into 23 chapters, each with assessments, checklists, supplementary videos, learning activities, and glossaries. Chapter 23 focuses on IV Therapy Management. Includes answer keys. Online, digital PDF, print PDF, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Nursing Skills VideosNursing Skills Videos produced by BCIT (British Columbia Institute of Technology, Canada) as part of the Health OER project, 2022. Current videos include: Newborn Bath Demonstration, Post Operative Head To Toe Assessment, Pediatric Post Surgical Assessment, Post Partum Assessment, IV Medication Administration, and Airway Medication Administration. Videos range from 4-20 mins each. Accessible with closed captioning. Embed codes provided. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Learning Resources Collection for Training Healthcare Workers (OER ancillary materials)Collection of learning resources -- modules, videos, activities, and more -- for many different courses for training healthcare workers. Created by Roane State Community College, 2015. Designed for Tennessee state standards; would need to be updated for Washington state standards. Course topics include: Medical Law and Ethics, Mental Health Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Pharmacology for Nursing, Transitions to Nursing Practice, Care of the Childbearing Family & Women's Health, Nursing Study Skills, IV Therapy, Professional Communication, Professional Etiquette, Surgical Technologist, and more. Zip folder downloads. Everything has a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care (OER textbook)Glynda Rees Doyle and Jodie Anita McCutcheon, British Columbia Institute of Technology (Canada), 2015. "The checklist approach, used in this textbook, aims to provide standardized processes for clinical skills and to help nursing schools and clinical practice partners keep procedural practice current. Each skill/procedure is covered in a chapter that has learning objectives, a brief overview of the relevant theory, checklists of steps for procedures with the rationale behind each step of the process, and a summary of key takeaways." Organized into 10 chapters. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. Has an accompanying Health Case Studies text, linked on this guide. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care: Thompson Rivers University Edition (OER textbook)Renée Anderson, et al, Thompson Rivers University (Canada), 2018. Updated version of original textbook created in 2015. "This open educational resource (OER) was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practised in the clinical setting." Includes supplemental materials: faculty guide and health case studies. Online, PDF, EPUB, and course cartridge formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Nursing Fundamentals (OER textbook)Chippewa Valley Technical College, OpenRN project, Fall 2021. "[F]ocuses on basic nursing concepts to provide evidence-based care to diverse patient populations across the lifespan. Current and historical issues impacting nursing will be explored within the scope of nursing practice. The nursing process will be introduced as a framework for organizing the care of patients." Organized into 20 chapters, each with basic concepts, applications, learning activities, and a glossary. Answer key included. Appendices include samples of care plans. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Health Case StudiesGlynda Rees, Rob Kruger, Janet Morrison; British Columbia Institute of Technology (Canada), 2017. "Health Case Studies is composed of eight separate health case studies. Each case study includes the patient narrative or story that models the best practice (at the time of publishing) in healthcare settings. Associated with each case is a set of specific learning objectives to support learning and facilitate educational strategies and evaluation." Accompanies the OER textbook, Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care, linked above. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Nursing Skills VideosNursing Skills Videos produced by BCIT (British Columbia Institute of Technology, Canada) as part of the Health OER project, 2022. Current videos include: Newborn Bath Demonstration, Post Operative Head To Toe Assessment, Pediatric Post Surgical Assessment, Post Partum Assessment, IV Medication Administration, and Airway Medication Administration. Videos range from 4-20 mins each. Accessible with closed captioning. Embed codes provided. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Learning Resources Collection for Training Healthcare Workers (OER ancillary materials)Collection of learning resources -- modules, videos, activities, and more -- for many different courses for training healthcare workers. Created by Roane State Community College, 2015. Designed for Tennessee state standards; would need to be updated for Washington state standards. Course topics include: Medical Law and Ethics, Mental Health Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Pharmacology for Nursing, Transitions to Nursing Practice, Care of the Childbearing Family & Women's Health, Nursing Study Skills, IV Therapy, Professional Communication, Professional Etiquette, Surgical Technologist, and more. Zip folder downloads. Everything has a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Nursing Advanced Skills (OER textbook)Chippewa Valley Technical College, 2023. Part of the OpenRN Project. "[D]eveloped specifically for prelicensure nursing students. Content is based on ... the NCLEX-RN Test Plan. Content includes advanced skills for registered nurses, such as intravenous infusion, blood product administration, management of central lines and chest tube systems, basic electrocardiogram interpretation, and nasogastric/feeding tube insertion, and builds on basic nursing skills " Organized into 8 parts, including chapters on IV Therapy and Interpret Basic ECG. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Library e-books:
Unlimited user access. Use permalinks in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand. You may need to log in with your portal and/or Canvas credentials to access the e-books.
NCLEX-RN excel: Test success through unfolding case study review by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017"This ultimate NCLEX-RN review book that 'helps you think like a nurse' has been fully updated to incorporate the 2016 test plan. Including more complex case studies to reflect the difficulty of the exam, this comprehensive review encourages active learning to master the content. Each evolving case study is broken down into realistic clinical problems that students can solve only by using the critical thinking skills necessary for the NCLEX-RN exam"
Prioritization, Delegation, and Management of Care for the Nclex-Rn® Exam by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014"Master the critical-thinking and test-taking skills you need to excel on the prioritization, delegation, and management questions on the NCLEX-RN"
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Career Cornerstones: Establishing a Foundation for a Career in Healthcare (OER textbook)Katherine Greene and Andrea Nelson, University of West Florida, 2023. "[F]ocuses on career skills required for students entering their respective health profession's program. This book is designed to help students be successful not only in their health profession's educational program, but also as they start to intern or work in healthcare settings. This resource is targeted for Healthcare Administration, Health Sciences, and Pre-Professional students." Organized into 8 chapters + appendices, including offline copies of test yourself quizzes. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Exploring Health Careers (OER textbook)Developed by Health Workforce Initiative, California's Community Colleges, 3rd edition, 2018. Organized into 15 main chapters/careers in health. "Each chapter explores job options from entry-level to advanced practice opportunities." PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- HSC0003 Health Careers Core (OER ancillary materials)OER course materials shared by Florida State College at Jacksonville, 2013, via SkillsCommons site. "A clinical course designed to facilitate critical thinking skills and advanced competencies as the student moves from the student role to the practitioner of nursing. Concepts of leadership, accountability, delegation, discharge planning, and advocacy will be emphasized as the student adapts to the complex realities of the work arena." Course cartridge and zip files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
- HIT 1500 Introduction to Healthcare Careers and Workplace Preparedness (OER ancillary materials)Laramie County Community College, 2013, shared via SkillsCommons OER repository site. "Complete course, by module for an online or hybrid course. This includes an introduction to health care careers, resume writing, better business writing, and professionalism. Collection includes: Content by module, Learning objectives, Learning Resources, Assignments Discussions Final Projects Course map Rubrics and keys." Word files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Disease Prevention and Healthy Lifestyles (OER course)OER course originally developed by Foothill College instructor, 2012, and currently hosted by LibreTexts. Organized into 11 weekly modules, including "Nutritional Health." Online and PDF formats. Course pages have different CC licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Contemporary Health Issues (OER course)OER course from Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. Intended for a health science introduction to personal health. Organized into 11 chapters/modules. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Personalized Nutrition (OER book)Published by MDPI, 2019. “This Special Issue of Nutrients is dedicated to the development, implementation and assessment of the effectiveness of evidence-based “Personalised Nutrition” strategies. In this regard, a selection of reviews and original research manuscripts will bring together the latest evidence on how lifestyle habits, physiology, nutraceuticals, gut microbiome and genetics can be integrated into nutritional solutions, specific to the needs of each individual, for maintaining health and preventing diseases.” PDF download. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
- Nutrition and Chronic Conditions (OER book)Published by MDPI, 2019. "This Special Issue on “Nutrition and Chronic Conditions” aims to evaluate the effect of nutrition in the development, care, and management of chronic conditions. The primary conditions of interest are diabetes, cardiovascular disease, dementia, stroke, and inflammatory bowel disease." PDF download. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
- Nutrition and Allergic Diseases (OER book)Published by MDPI, 2018. “This Special Issue of Nutrients is dedicated to the development, implementation and assessment of the effectiveness of evidence-based “Personalised Nutrition” strategies. In this regard, a selection of reviews and original research manuscripts will bring together the latest evidence on how lifestyle habits, physiology, nutraceuticals, gut microbiome and genetics can be integrated into nutritional solutions, specific to the needs of each individual, for maintaining health and preventing diseases.” PDF download. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Library e-books:
To access these library e-books, user the same username and password used to log into the MyTCC portal. Use permalinks for e-book chapters or pages. Publisher sets "fair use" limits for page/chapter downloads.
Nutrition and Diet Therapy (6th ed.)Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014“This popular text provides a strong foundation in the science of nutrition and a clear understanding of how to apply that knowledge in practice, recognizing the need for nurses to work with other healthcare professionals to ensure optimal nutrition in patient care.”
Handbook for nutritional assessment through life cycleCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016This handbook includes the details of each assessment method for different age groups, from pregnancy to old age. It will be used as a quick, practical guide and reference for clinical dietitians. It includes dietary, anthropometric, biochemical and clinical assessments.
Public health and community nutrition by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016This book provides an overview of how social determinants of health socioeconomic factors that influence a population's or an individual's well-being contribute to the existence of health disparities in the United States.
Nutrition in clinical practice (3rd ed.)Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014"The practical, comprehensive, evidence-based reference that all clinicians need to offer patients effective, appropriate dietary counseling. Each chapter concludes with concise guidelines for counseling and treatment, based on consensus and the weight of evidence." Online and EPUB formats. Unlimited user license.
Advanced nutrition and dietetics in nutrition supportCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2018“Extensively evidence-based and internationally relevant, it discusses undernutrition, nutritional screening, assessment and interventions, as well as key clinical conditions likely to require nutrition support, and the approaches to managing this in each of these conditions.” Online and PDF formats. Unlimited user license.
Meeting the dietary needs of older adults: Exploring the impact of the physical, social, and cultural environment\Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016"Understanding access challenges to healthy food, including geographic, financial, and transportation barriers, also is needed to better understand how to meet the nutritional needs of older adults." Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. Unlimited user license.
Early years nutrition and healthy weightCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015"This practical handbook contains vital information and advice for all nutritionists and dietitians working with young children and families. It will also be a valuable text for health visitors, paediatricians and general practitioners, and students of nutrition and dietetics." Online and PDF formats. Unlimited user license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Public Health Ethics: Global Cases, Practice, and ContextCDC, 2016. "For a public health practitioner, knowing how to employ an ethics framework to address a range of ethical challenges in public health—a know-how that depends on practice—is the ultimate take-home message." Organized into 2 sections, with 9 chapters. Section II includes multiple case studies. Includes case studies on Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion and Vulnerability and Marginalized Populations. PDF and EPUB formats. Peer reviews of the book available on this site. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
- NCBI Bookshelf - Nutrition and Nursing booksFree online access to books via the NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) site. This search limits results to books published in the last 5 years about nursing and nutrition.
- Health, Culture And Society (open journal)Online medical journal published by the University Library System, University of Pittsburgh. Newly published articles are CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) licensed, but older articles may not be.
- Food & Nutrition Research (open journal)Open access, peer-reviewed journal published by the Swedish Nutrition Foundation. "The purpose of Food & Nutrition Research is to publish original research studies directly relevant to human nutrition. Food & Nutrition Research encompasses the full spectrum of nutritional science, including public health nutrition, nutritional epidemiology and clinical nutrition." PDF, HTML, EPUB, and XML formats. All articles under a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Food and Nutrition Policy (OER ancillary materials)Developed by Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, 2006. "The purpose of this course is to familiarize and engage the student in the steps and dynamics of policy making processes that address nutrition problems and issues." Most useful parts of the course may be the Lecture Materials and Readings. Archived version of course; ancillary materials may still be useful for course development purposes. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Food Production, Public Health, and the Environment (OER ancillary materials)Developed by Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 2013. "This course provides an understanding of the complex and challenging public health issue of food security and in a world where one billion people are under-nourished while another billion are overweight. Explores the connections among diet, the current food and food animal production systems, the environment and public health, considering factors such as economics, population and equity. Case studies are used to examine these complex relationships and as well as alternative approaches to achieving both local and global food security and the important role public health can play." Syllabus, lecture materials, readings, assignments, and other resources. Archived version of course; ancillary materials may still be useful for course development purposes. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
- Foundations for Assisting in Home Care (OER textbook)OER textbook by Kimberly B. McLain, Andrea C. Wade and Erin O'Hara-Leslie, OpenSUNY, 2018. Includes a chapter on "Food, Nutrition, and Meal Preparation." Formats include online, zip download file, and PDF. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Examining Special Nutritional Requirements in Disease States: Proceedings of a Workshop (report)National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, 2018. "Adapting and developing risk assessment strategies for application in nutrition science could lead to improved approaches to the development of dietary and nutritional recommendations and thus is a topic of considerable interest." Not openly licensed, but rather open access (freely available to view online). Formats include online and PDF download.
- Guiding Principles for Developing Dietary Reference Intakes Based on Chronic Disease (report)National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, 2017. “Currently defined as the Dietary Reference Intakes (DRIs), these values are a set of standards established by consensus committees under the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine and used for planning and assessing diets of apparently healthy individuals and groups.” Formats include online and PDF download. Not openly licensed, but rather open access (freely available to view online).
- Global Harmonization of Methodological Approaches to Nutrient Intake Recommendations (report)National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, 2018. "“The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine convened a public workshop in September 2017 to explore the evidence for achieving global harmonization of methodological approaches to establishing nutrient intake recommendations. Participants reviewed current nutrient intake recommendations, discussed the feasibility of harmonizing approaches to setting such recommendations globally, examined the development of principles by which they may be applied in diverse contexts that relate to individuals or populations, or regulatory purposes, and examined perceptions and acceptance of nutrient intake recommendations by different stakeholders. This publication summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop.” Formats include online and PDF download. Not openly licensed, but rather open access (freely available to view online).
- Harmonization of Approaches to Nutrient Reference Values: Applications to Young Children and Women of Reproductive Age (report)National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, 2018. "[W]ith the increasing globalization of information and the identification of a variety of factors specific to different population subgroups (e.g., young children and women of reproductive age) that influence their nutritional needs, there has been increasing recognition of the need to consider methodological approaches to deriving nutrient reference values (NRVs) that are applicable across countries and that take into account the varying needs of different population subgroups.” Formats include online and PDF download. Not openly licensed, but rather open access (freely available to view online).
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Toward a Moral Horizon: Nursing Ethics for Leadership and Practice (OER textbook)Rosalie Starzomski, et al., Univ. of Victoria (Canada), 3rd ed., 2023. This text "will assist nurses and all health care providers to take up the challenge of embedding ethics in health care practice, education, research, and policy at all levels—from local to regional to global." Organized into 3 main sections, with 20 essays/chapters. EDI themes present throughout the text, including focusing on indigenous populations and perspectives. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Medical Law and Ethics course (OER ancillary materials)Roane State Community College, 2015. via SkillsCommons OER repository site. "This course introduces legal and ethical issues that impact healthcare professionals. Laws and regulations related to the health care industry such as HIPAA, Patient Bill of Rights, and standard of care are addressed, and ethical and moral issues that healthcare professionals may encounter are presented. Students will develop an understanding of the unique interplay of the new and changing health care, technology, workforce, research, financing, regulation, and personal and professional behaviors, values and assumptions that underlie the current healthcare system." Zip file download. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- HLTH F132 Medical Law and Ethics (OER ancillary materials)University of Alaska Fairbanks, 2014. via SkillsCommons OER repository site. “In-depth coverage of legal and ethical issues encountered in health care settings. Students will gain a practical knowledge of legal and ethical principles and application of these principles in health care settings.” Developed for online course. Downloadable zip file of Blackboard course, which you can import into a Canvas course CC BY(Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- CMA 112 - Basic Law & Ethical Issues in Healthcare (OER ancillary materials)Linn-Benton Community College, 2015, shared via SkillsCommons. " This course is designed to prepare you to comprehend, interpret, and respond to legal and ethical situations in the healthcare setting with diverse populations in a culturally competent way." Organized into 3 units. Canvas course export file. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
- Ethical Issues in Health Care (collection)Clayton State University instructors, 2017. A report of syllabi and course outlines, with linked resources, for ethical issues in health care. Links to OER and open access materials included on page 35. PDF and Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
- NUR2811C Role Transformation (OER ancillary materials)Course materials shared by Florida State College at Jacksonville, 2014, via SkillsCommons site. Designed for a hybrid/blended course. "A clinical course designed to facilitate critical thinking skills and advanced competencies as the student moves from the student role to the practitioner of nursing. Concepts of leadership, accountability, delegation, discharge planning, and advocacy will be emphasized as the student adapts to the complex realities of the work arena." Course cartridge download and zip files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
- HSC0003 Health Careers Core (OER ancillary materials)OER course materials shared by Florida State College at Jacksonville, 2013, via SkillsCommons site. "A clinical course designed to facilitate critical thinking skills and advanced competencies as the student moves from the student role to the practitioner of nursing. Concepts of leadership, accountability, delegation, discharge planning, and advocacy will be emphasized as the student adapts to the complex realities of the work arena." Course cartridge and zip files. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
Library e-books:
To access these library e-books, user the same username and password used to log into the MyTCC portal. Use permalinks for e-book chapters or pages. Publisher sets "fair use" limits for page/chapter downloads.
Ethical competence in nursing practiceCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017Published by Springer. "[P]rofessional nursing ethics textbook designed specifically for all practicing nurses and to meet the educational needs of all nursing students, including RN to BSN and RN to MSN students. Written by experts in the field [...] this text is rich with case studies illustrating the need for ethical competence and decision making. The book fulfills the necessary criteria for the AACN Essentials for Baccalaureate Education and the QSEN and IOM competencies. Clear and concise, the text relates content to the nurse's current practice and introduces a framework for the development of ethical competence, from recognition of an ethical situation to implementation of a justifiable action. A decision-making model that includes elements of care and virtue ethics is also included." PDF and EPUB formats. Unlimited user access.
The Nurse's Healthcare Ethics Committee handbookCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2018Published by Sigma. "Nurses are uniquely positioned to serve as leaders in healthcare ethics because they are intricately involved in all aspects of patient care, including care coordination, recommendations for plans of care, provision of life-sustaining interventions, and patient education. The Nurse's Healthcare Ethics Committee Handbook focuses on a nurse-led ethics consultative service. Authors Angeline Dewey and Andrea Holecek provide tools that nursing students, professionals, administrators, and other members of the healthcare team need to develop infrastructure and processes that support nurses in an ethics committee leadership role. Filled with real-life scenarios, this book outlines a step-by-step process for nurses to evaluate ethical cases and the risks involved." Online and PDF formats. Unlimited user access.
Nursing ethics in everyday practice by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012"Written specifically for nurses who are at the front lines of health care in hospitals, outpatient clinics, surgery centers, home health care settings, etc, this author emphasizes real world ethical challenges for nurses." Online and PDF formats. Unlimited user access.
Public health ethics: Key concepts and issues in policy and practiceCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012Cambridge University Press. "Topics covered include the nature of public health ethics, the concepts of disease and prevention, risk and precaution, health inequalities and justice, screening, vaccination and disease control, smoking and issues relating to the environment and public health." Unlimited user access.
Nurse's legal handbookCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015Published by Wolters Kluwer Health. "An authoritative guide to the legal and ethical issues faced daily by nurses, this handbook includes real-life examples and information from hundreds of court cases. It covers the full range of contemporary concerns, including computer documentation, workplace violence and harassment, needlesticks, telephone triage, pain management, prescribing, privacy, and confidentiality." Online and EPUB formats. Unlimited user access.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- "Ethics in Health Care" lesson (OER ancillary materials)Lesson plan and materials shared by Teresa Knight, 2019. "Review the following two [video] resources. Understanding Ethics in Nursing is a short overview of some of the challenges our profession faces in identifying and dealing with ethical issues in health care. Ethics in Health Care Case Study is an opportunity to reflect and evaluate your biases and understanding of the complexity of ethics in nursing. Answer questions at end of presentation. Submit a reflective analysis of your responses to the case study. Include additional resources specific to nursing ethics and also describe relevance to your work as a RN." Online and video formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
- Learning Resources Collection for Training Healthcare Workers (OER ancillary materials)Collection of learning resources -- modules, videos, activities, and more -- for many different courses for training healthcare workers. Created by Roane State Community College, 2015. Designed for Tennessee state standards; would need to be updated for Washington state standards. Course topics include: Medical Law and Ethics, Mental Health Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Pharmacology for Nursing, Transitions to Nursing Practice, Care of the Childbearing Family & Women's Health, Nursing Study Skills, IV Therapy, Professional Communication, Professional Etiquette, Surgical Technologist, and more. Zip folder downloads. Everything has a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are complied into a print-ready format.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Mental Health is a Verb: A Pocket Guide to Mental Health for Nursing Students (OER textbook)Jake Bush and Jill Van Der Like, University of West Florida, 2023. Textbook "addresses mental health nursing care. The book reviews the foundations of mental health, psychopharmacology, and the most common mental health diagnoses." Organized into 2 main sections, Foundational Concepts in Mental Health Nursing, and Mental disorders, with 19 chapters. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Nursing: Mental Health and Community Concepts (OER textbook)Open RN project, via Wisconsin Technical College System, [2022]. Developed for prelicensure nursing students. "Mental health and community health concepts are discussed while emphasizing stress management techniques, healthy coping strategies, referrals to community resources, and other preventative interventions. Nursing care for individuals with specific mental health and substance use disorders is examined, and the nurse’s role in community health needs assessments and caring for vulnerable populations is introduced." Organized into 18 chapters, with learning activities, glossary, and answer keys. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Library e-books:
To access these library e-books, user the same username and password used to log into the MyTCC portal. Use permalinks for e-book chapters or pages. Publisher sets "fair use" limits for page/chapter downloads.
Physical health and well-being in mental health nursing: Clinical skills for practiceCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9780335262878Publication Date: 2014"This popular and groundbreaking book was the first of its kind to focus on providing mental health nurses with the core knowledge of the physical health issues that they need for their work. Considering the risk factors and assessment priorities amongst different mental health client groups, the book provides clinical insights into how best to work with service users to ensure their health is assessed and improved."
Social psychology and healthCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2011“This book applies the most recent social psychological research to health psychology, arguing for an integrative approach to interventions.” Online + downloadable PDFs within the publisher-designated range for download.
Handbook of psychology: Health psychologyCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2012Multi-volume series; this is Volume 9, focusing on health psychology. Entries organized into 4 main sections: I, Overview; II, Casual and Mediating Psychosocial Factors; III, Diseases and Disorders; and IV, Health Psychology Across the Life Span. Online + downloadable PDFs within the publisher-designated range for download.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- "The Healthy Life" moduleNOBA module, 2020. “This module provides an overview of health psychology, which is a field devoted to understanding the connections between psychology and health. Discussed here are examples of topics a health psychologist might study, including stress, psychosocial factors related to health and disease, how to use psychology to improve health, and the role of psychology in medicine.” Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- The Scholarship of Writing in Nursing Education: 1st Canadian Edition (OER textbook)Jennifer Lapum, et al., Ryerson University (Canada), 2019. "[I]ntended to guide best practices in the journey of scholarly writing in the context of the nursing profession. This resource is designed for students in undergraduate nursing programs." Organized into 10 chapters. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Processes: Writing Across Academic Careers (OER collection)Edited by Christopherh Iverson and Dan Ehrenfeld, Open SUNY, Milne Open Textbooks, 2023. "The text features compositions from nursing, STEM and health sciences, education, and history and culture. The examples span from reflections on the role of writing in one’s academic career, examples of professional writing in the sciences, research papers, conference proposals, to laboratory reports." Features sections and essays on varied disciplines, including: Nursing, health sciences, STEM, education, philosophy, history, and more. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Applied Statistics in Healthcare Research (OER textbook)William Montelpare, et al., Univ. of Prince Edward Island (Canada), 2020. "The primary learning objective of this textbook is to introduce the reader to the fundamental statistical methods and basic analytical procedures associated with processing data in regard to healthcare research. It is intended that by working through the applications and practice problems, readers should be able to understand and apply some of the methods for developing, implementing and critically evaluating data within the various disciplines of health." Organized into 7 sections. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial NoDerivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Library e-books:
Unlimited user access. Use permalinks in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand. You may need to log in with your portal and/or Canvas credentials to access the e-books.
Nursing: The ultimate study guide by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015“This is a small study guide that packs a big punch.” Sample chapter: Chapter 9: Decreasing Test Anxiety. PDF and EPUB formats.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Study Skills - Crash Course video playlistCrash Course video series of 10+ videos (8-11 min. each) with innovative graphics, last updated 2020. "Based on introductory college-level material and scientific studies, this course takes you through the tools and skills you need to get better at studying and finishing assignments in school and beyond." Includes videos on: taking notes, reading assignments, memory, planning & organization, focus & concentration, procrastination, studying for exams, test anxiety, and papers & essays, and more. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
- Student Nurse Hacks - video seriesProduced by SimpleNursing.com; main presenter is Michael, a registered nurse. Each video is 1-2 minutes long. Specifically geared for nursing students. Sample videos: “How to Deal with Negative Self-Talk,” “How to deal with nursing school anxiety when trying to sleep before a big test,” “Practice Being the Teacher,” etc. Not openly licensed, but you can link to/embed YouTube videos in Canvas courses.
Related OER subject guides:
For additional OER and library resources on test anxiety and other study skills, please explore the College Success OER subject guide, linked below and then click on the "College readiness" sub-tab:
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum, including Health.
- Contribution form for TCC Library's OER subject guidesThis form is for TCC faculty and staff. Use this form to add suggestions, improvements, and personal recommendations or tips for specific resources. Thank you for contributing to and improving this OER subject guide!
Your OER librarian
Jennifer Snoek-Brown
she/her
Contact:
Email: jsnoek-brown@tacomacc.edu (the fastest way to contact me)
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Website
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Your liaison librarian
Heather Gillanders
Contact:
Bldg 7, Library
If I'm not available, please stop by the reference desk to talk to another librarian.
If I'm not available, please stop by the reference desk to talk to another librarian.
Attributions
Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide was created by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Tacoma Community College Library, and is licensed under a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!