Human Services - TCC OER Subject Guide: OER starting points
This guide compiles starting points for OER and freely available resources for Human Services courses and topics. This OER subject guide was created for TCC faculty and staff and reflects TCC courses and curriculum. The purpose of this guide is to help faculty and staff more easily find and review OER in their areas so that they can make decisions about quality, accuracy, relevancy, and potential use.
OER starting points for Human Services, by course area and material type
Introduction to human services
Canvas course shells:
- HS102 4390 - W17 - Introduction to Human Services (WACTC Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by Polly McMahon, Community Colleges of Spokane, 2016. Includes modules, assignments, and discussions. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Introduction to Human Services (OER textbook)Elizabeth B. Pearce, Linn-Benton Community College, Open Oregon, 2020. This OER textbook "is more focused on students in this region [PNW] and on today’s challenges. Human services professionals must be ready for those challenges and we will use this text to help us think about the crises that families currently face: unemployment, housing insecurity, mental health challenges, all worsened by the worldwide pandemic and the regional wildfires. We will look at the role that helping professionals play in these social problems." Organized into 10 major sections, with 36 chapters. Online, PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Introduction to Social Work (OER textbook)Department of Social Work, Ferris State University, 2017. Master's of Social Work students contributed to this OER textbook for use in an undergraduate Introduction to Social Work course. It would need to be revised and updated for TCC and/or Washington state, but the basics might be useful for this introductory course. Organized into 13 chapters. Online, PDF, and LMS course formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Practical Knowledge: A Beginning Guide to Social Work Practice (OER guide)Tucker Hardy, Portland State Univ., 2020. "[A] practical resource for students to develop a basic knowledge of various techniques and skills currently used in the social work field. In the spirit of collaboration and reclaiming our education, this is a text that is put together by students for students. It is not an all encompassing educational guide to therapy. It is meant to be a base." Organized into 4 main Therapy Modalities and Skills. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand
Therapeutic approaches/techniques
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Addiction Counseling Competencies: The Knowledge, Skills, and Attitudes of Professional Practice (OER collection)Pulls together related Transdisciplinary Foundations and Practice Dimensions documents from SAMSHA. Public domain. Online format. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- A Toolkit for Teaching Communication Skills in Social Work (OER videos)Marie Nightbird and Kelly Allison, Univ. of British Columbia (Canada), 2020. "This toolkit includes five videos demonstrating basic communication skills and a teaching guide for instructors. The videos are a series of short vignettes of counselling sessions between a social worker and a client. Four of the videos target one or two basic communication skills so students can learn the skills in manageable segments. The fifth video demonstrates how a counsellor would amalgamate all the skills in a counselling session. The teaching guide provides transcripts, discussion questions and exercises/role plays that instructors can use in both face-to-face and online teaching to enhance student learning of communication skills." YouTube videos + teaching guide in Google Docs format. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.
- Chemical Dependency Professional Learning Resources (OER collection)Whatcom Community College, 2018. Sections of resources include: Survey of Addictions, Physiological Actions of Alcohol and Drugs, Treatment Theories for Addictions, Counseling Techniques, Case Management, Group Facilitation for Addiction Treatment, Counseling Diverse Populations, Law, Ethics, and Professional Development, Family Systems/Adolescent Treatment, Chemical Dependency Professional Practicum. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Behavioral health/wellness
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Behavioral Healthcare Navigation (OER textbook)Whatcom Community College, 2018. "The course explores care coordination and navigation for populations with behavioral health needs. An overview of behavioral health systems, eligibility, and access issues are presented. Topics include individual and family centered service coordination, response to acute and chronic behavioral health situations, work with interdisciplinary team, access to behavioral health resources, interventions and referral; and integration of primary care and behavioral health." Organized into 5 lessons, with screening tools. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Pharmacological & Physiological Actions of Alcohol and Other Drugs (OER textbook)Developed for the Behavioral Health program at Whatcom Community College, 2018. "This class covers information on the physical impact and the response of the human body to alcohol and other drugs of abuse. The fundamentals of pharmacokinetics, neurological functions and current research on prevention, and treatment will be studied with special focus on effective intervention strategies for each class of drug." Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Health Education (open textbook)College of the Canyons, Version 2, 2022. "Readers will learn about the nature of health, health education, health promotion and related concepts. This will help to understand the social, psychological and physical components of health." Includes chapters on psychological health (Ch. 2), stress management (Ch. 3), and drug use and addiction (Ch. 8). Organized into 14 chapters. PDF format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format.
- Foundations of Addiction Studies (OER textbook)Jason Florin and Julie Trytek, College of DuPage, 2021. "The material is organized so that each chapter focuses on a different theme related to addiction. Within each chapter are multiple sub-parts where you will find an introductory reading, a video, an article, an activity, questions for discussion, and a short quiz. Some sections also include slide presentations for you to view." Chapters include: What is Addiction?, An Overview of Pharmacology, Adolescents and Addiction, Assessment & Treatment, and Pathways to Recovery. Organized into 9 main chapters. Online, EPUB, digital PDF, print PDF, and LMS course cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Wellbeing, Freedom and Social Justice: The Capability Approach Re-Examined (OER text)Ingrid Robeyns, Ethics Institute of Utrecht University, 2017. Focuses on evaluating ambiguous concepts and policies about wellbeing, freedom, and social justice. Organized into 5 chapters. Online and PDF formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.
Library e-books:
Unlimited user access. Use permalinks in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand. You may need to log in with your portal and/or Canvas credentials to access the e-books.
Cultivating professional resilience in direct practiceCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017"To address the effects of trauma-related care on direct practitioners, Newell provides a comprehensive, competency-based model for professional resilience, examining four key constructs—stress, empathy, resilience, and self-care—from a range of theoretical dimensions." PDF and EPUB formats.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Chemical Dependency Professional Learning Resources (OER collection)Whatcom Community College, 2018. Sections of resources include: Survey of Addictions, Physiological Actions of Alcohol and Drugs, Treatment Theories for Addictions, Counseling Techniques, Case Management, Group Facilitation for Addiction Treatment, Counseling Diverse Populations, Law, Ethics, and Professional Development, Family Systems/Adolescent Treatment, Chemical Dependency Professional Practicum. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- American Society of Addiction Medicine: Alternative Training Course (OER textbook)Whatcom Community College, 2018. "This course introduces the American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) criteria. It provides a clinical overview of case management, intake and assessment, withdrawal and intoxication management, service planning and placement, risk ratings, level of care placement." Organized into 8 sections. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Chemical Dependency Professional Learning Resources (OER collection)Whatcom Community College, 2018. Sections of resources include: Survey of Addictions, Physiological Actions of Alcohol and Drugs, Treatment Theories for Addictions, Counseling Techniques, Case Management, Group Facilitation for Addiction Treatment, Counseling Diverse Populations, Law, Ethics, and Professional Development, Family Systems/Adolescent Treatment, Chemical Dependency Professional Practicum. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Writing good case notes: Differentiate fact & evidence from assessment & opinion (video lesson)California Social Work Education Center (CalSWEC), 2015. "Case notes are records of interactions children, families, and persons relevant to a given case or incident attended to by a social worker. [...] This interactive video is interspersed with questions probing the viewer's understanding of fact and evidence and how to detect unnecessary use of assessment or opinion in case notes." CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial) license.
Advanced helping strategies
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Essentials of Care Navigation (OER textbook)Whatcom Community College, 2018. "An introduction to the knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary to apply care navigation for the client, first of three courses for a certificate in care navigation. Focus is on the human and healthcare services systems, client profiles, communication basics, chronic illness, and health coaching. Serves as foundational to advanced courses." Organized into 5 modules, with instructor guide. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Behavioral Healthcare Navigation (OER textbook)Whatcom Community College, 2018. "The course explores care coordination and navigation for populations with behavioral health needs. An overview of behavioral health systems, eligibility, and access issues are presented. Topics include individual and family centered service coordination, response to acute and chronic behavioral health situations, work with interdisciplinary team, access to behavioral health resources, interventions and referral; and integration of primary care and behavioral health." Organized into 5 lessons, with screening tools. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Advanced Care Navigation 1 (OER textbook)Whatcom Community College, 2018. "Topics include: care coordination and navigation, client characteristics, an overview of behavioral health, strategies to influence outcomes, and advanced communications." Organized into 5 modules, with an instructor guide. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Advanced Care Navigation 2 (OER textbook)Whatcom Community College, 2018. "Topics include: care transitions, preventive healthcare, continued discussion of chronic illness, end of life care, and challenges particular to care navigation." Organized into 4 modules, with an instructor guide. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Chemical Dependency Professional Learning Resources (OER collection)Whatcom Community College, 2018. Sections of resources include: Survey of Addictions, Physiological Actions of Alcohol and Drugs, Treatment Theories for Addictions, Counseling Techniques, Case Management, Group Facilitation for Addiction Treatment, Counseling Diverse Populations, Law, Ethics, and Professional Development, Family Systems/Adolescent Treatment, Chemical Dependency Professional Practicum. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Ethics and professional development
Canvas course shells:
- 00F-Spring 2018-Issues & Ethics Human Services (OER Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. OER Canvas course shared by Nuchelle Lee Atkinson, Ivy Tech Community College, 2018. Course uses Issues And Ethics In The Helping Professions textbook, 9th ed. Includes modules, assignments, and discussions. Public domain license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Law & Ethics for Addiction: Alternative Training Course (OER textbook)Whatcom Community College, 2018. "This course provides an overview of industry standards and competencies and provides a framework of laws and regulations for addiction services. Ethics and guidelines for practice will be covered. Students will explore values and beliefs, and apply practice to ethical decision making." Organized into 6 sections. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Succeeding at Your Internship: A Handbook Written for and with Students (OER guide)Christopher J. Mruk and John C. Moor, Bowling Gren State University, 2020. "This book was written over a 10-year period for, and with, university students taking a clinically-oriented practice course in a number of human services settings [...] the focus of this text is to help students who are just beginning to step into the clinical or professional world by giving them a sense of what to expect, when to expect it, and how to handle an internship, from finding one to completing one. In other words, the book is something of an experiential roadmap for beginners." Organized into 8 chapters, including The Importance of Ethics and Appreciating Cultural Diversity. PDF format. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Professionalism (OER textbook)Developed by Whatcom Community College. This textbook's goal is to "Identify and evaluate personal style of professionalism and compare to workplace code of ethics." Integrates learning journal assignments throughout. Note: Some sections seem to still be in development. Would need to edit before using. Organized into 10 short modules. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
Library e-books:
Unlimited user access. Use permalinks in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand. You may need to log in with your portal and/or Canvas credentials to access the e-books.
Social work values and ethicsCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2018"A case-driven, concise, and comprehensive textbook for undergraduate and graduate social work programs, this book surveys the most critical issues for social work practitioners." PDF and EPUB formats.
Careers in human servicesCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015"Written for students in high school or undergraduate programs." Includes several chapters on different kinds of social workers. PDF format.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Chemical Dependency Professional Learning Resources (OER collection)Whatcom Community College, 2018. Sections of resources include: Survey of Addictions, Physiological Actions of Alcohol and Drugs, Treatment Theories for Addictions, Counseling Techniques, Case Management, Group Facilitation for Addiction Treatment, Counseling Diverse Populations, Law, Ethics, and Professional Development, Family Systems/Adolescent Treatment, Chemical Dependency Professional Practicum. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Addictions and pharmacology
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Survey of Addictions (OER textbook)Developed by Whatcom Community College. "This course explores the nature and scope of alcohol/drug use, abuse, and addiction as well as problems with compulsive behaviors. Basic drug categories, symptoms of addiction, disease models, and cross-cultural aspects of chemical dependency are studied. Prevention, intervention and treatment are discussed ... This online textbook hosts a variety of learning resources, such as articles, links to websites, webinars, videos, and infographics that relate to course topics." Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Theories and Biological Basis of Addiction (OER textbook)Audrey Begun, Ohio State Univ., 2018. Organized into 14 modules, including theories of addiction, biological models of addiction, and specific kinds of addiction, e.g., alcohol, stimulant substances, etc. Incorporates Ohio State Univ. Library resources, so this text would most likely need to be updated with TCC resources. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Foundations of Addiction Studies (OER textbook)Jason Florin and Julie Trytek, College of DuPage, 2021. "The material is organized so that each chapter focuses on a different theme related to addiction. Within each chapter are multiple sub-parts where you will find an introductory reading, a video, an article, an activity, questions for discussion, and a short quiz. Some sections also include slide presentations for you to view." Chapters include: What is Addiction?, An Overview of Pharmacology, Adolescents and Addiction, Assessment & Treatment, and Pathways to Recovery. Organized into 9 main chapters. Online, EPUB, digital PDF, print PDF, and LMS course cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Drug Use and Misuse: A Community Health Perspective (OER textbook)Christy N. Bazan, et al., University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, 2022. "Provides students with an introduction to the biological, psychological, and legal aspects of drug use and misuse through the lens of community health and discusses the impact of drug use and misuse on community health. The book contains eight distinct chapters addressing the background of drug use and misuse, including key terms, as well as an introduction to different categories of drugs including gateway drugs, opioids, and prescription drugs, and a conclusion that describes evidence-based prevention and treatment models." Organized into 8 chapters and a glossary. Faculty peer reviews of this OER textbook available on this site. Online (Pressbooks) and PDF formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Drugs, Health & Behavior (OER textbook)Jacqueline Schwab and Denise Salters, Penn State, 2018. Organized into 7 chapters, including a brief introduction to drugs, impact on the body, types of drugs, prescription drugs, laws and policies, addiction and treatment, and prevention strategies. Online (Pressbooks) format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- American Society of Addiction Medicine: Alternative Training Course (OER textbook)Whatcom Community College, 2018. "This course introduces the American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) criteria. It provides a clinical overview of case management, intake and assessment, withdrawal and intoxication management, service planning and placement, risk ratings, level of care placement." Organized into 8 sections. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Chemical Dependency Professional Learning Resources (OER collection)Whatcom Community College, 2018. Sections of resources include: Survey of Addictions, Physiological Actions of Alcohol and Drugs, Treatment Theories for Addictions, Counseling Techniques, Case Management, Group Facilitation for Addiction Treatment, Counseling Diverse Populations, Law, Ethics, and Professional Development, Family Systems/Adolescent Treatment, Chemical Dependency Professional Practicum. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Treatment of Addictions, Individual and Group Alternative Training (OER textbook)Whatcom Community College, 2018. "This course covers evidenced based approaches and systems of care in individual and group addiction treatment. Systems of care, historical models, healthy system recovery, and new peer supports are explored ... This online textbook hosts a variety of learning resources, such as articles, links to websites, webinars, videos, and infographics that relate to course topics." Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Cultural competencies
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Human Behavior and the Social Environment II (OER textbook)Whitney Payne, University of Arkansas, May 2020. "[T]he information contained in this book will help you, as a future social worker, approach client systems with empathy, understanding, and a compassionate curiosity that allows for comprehensive assessment, individualized approaches to treatment, and continuity of care." Includes chapters on Traditional Paradigms & Dominant Perspectives on Individuals, Alternative Perspectives on Individuals, Global Perspectives & Theories, and more. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Social Work Practice and Disability Communities: An Intersectional Anti-Oppressive Approach (OER textbook)Alexandria Lewis, et al., ROTEL (Remixing Open Textbooks with an Equity Lens) Project, 2023. "The book encourages practitioners to draw on intersectionality theory, the critical cultural competence framework and anti-oppressive practice approaches to contend with the concerns facing disabled people today. These issues include parenting, mass incarceration, ableism, aging and employment, among others. This title acknowledges difference and multisystemic privilege and oppression while also drawing readers’ attention to the importance of solidarity and allyship when it comes to meaningful social work practice with and social change for disabled people." Organized into 14 chapters. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Library e-books:
Unlimited user access. Use permalinks in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand. You may need to log in with your portal and/or Canvas credentials to access the e-books.
The professional helper: The fundamentals of being a helping professionalCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015"A beneficial text to all counseling students, as well as students in social work, human resources, psychology, sociology, and human relations." Includes chapters on understanding cultural differences, understanding disabilities, understanding religions, helping professional's roles in cultural evolution, and more. PDF format.
Racism in the United States: Implications for the helping professionsCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017"Fulfilling NASW and CSWE cultural competency requirements, this book teaches socially just practices to helping professionals from any discipline." Includes a chapter on Cross-Racial Clinical Work. PDF and EPUB formats.
Addressing racial disproportionality and disparities in human servicesCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014The first book to examine disproportionality across various systems of care and multiple ethnic populations.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Decolonizing Social Work with Indigenous Communities (OER ancillary materials)Tim Wohltmann, Humboldt State University, 2017. " These resources provide an introduction to the topic of decolonizing social work, an example syllabus, suggested textbook, suggested approach for an introductory lesson and links to additional resources." Organized into 3 units. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike) license.
- Culturally Sensitive Risk Assessment: An Ethnographic Approach (OER ancillary materials)California Social Work Education Center, 1998. "This curriculum combines systematic risk assessment (developed to address inconsistency and randomness in existing assessment tools and used to both identify factors which truly endanger children and illuminate strengths that may be build upon to ameliorate risk and preserve the family) with ethnographic interviewing (developed in response to a growing awareness of the importance of cultural differences in the helping process and the right of clients to receive culturally appropriate services). The combination of the two conceptual frameworks which helps clarify risks and strengths enables case plans and interventions to be more closely matched to what families are able and willing to do." Includes lots of classroom discussions and activities that could be adapted for current use. PDF files. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial) license.
Trauma informed care
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Trauma-Informed Care in Behavioral Health ServicesTIP (Treatment Improvement Protocol) Series 57, (SAMHSA) Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Public domain.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Trauma Informed Curriculum (OER ancillary materials)Tim Wohltmann, Laurie Drabble, 2016. "Modules related to trauma-informed practice and systems change developed through the SJSU School Work emphasize active and experiential learning. Although the modules were designed for use with intermediate (MSW program) audiences, they are easily be adapted to courses or trainings for beginning or advanced audiences." Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand if materials are compiled into a print-ready format.
- Trauma Informed Practice Modules: Neurobiology, SSHARED, and Mental Health System (OER lessons)Tim Wohltmann, Holly Vugia, 2016. "Aimed at public child welfare (PCW) audiences, these three modules cover key areas of trauma informed practice delivery: the Neurobiology of Trauma; SSHARED: A Tool for Identifying Signs and Sequelae of Trauma; and Trauma Advocacy with Mental Health Systems. Module materials are multi-media, including assessments, and were designed for future or current PCW workers." Zip folders, Word, and PowerPoint files. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike) license.
Family violence
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Child Maltreatment: An Introductory Guide With Case Studies (OER textbook)Susan Loosley and Jen Johnson, Fanshawe College (Canada), 2023. "This guide provides an overview of the different types of abuse, including signs to look for when a child is being abused or neglected. Legal responsibilities to identify and report suspected child abuse are also presented. This resource also contains case studies with interactive questions that allow for theory to be applied to practice." Organized into 12 chapters; the second half consists of detailed case studies. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Making Sense of a Global Pandemic: Relationship Violence & Working Together Towards a Violence Free Society (OER textbook)Balbir Gurm, Glaucia Salgado, Jennifer Marchbank, and Sheila Early, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2020. "This on-line book provides a wealth of information on relationship violence focusing amongst other things on definitions; the scope of the problem, theoretical frameworks, interventions and prevention strategies." Note: This was written for and by a Canadian perspective, but much of the information seems general and may still be useful for U.S. Organized into 25 main chapters. Online format. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Immigrant and refugee families - 2nd ed. (OER textbook)OER textbook published by University of Minnesota Libraries, created 2016 and updated 2019. "offers an interdisciplinary perspective on immigrant and refugee families' challenges and resilience across multiple domains, including economic, political, health, and human rights." Organized into 10 chapters, including a chapter on Intimate Partner Violence among Immigrants and Refugees. PDF, EPUB, and digital OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
Youth and families
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- A Developmental Systems Guide for Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health Practitioners (OER textbook)Sean E. Snyder, Temple University Press, 2023. Written by a licensed clinical social worker, this textbook "provides clinicians with actionable evidence-based practices for the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of child and adolescent mental and behavioral health. This approach combines developmental psychology and ecological systems in recognition of the fact that children’s developmental challenges, tasks, and capacities intersect with the risks and protective factors of their environment. Chapters feature detailed case studies and conclude with conversations with clinicians in which they share targeted recommendations for patient evaluation, treatment approaches, and family engagement and support." Organized into 3 major sections -- Theoretical and Practical Foundations, Therapeutic Approaches for Specific Disorders, and Organizational Considerations -- with 19 chapters. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Human Behavior and the Social Environment II (OER textbook)Whitney Payne, University of Arkansas, May 2020. "[T]he information contained in this book will help you, as a future social worker, approach client systems with empathy, understanding, and a compassionate curiosity that allows for comprehensive assessment, individualized approaches to treatment, and continuity of care." Includes chapters on Perspectives on Individuals and Perspectives on Families. Online and PDF formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license.
- Integrating Behavioral Health & Primary Care (OER textbook)Cori Garcia Hansen and Garcia Hansen, Whatcom Community College, 2018. "Describes the integration of Behavioral Health and Primary Care Practices. Topics include: systems oriented practice; interventions; whole person care, and; care coordination, collaboration, and teamwork." Organized into 5 units, plus an instructor guide. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Family Systems/Adolescent Treatment (OER textbook)Whatcom Community College, 2018. "This course provides an overview of family history, genograms, boundaries, and rules in addiction counseling. Adolescent development, genetics, environment, and diagnosis and treatment are covered. Evidence based programs and recovery and support are explored." Organized into 4 units. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Contemporary Families: An Equity Lens (OER textbook)OER textbook by Elizabeth B. Pearce, a Linn-Benton Community College instructor in Oregon, 2021. "This openly licensed text, created with students, approaches contemporary families from an equity lens." Organized into 9 chapters, each with preview questions that can be used for student discussion questions. Online, print PDF, and editable OpenDocument format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Child, Family, and Community (OER textbook)Rebecca Laff, et al., College of the Canyons, 2020. As one faculty reviewer states, "The textbook can used for an Introductory class for students interested in the Human Service/Helping Professions." Organized into 9 chapters, each with learning objectives. PDF and editable Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Parenting and Family Diversity Issues (OER textbook)Diana Lang, Iowa State University, 2020. "This book has been created for students and all individuals who work with children and families (e.g., educators, parents, caregivers, direct support workers, etc.) in diverse contexts. It is imperative to understand how and what factors may influence child outcomes across the lifespan. Therefore, key concepts related to parenting, child-rearing, care-giving, and parenting education are outlined in this textbook to provide historical, theoretical, and practical perspectives across vast settings and developmental domains." Organized into 7 chapters. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online, PDF, and e-book formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Immigrant and refugee families - 2nd ed. (OER textbook)OER textbook published by University of Minnesota Libraries, created 2016 and updated 2019. "offers an interdisciplinary perspective on immigrant and refugee families' challenges and resilience across multiple domains, including economic, political, health, and human rights." Organized into 10 chapters. PDF, EPUB, and digital OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
- Chemical Dependency Professional Learning Resources (OER collection)Whatcom Community College, 2018. Sections of resources include: Survey of Addictions, Physiological Actions of Alcohol and Drugs, Treatment Theories for Addictions, Counseling Techniques, Case Management, Group Facilitation for Addiction Treatment, Counseling Diverse Populations, Law, Ethics, and Professional Development, Family Systems/Adolescent Treatment, Chemical Dependency Professional Practicum. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Co-occurring disorders
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Co-Occuring Disorders (OER textbook)Whatcom Community College, 2018. "One of the main sources for learning resources within this online textbook is the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). It is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health in our country. Many of the Technical Assistance Publication series and the Treatment Improvement Protocol series are integrated within the textbook." Organized into 3 main units. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Supporting Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities & Mental Illness: What Caregivers Need to Know (OER textbook)Sherri Melrose, Debra Dusome, John Simpson, Cheryl Crocker, Elizabeth Athens, created 2015, updated 2019. "This multidisciplinary resource develops topics of interest to all those who care about and for individuals with co-occurring intellectual disabilities and mental illness. Each chapter presents current evidence informed practice knowledge. Each topic is also presented with audio enabled text boxes emphasizing 'Key Points for Caregivers.' For those who are interested in background knowledge, we provided the comprehensive literature base. And, for those interested mainly in 'what to do,' we provided text box summaries for reading and listening." Organized into 7 chapters, with audio compendiums. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Substance Abuse Treatment for Persons with Co-Occurring DisordersHHS Publication No. (SMA) 13-3992 Revised 2013, Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration. "This guide gives substance use disorder treatment providers information on mental illness, substance use disorders, or both. It discusses terminology, assessment, and treatment strategies and models." Public domain.
Aging and adult services
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
- Care Navigation of Older Adults (OER textbook)Whatcom Community College, 2018. "This course will explore care coordination and navigation with older adults. An overview of the aging process will be discussed. Topics will focus on individual and family centered care issues, communication and health literacy, working with interdisciplinary teams, chronic conditions, prevention, transitions, and resource referral." Organized into 6 lessons. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
- Human Behavior and the Social Environment I (OER textbook)Susan Tyler, University of Arkansas, May 2020. "This will be explored throughout this course by examining human behavior throughout life stage developments and our interactions with the social environment." Includes chapters on early, middle, and late adulthood. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Library e-books:
Unlimited user access. Use permalinks in Canvas courses. Not eligible for Print on Demand. You may need to log in with your portal and/or Canvas credentials to access the e-books.
Home- and community-based services for older adults: Aging in contextCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2018"Emphasizing the multidisciplinary and interprofessional practice approaches used to deliver care, this book is an essential learning tool for students interested in medicine, nursing, social work, allied health professions, case management, health care administration, and gerontology." EPUB and PDF formats.
Culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum.
Your OER librarian
Jennifer Snoek-Brown
she/her
Contact:
Email: jsnoek-brown@tacomacc.edu (the fastest way to contact me)
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Website
Office: Bldg 7, Library (please wear a face mask)
Phone: 253.460.3936 (forwards to my email)
Book an appointment Click the "book now" button above to book a personal appointment with me via Zoom.
Your liaison librarian
Heather Gillanders
Contact:
Bldg 7, Library
If I'm not available, please stop by the reference desk to talk to another librarian.
If I'm not available, please stop by the reference desk to talk to another librarian.
Attributions
Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide was compiled by Jennifer Snoek-Brown, Tacoma Community College Library, and is licensed under a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!