Microeconomics
Canvas course shells:
Economics - Microeconomics (OER Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas course shell for using the OpenStax Microeconomics OER textbook, shared by California Community Colleges CVC-OEI, 2019. Includes chapter modules with chapter readings and lecture slides. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
The Economy by CORE - ancillary resourcesTo view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas resources for instructors using The Economy by CORE, 2019. Includes lecture slides, data files for charts, and quizzes for each unit. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Principles of Microeconomics 3e (OER textbook)OpenStax, Dec. 2022, web version updated 2024. "[C]overs the scope and sequence of most one semester introductory microeconomics courses. The third edition takes a balanced approach to the theory and application of microeconomics concepts. The text uses conversational language and ample illustrations to explore economic theories, and provides a wide array of examples using both fictional and real-world applications." Instructor resources, including solution guide, test bank, video bank, and slides, freely available upon verified account. Online and PDF formats; customizable Word document files available upon verified log-in. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Principles of Microeconomics (OER textbook)Libby Rittenberg and Tim Tregarthen, Saylor, 2012. "Recognizing that a course in economics may seem daunting to some students, we have tried to make the writing clear and engaging. Clarity comes in part from the intuitive presentation style, but we have also integrated a number of pedagogical features that we believe make learning economic concepts and principles easier and more fun. These features are very student-focused. The chapters themselves are written using a “modular” format. In particular, chapters generally consist of three main content sections that break down a particular topic into manageable parts. Each content section contains not only an exposition of the material at hand but also learning objectives, summaries, examples, and problems. Each chapter is introduced with a story to motivate the material and each chapter ends with a wrap-up and additional problems." Organized into 20 chapters. Online, PDF, and editable Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attributions - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Microeconomics for Business (OER textbook)OER textbook by instructors at Georgia Southern University, 2018. "The text is a remix including newly-created textbook chapters and chapters from OpenStax Principles of Microeconomics." Online, accessible PDF, and editable Word formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial) License.
The Economy (OER textbook)OER textbook published by the CORE. "The text focuses throughout on evidence on the economy, from around the world, and from history. It is motivated by questions—how can we explain what we see? The method is to ask interesting questions first and then to introduce models that help to answer them." Organized into 22 units. For an Intro to Microeconomics course, recommendation to use "Unit 1 and Units 3 to 12, with the remaining weeks of the course devoted to a combination of Unit 2 with capstone Unit 21, or capstone Units 17 to 20." Online format. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Intermediate Microeconomics with Microsoft Excel - 2nd Edition (OER textbook)Humberto Barreto, DePauw University, 2020. "It uses concrete examples via Microsoft Excel in every application, which enables the reader to manipulate live graphs and learn numerical methods of optimization." Organized into 4 parts, with 18 chapters. PDF formats. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-ShareAlike) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
"Economics and finance" Khan Academy videosKhan Academy videos and lessons for the topics of AP Macroeconomics, Macroeconomics, AP Microeconomics, Microeconomics, and Finance and capital markets. All Khan Academy resources freely available to use or link to, but some of their resources are openly licensed.
Economics - Crash Course video playlistCrash Course video series of 35 videos (each video around 10 mins.) with innovative graphics, last updated 2020. "This course is based on introductory college level curriculum." Includes videos on: introductory Economics, Macroeconomics, Money and Finance, Globalization, Labor Markets, and more. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
Macroeconomics
Canvas course shells:
Economics - Macroeconomics (OER Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas course shell for using the OpenStax Macroeconomics OER textbook, shared by California Community Colleges CVC-OEI, 2019. Includes chapter modules with chapter readings and lecture slides. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
The Economy by CORE - ancillary resourcesTo view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas resources for instructors using The Economy by CORE, 2019. Includes lecture slides, data files for charts, and quizzes for each unit. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Principles of Macroeconomics 3e (OER textbook)OpenStax, published Dec. 2022, web version updated 2024. "[C]overs the scope and sequence of most one semester introductory macroeconomics courses. The third edition takes a balanced approach to the theory and application of macroeconomics concepts." Instructor resources, including solutions guide, test bank, video guide, and slides, freely available upon verified account. Online and PDF formats; customizable Word document files available upon verified log-in. (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Macroeconomics: Theory through Applications (OER textbook)Russell Cooper and A. Andrew John, BCcampus, 2012. "The intended audience of the textbook is first-year undergraduates taking courses on the principles of macroeconomics and microeconomics. Many may never take another economics course. We aim to increase their economic literacy both by developing their aptitude for economic thinking and by presenting key insights about economics that every educated individual should know. We have written a fundamentally different text for principles of economics, based on two premises: Students are motivated to study economics if they see that it relates to their own lives, and students learn best from an inductive approach, in which they are first confronted with a question and then led through the process of how to answer that question." PDF and editable Word and HTML formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Principles of Macroeconomic Literacy (open access textbook)Open access textbook by instructor at Univ. of North Georgia, 2017. that "emphasizes basic economic concepts such as value and cost in developing macroeconomic ideas... Where many texts put the student in the position of an imagined macroeconomic policy dictator, Principles of Macroeconomic Literacy attempts to make macroeconomics comprehensible to students who live every day in the macroeconomy." Accessible PDF format. Not openly licensed but freely available to download. Affordable Learning Georgia has a special agreement with the University of North Georgia Press to make this text free to download for a limited time.
The Economy (OER textbook)OER textbook published by the CORE. "The text focuses throughout on evidence on the economy, from around the world, and from history. It is motivated by questions—how can we explain what we see? The method is to ask interesting questions first and then to introduce models that help to answer them." Organized into 22 units. For an Intro to Macroeconomics course, recommendation to use "Units 1 and 2; review of feasible set and indifference curves from Unit 3; 6 (wage-setting); 7 (price-setting); 9 and 10, and 13 to 17, plus a selection of capstone Units 18–22, possibly including the material on disequilibrium dynamics from Unit 11." Online format. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
"Economics and finance" Khan Academy videosKhan Academy videos and lessons for the topics of AP Macroeconomics, Macroeconomics, AP Microeconomics, Microeconomics, and Finance and capital markets. All Khan Academy resources freely available to use or link to, but some of their resources are openly licensed.
Economics - Crash Course video playlistCrash Course video series of 35 videos (each video around 10 mins.) with innovative graphics, last updated 2020. "This course is based on introductory college level curriculum." Includes videos on: introductory Economics, Macroeconomics, Money and Finance, Globalization, Labor Markets, and more. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
Alternative approaches
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Principles of Microeconomics: Scarcity and Social Provisioning (OER textbook)OER textbook by Open Oregon, 2016, "takes a pluralistic approach to the standard topics of an introductory microeconomics course. The text builds on the chiefly neoclassical material of the OpenStax Principles of Economics text, adding extensive content from heterodox economic thought. Emphasizing the importance of pluralism and critical thinking, the text presents the method and theory of neoclassical economics alongside critiques thereof and heterodox alternatives in both method and theory." Online, PDF, EPUB, MOBI and editable OpenDocument formats formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.
Principles of Political Economy (OER textbook)OER textbook published by Valparaiso University, 2019, "contains many of the same topics as mainstream textbooks, but it includes and takes very seriously heterodox critiques and alternatives to the mainstream approach to economics. It includes a whole range of alternative theories, including Post-Keynesian, Austrian, Marxian, radical, feminist, institutionalist, and other approaches. The purpose is to teach students about alternative schools of economic thought but also to deepen their understanding of the dominant, neoclassical approach to economics. In this sense, it draws a great deal of inspiration from Richard Wolff and Stephen Resnick’s Contending Economic Theories." Online, PDF, EPUB, and MOBI formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Economic FablesAriel Rubinstein, 2012. "Part memoir, part crash-course in economic theory, this deeply engaging book by one of the world's foremost economists looks at economic ideas through a personal lens [...] he challenges many of the central tenets of game theory, and sheds light on the role economics can play in society at large." Online, PDF, and HTML formats. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs) license.
Economics for managers/business
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Principles of Economics (Univ. of Minnesota)OER textbook published by University of Minnesota, 2016. "This book is intended for a two-semester course in Economics taught out of the social sciences or business school." Organized into 34 chapters, each with sections of real-world applications and "You Try It" practice for students. This textbook site includes faculty peer reviews of this text. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable OpenDocument formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.
Principles of Economics 3e (OER textbook)OpenStax, published Dec. 2022, web version updated 2024. "[C]overs the scope and sequence of most introductory economics courses." Chapter topics suitable for economics for managers/business, including chapters on microeconomics, macroeconomics, global economics, supply and demand, public economies, etc. Instructor resources, including Canvas course cartridge, solution guide, test bank, video guide and slides, freely available upon verified account. Online and PDF formats; customizable Word document files available upon verified log-in. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
The Economy (OER textbook)OER textbook published by the CORE. "The text focuses throughout on evidence on the economy, from around the world, and from history. It is motivated by questions—how can we explain what we see? The method is to ask interesting questions first and then to introduce models that help to answer them." Organized into 22 units; Units 6-9 are particularly specific to business/management economic issues. Online format. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
The Economy by CORE - ancillary resourcesTo view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas resources for instructors using The Economy by CORE, 2019. Includes lecture slides, data files for charts, and quizzes for each unit. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Links for Managerial/Business Economics - The Economics NetworkShowcase of open educational resources, case studies, and teaching and learning materials in the subject area of managerial/business economics. Some of the resources on this site are openly licensed with a CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license, and according to the site's terms of use, all materials on the site allow reproduction of material for non-commercial use.
"Economics and finance" Khan Academy videosKhan Academy videos and lessons for the topics of AP Macroeconomics, Macroeconomics, AP Microeconomics, Microeconomics, and Finance and capital markets. All Khan Academy resources freely available to use or link to, but some of their resources are openly licensed.
Business Economics: Data for Decision Making (syllabus)Syllabus shared by CUNY City College instructors. Includes list of readings that are open access or low-cost.
Econometrics
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Applied Econometrics (OER collection)Special issue of articles relating to applied econometrics, originally published in the Journal of Risk and Financial Management, 2017-2019. PDF format (click the "Read this" button to view). All articles in this special issues are licensed under a CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Financial Econometrics (OER collection)Special issue of articles "dedicated to research topics that are relevant for analyzing financial data," originally published in the Journal of Risk and Financial Management, 2018-2019. PDF format (click the "Read this" button to view). All articles in this special issues are licensed under a CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
Links for Econometrics - The Economics NetworkShowcase of open educational resources, case studies, and teaching and learning materials in the subject area of econometrics. Some of the resources on this site are openly licensed with a CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license, and according to the site's terms of use, all materials on the site allow reproduction of material for non-commercial use.
Understanding Data (video lessons)Developed by Marginal Revolution University instructors, 2017. Interactive video lessons that apply the basics of statistical analysis and econometrics. Currently includes an introductory video and 3 videos on linear regression topics. CC BY ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - No Derivatives) license.
Culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum, including Business and STEM.
