Survey of anthropology
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Introduction to Anthropology: Holistic and Applied Research on Being Human (OER textbook)Andrea Palmiotto, et al, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, 2022, last web update 2023. "[D]esigned to provide a four-field introduction to anthropology for undergraduate courses ... a 4-field text designed to provide students and instructors with a quality, peer-reviewed free resource that depicts a diversity of perspectives, approaches, and topics related to sociocultural anthropology, biological anthropology, archaeology, and linguistic anthropology." Organized into 20 interactive modules. Online format via Articulate platform. CC BY SA (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Recommended and used by Liz Fortenbery, TCC Anthropology faculty
Introduction to Anthropology (OER textbook)OpenStax, published 2022, web version updated 2024. "A four-field text integrating diverse voices, engaging field activities, and meaningful themes like Indigenous experiences and social inequality to engage students and enrich learning. The text showcases the historical context of the discipline, with a strong focus on anthropology as a living and evolving field. There is significant discussion of recent efforts to make the field more diverse—in its practitioners, in the questions it asks, and in the applications of anthropological research to address contemporary challenges." Organized into 20 main chapters. Instructor resources, including Canvas course cartridge, test bank, and slides, freely available upon verified account. Online and PDF formats; customizable Word document files available upon verified log-in. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
ANTH 101: Physical Anthropology (OER textbook)Sarah Etheridge, College of the Canyons, 2nd ed., 2020. Organized into 12 chapters. PDF and editable Word formats. CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.
Physical Anthropology (OER textbook)Arnie Daniel Schoenberg, San Diego City College, compiled 2024, via the LibreTexts platform. "This class is an introduction to physical anthropology, but for many it will be your first anthropology class, or perhaps your first science class in college, so it is worthwhile to back up and introduce both science and anthropology." Organized into 8 main units. Online format, also available in PDF formats (click on the ref “PDF” icon along the top right of the textbook screen). CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
Introduction to Anthropology Activities and Case Studies (OER ancillary materials)Gregory Gullette and Jenna Andrews-Swann, Georgia Gwinnett College, University System of Georgia, 2022. "This collection of ancillary materials includes both activities and case studies for Introduction to Anthropology." Zip file download, with editable Word document files of activities and case studies, organized into 14 folders/categories. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Making Stone Tools: Big History ProjectAvailable via the Univ. of Hawaii OER site, 2016. MP4 file. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.
Anthropology Mini LecturesA collection of mini lectures created by anthropologists and those in conversation with anthropology as supplemental material to assist college and university instructors who were made to shift their courses online because of COVID19. Last updated 2021. Mini-lectures, videos, and related handouts on different topics, including environmental, biological, political, medical, social anthropology and archaeology topics. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license.
Writing as Material Practice - Substance, Surface and Medium (OER textbook)Kathryn Piquette, University College London instructor, published 2019, last compiled 2024, via LibreTexts platform. "[G]rapples with the issue of writing as a form of material culture in its ancient and more recent manifestations, and in the contexts of production and consumption. Fifteen case studies explore the artefactual nature of writing — the ways in which materials, techniques, colour, scale, orientation and visibility inform the creation of inscribed objects and spaces, as well as structure subsequent engagement, perception and meaning making." Organized into 17 units. Online format, also available in PDF formats (click on the ref “PDF” icon along the top right of the textbook screen). CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Archaeology
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
SFU Archaeology Press booksCollection of reports and monographs on topics in archaeology from Simon Fraser University Archaeology Press (Canada). Titles include: Toolstone Geography of the Pacific Northwest; Found! Human Remains: A Field Manual for the Recovery of the Recent Human Skeleton; Evolution of Maritime Cultures on the Northeast and the Northwest Coasts of America; Indian Art Traditions of the Northwest Coast; Marpole: Anthropological Reconstructions of a Prehistoric Northwest Coast Culture Type. All titles are in PDF format for both the entire work and each chapter. Titles provided via initiative with SFU Library Digital Publishing under a CC license and/or open access; check each title for specifics.
Making Stone Tools: Big History ProjectAvailable via the Univ. of Hawaii OER site, 2016. MP4 file. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.
Biological anthropology
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Explorations: An Open Invitation to Biological Anthropology - 2nd Edition (OER textbook)American Anthropological Association, produced with support from the Society for Anthropology in Community Colleges, second edition, 2023. Includes 2 new chapters, updated chapters, updated accessibility, EDI principles and updates to text and images, plus an instructor guide. Online (Pressbooks) format, with PDF chapters and EPUB format. Updated ancillary materials, including a test bank that faculty can request, slides, and lab and activity manual. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
The History of Our Tribe: Hominini (Introduction to Physical Anthropology)Barbara Welker, Open SUNY, 2017. “The book explores the field of paleoanthropology past and present.” The order of topics are: intro to anthropology, intro to biology, paleontology/phylogeny, primatology, paleoanthropology, and human variation. The content mixes existing OER sources, popular summaries, a selection of journal articles, videos, and other media. Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY NC SA (Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Becoming Human: How Evolution Made Us (OER textbook)Greg Downey, anthropology professor at Macquarie University (Australia), 2013. “Irreverent, fast-moving introduction to basic evolutionary theories and human origins. The focus is not just on our prehistory. Becoming Human highlights how evolution affects the way we are today, and helps us to anticipate what might happen to us in the future. Easy-to-read but challenging, this book is an ideal introduction to our species' origin.” Several formats available, including online and downloadable versions (e-book, PDF, .rtf, etc.). CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) 3.0 license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Biological Anthropology (OER textbook)Tori Saneda & Michelle Field, Cascadia Community College, compiled 2024, shared via LibreTexts. "This textbook explores evolutionary theory, including the core concepts of basic genetics and the modern synthesis of evolution. Students will examine, critically evaluate and explain scientific claims about the origins of humankind and modern human variation as well as biocultural evolution. Students will develop critical thinking and communication skills through the application of essential anthropological approaches, theories, and methods." Organized into 3 main sections, online format. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
Physical anthropology journals - Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)List of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in physical anthropology that are available open access. Click journal title to browse or search for articles published in that journal.
Biological Anthropology - Laboratory ActivitiesOER labs created by Wenatchee Valley College instructor, compiled 2024. "Students will need an assigned text to assist with these activities, identify bone and features, understand the proper use of Hardy-Weinberg Equilibrium, significance of primate taxonomy, and specific information about various early human forms." Online format, also available in PDF formats (click on the ref “PDF” icon along the top right of the textbook screen). CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Vertebrate Paleontology 3D DatabaseUniversity of Pennsylvania, 2016, last updated 2020. A collection of dinosaur bone scans. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.
Anthropology Mini LecturesA collection of mini lectures created by anthropologists and those in conversation with anthropology as supplemental material to assist college and university instructors who were made to shift their courses online because of COVID19. Last updated 2021. Mini-lectures, videos, and related handouts on different topics, including environmental, biological, political, medical, social anthropology and archaeology topics. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license.
Cultural anthropology
Canvas course shells:
ANTH 101 (Canvas course)Tip: Log into your TCC Canvas faculty account *before* clicking on this link! Canvas companion materials to "The Art of Being Human" OER textbook, linked below. Shared by Kansas State University instructor. It includes a sample syllabus, quiz questions, and introductions to each of the 10 lessons. An active-learning based approach. CC BY NC (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial) license.
OER SOCI120: Introduction to Cultural Anthropology (OER Canvas course)To view: First, log into your TCC Canvas faculty account, then click on the Canvas Commons link/icon in the global navigation menu, and then finally click this link to view this Canvas course content. Canvas course shared by Bucks County Community College, 2020. "This Introduction to Cultural Anthropology course template was created using free open educational resources from the ANTH101 course," linked below. Modules organized into chapters/lessons, and include readings, activities, and quizzes. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology, 2nd ed. (OER textbook)Nina Brown, et al, Society for Anthropology in Community Colleges, 2nd ed. published 2022. “This textbook is a collection of chapters on the essential topics in cultural anthropology. Different from other introductory textbooks, this book is an edited volume with each chapter written by a different author. Each author has written from their experiences working as an anthropologist and that personal touch makes for an accessible introduction to cultural anthropology.” Online, EPUB, PDFs for entire book and each chapter, and editable Word formats. Ancillary materials include instructor resources, PowerPoints, test banks, videos, and case studies. CC BY NC (Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Shared Voices: An Introduction to Cultural Anthropology (OER textbook)Demetrios Brellas and Vanessa Martinez, ROTEL (Remixing Open Textbooks with an Equity Lens) Project, 2024. "A student-centered cultural anthropology mini textbook built with an equity lens. This text aims to be accessible, interesting, accurate, and centered on marginalized voices. This text is a starting point for any introductory anthropology course." Organized into 7 chapters. Online (Pressbooks), PDF, and ePUB formats. CC BY NC SA Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
The Art of Being Human: A Textbook for Cultural Anthropology2018 textbook by Kansas State University anthropology professor. "In this unique book, Dr. Michael Wesch shares many of his own adventures of being an anthropologist and what the science of human beings can tell us about the art of being human." Organized into 10 lessons. Multiple formats, including EPUB, PDF, Kindle, iBooks, and downloadable chapters. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
See accompanying materials below.
Cultural Anthropology (OER textbook)Tori Saneda & Michelle Field, Cascadia Community College, last compiled 2024, shared via LibreTexts. Organized into 3 main sections: Anthropology & Culture, Social Institutions, and Globalization, Modernization & Development. Online and PDF formats. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Cultural Anthropology (OER course)OER course from Lumen and currently hosted by LibreTexts. Organized into 14 modules. Online and PDF formats. Course pages may have different CC (Creative Commons) open licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Cultural Heritage Ethics: Between Theory and PracticeConstantine Sandis, 2014. "[P]rovides cutting-edge arguments built on case studies of cultural heritage and its management in a range of geographical and cultural contexts." Online, PDF, and HTML formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Oral Literature in Africa (OER collection)Ruth Finnegan, originally published in 1970, revised edition 2016. "This revised edition makes Finnegan’s ground-breaking research available to the next generation of scholars. It includes a new introduction, additional images and an updated bibliography, as well as its original chapters on poetry, prose, "drum language" and drama, and an overview of the social, linguistic and historical background of oral literature in Africa." Click the Resources link/tab for Finnegan's original recordings of stories and songs from the Limba country (Sierra Leone). Online, PDF, and EPUB formats; sound recordings available in online or MP3 formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Library ebooks with unlimited user access:
An introduction to cultural anthropology by Cambridge Scholars PublishingCall Number: Online
Publication Date: 2017
Tip: You may need to log in with your portal credentials to view this e-book. "This book engages young scholars, teachers and students in a critical dialogue with past and present directions in cultural-historical studies [...] The book discusses key, field-based studies in the discipline and places them in dialogue with related studies in social history, linguistics, philosophy, literature, and photography, among others."
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
Folklife and Fieldwork: An Introduction to Cultural DocumentationLibrary of Congress American Folklife Center, 4th edition, 2016. Available for educational use. PDF full text format. Spanish language version also available.
Note from TCC instructor: This looks promising! Including resources for ethics/consent etc.
SFU Archaeology Press booksCollection of reports and monographs on topics in archaeology from Simon Fraser University Archaeology Press (Canada). Titles include: Toolstone Geography of the Pacific Northwest; Found! Human Remains: A Field Manual for the Recovery of the Recent Human Skeleton; Evolution of Maritime Cultures on the Northeast and the Northwest Coasts of America; Indian Art Traditions of the Northwest Coast; Marpole: Anthropological Reconstructions of a Prehistoric Northwest Coast Culture Type. All titles are in PDF format for both the entire work and each chapter. Titles provided via initiative with SFU Library Digital Publishing under a CC license and/or open access; check each title for specifics.
Anthropology Mini LecturesA collection of mini lectures created by anthropologists and those in conversation with anthropology as supplemental material to assist college and university instructors who were made to shift their courses online because of COVID19. Last updated 2021. Mini-lectures, videos, and related handouts on different topics, including environmental, biological, political, medical, social anthropology and archaeology topics. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license.
ANTH 101: Anthropology for EveryoneSupplemental resources -- videos and additional readings -- to accompany "The Art of Being Human" OER textbook (linked above). CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Deep Stories. Practicing, Teaching, and Learning Anthropology with Digital Storytelling (open book)Mariela Nuñez-Janes, et al., published by De Gruyter, 2017, available via JSTOR Open Access. “The book is unique in its inclusion of anthropologists and education practitioners and its emphasis on multiple subfields in anthropology.The contributors discuss digital storytelling in the context of educational programs, teaching anthropology, and ethnographic research involving a variety of populations and subjects that will appeal to researchers and practitioners engaged with qualitative methods and pedagogies that rely on media technology.” TIP: Click the “Free access” link to access book online and/or download chapters in PDF format. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Note from TCC instructor: Looks interesting. I will follow up when more time for Anth 206 ethnographic projects.
Cultural Anthropology journal archivesPeer-reviewed, open access journal of the Society for Cultural Anthropology, a section of the American Anthropological Association. Their copyright notice gives permission to "download, save, reproduce, and transmit for noncommercial, scholarly, and educational purposes."
Linguistic anthropology
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Psychology of Language - Instructor Course Pack (OER course)Curated by Dinesh Ramoo, Thompson Rivers University (Canada), 2023. This OER course is designed for a 12-week term and uses the Psychology of Language OER text. "This course will provide students with the fundamentals of linguistic and psycholinguistic theory. Students will explore the nature of language and learn about the basic components studied by psycholinguists. They will also gain an understanding of language development as well as the biological basis of language [...] Unit topics include the history and significance of linguistics, the sounds of language, the parts of speech, the biological basis of language, learning to speak, bilingualism, visual language, reading, and speaking." Organized into 9 main units. Ancillary materials include "facilitation plan, lecture slides, and discussion topics. Student activities include H5P formative assessments, exercises in critical thinking, and living language activities." Course files are available via online links and editable Word and PowerPoint file formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand for applicable materials.
Psychology of Language (OER textbook)Dinesh Ramoo, Thompson River University (Canada) via BCcampus, 2021. "In this textbook, students are introduced to the fundamental principles of linguistics and psycholinguistics. Students will explore theories and models of language development, comprehension and production as well as bilingualism and reading. All of these topics are approached from a Canadian perspective and include ideas from indigenous cultures and languages of Canada." Organized into 9 chapters. Online, digital PDF, print PDF, EPUB, and course cartridge course formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
How Language Works (OER textbook)Michael Gasser, Indiana University, last compiled 2024, shared via LibreTexts site. Organized into 8 chapters, with appendices. GPL (General Public License) 3.0 license (copying and distribution allowed, no changes). Eligible for Print on Demand.
Essentials of Linguistics, 2nd ed. (OER textbook)Catherine Anderson, et al, eCampusOntario, 2nd ed., 2022. "This Second Edition ... is considerably revised and expanded, including several new chapters, diverse language examples from signed and spoken languages, enhanced accessibility features, and an orientation towards equity and justice. While the primary audience is Canadian students of Introduction to Linguistics, it is also suitable for learners elsewhere, in online, hybrid, or in-person courses." Organized into 13 chapters. Online, PDF, EPUB, and editable HTML and OpenDocument formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
First edition available online here at https://open.bccampus.ca/browse-our-collection/find-open-textbooks/?uuid=f934dfef-66b0-4533-8bb4-7daaf8e94900&contributor=&keyword=&subject=Linguistics
Creative Multilingualism: A Manifesto (OER collection)Edited by Katrin Kohl, et al., originally published 2010, current version published 2020. "[A] welcome contribution to the field of modern languages, highlighting the intricate relationship between multilingualism and creativity, and, crucially, reaching beyond an Anglo-centric view of the world." Click the "Additional Resources" tab for podcast series, videos, and ancillary teaching resources. Online, PDF, and HTML formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Analyzing Meaning: An Introduction to Semantics and Pragmatics (OER textbook)Paul R. Kroeger, Language Science Press, 2018. "This book provides an introduction to the study of meaning in human language, from a linguistic perspective." Organized into 6 units, with 22 chapters. PDF, editable Word, and LaTeX file formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Oral Literature in Africa (OER collection)Ruth Finnegan, originally published in 1970, revised edition 2016. "This revised edition makes Finnegan’s ground-breaking research available to the next generation of scholars. It includes a new introduction, additional images and an updated bibliography, as well as its original chapters on poetry, prose, "drum language" and drama, and an overview of the social, linguistic and historical background of oral literature in Africa." Click the Resources link/tab for Finnegan's original recordings of stories and songs from the Limba country (Sierra Leone). Online, PDF, and EPUB formats; sound recordings available in online or MP3 formats. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
Linguistics - Crash Course video playlistVideo playlist of 17 videos, last updated 2021, each 9-12 minutes. Includes videos on morphology, syntax, phonetics, sociolinguistics, historical linguistics, world languages, writing systems, and more. Crash Course videos are high-quality, with a mix of live-action and animated graphics. Not openly licensed but freely available to view, link, and embed into courses.
"Generative Syntax" video seriesCaroline Heycock, University of Edinburgh, last updated 2018. A series of 11 videos, ranging from 6 to 30 mins. each. Designed to complement the free online textbook “Syntax of Natural Language” by Santorini and Kroch, linked above, but the videos can be used on their own. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Indigenous peoples of North America
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Native Peoples of North America (OER textbook)Susan Stebbins, University at Albany, Open SUNY, 2013. “[A]n introductory text about the Native peoples of North America (primarily the United States and Canada) presented from an anthropological perspective. As such, the text is organized around anthropological concepts such as language, kinship, marriage and family life, political and economic organization, food getting, spiritual and religious practices, and the arts. Prehistoric, historic and contemporary information is presented. Each chapter begins with an example from the oral tradition that reflects the theme of the chapter.” Textbook edition available in PDF and EPUB versions. CC BY NC SA (Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
ECHO: Ethnographic, Cultural, and Historical Overview of Yukon’s First Peoples (OER textbook)Victoria Elena Castillo, et al., via BCcampus, 2020. “Today, First Nations peoples living in Yukon, Canada are reviving and practicing their cultural traditions in exciting ways. At the same time, there has been an influx of newcomers to the territory who want to learn more about Yukon's Indigenous peoples and their cultures. With hundreds of references for those wanting to delve deeper into particular topics, ECHO is a handbook that provides the most current research pertaining to Yukon First Nations peoples. Topics include archaeology, ethnology, and lifeways, relationships with newcomers (in the past and currently), the arts, and modern-day land claims. The volume also includes interviews with research collaborators who discuss the importance of community-based research.” Organized into 6 main chapters. Pressbooks online format; also includes downloadable formats for PDF, EPUB, and Common Cartridge (web links) for LMS integration. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) 4.0 license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
At a Crossroads: Archaeology and First Peoples in Canada (OER textbook)George P. Nicholas, et al., Simon Fraser University’s Archaeology Press, initially published 1997, re-published as e-book in 2017. “The 20 papers in this volume were written by both Native and Non-Native authors, and provide both substance and food-for-thought concerning the complex interactions between archaeologists and contemporary indigenous peoples of Canada in regard to working together, interpretation of the past, ownership of the past, and the relationships between traditional knowledge and archaeological fact.” Includes perspectives from Native authors. PDFs -- online and downloadable options -- for the entire book as well as individual essays. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) 4.0 license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Histories of Indigenous Peoples and Canada (OER textbook)John Belshaw, et al, Thompson Rivers University (Canada), 2020. “The preface introduces you to some of the practices and challenges of Indigenous history, focusing on the nature and quality of sources, innovative historical methodologies, and the leading historiographical trends (that is, what historians are thinking very broadly and what they have studied in the last decade or four). It turns, then, to histories of Indigenous peoples in the Western Hemisphere before ca. 1500. [...] The twelve chapters that follow are arranged under three headings: Commerce and Allies, Engaging Colonialism, and Culture Crisis Change Challenge. And there is a thirteenth chapter that brings us deep enough into the twenty-first century to allow a visit with two of the most important recent developments in Canadian civic life: Idle No More and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.” Pressbooks online formats; additional formats include PDF and EPUB. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) 4.0 license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
Collection: Indigenous Voices (OER collection)Pressbooks Directory collection. "This collection features Indigenous voices, stories, and perspectives. Here you'll find examinations of historical and contemporary issues, reading guides for celebrated novels, a series about Indigenizing post-secondary institutions and professional practice, and more." Each OER textbook in this collection may have a different CC (Creative Commons) license.
SFU Archaeology Press booksSimon Fraser University Archaeology Press has openly licensed their collection of reports and monographs on topics in archaeology. Titles include: Evolution of Maritime Cultures on the Northeast and the Northwest Coasts of America; Indian Art Traditions of the Northwest Coast; Marpole: Anthropological Reconstructions of a Prehistoric Northwest Coast Culture Type. All titles are in PDF format for both the entire work and each chapter. All titles are licensed under a CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) license.
Our Stories: First Peoples in Canada (OER collection)Centennial College, [2018]. “This text was developed as a resource to support our Indigenous Studies: First Peoples in Canada stackable credential launched in 2014. [...] We have endeavoured to tell Indigenous truths through storytelling. Truths about the times before the settlers, truths about the interactions of Indigenous communities, clans, and Nations, and the settlers, and truths about the ways we must move forward towards reconciliation. [...] The stories that informed this etextbook were gifted to Centennial College by citizens of Nations and members of Indigenous communities. We recognize that these are not our stories, and we claim no ownership of them.” Includes several interviews about different topics with Indigenous members of the community, including video interviews. Pressbooks online format; additional formats include PDF and EPUB. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - NoDerivatives) 4.0 license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Understanding Indigenous Perspectives (OER modules)University of Toronto. "This set of learning modules has been created to support and inspire educators and future teachers to gain a deeper understanding of Indigenous perspectives and an appreciation of how Indigenous knowledge and worldviews can assist all learners in their educational journey. The goal of the modules is to provide an introductory grounding to key issues affecting Indigenous people in Canada as a foundation for further and deeper learning." Although the examples and case studies focus on First Nations in Canada, the info could be useful for general understanding. Online modules. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.
Indigenous Storybooks"A range of publicly available video, audio, and other digital files" that relate "to specific First Nations or to Many Nations across North America." Resources may not be openly licensed, but rather freely available to view and link to.
Native Knowledge 360 Education InitiativeBrowse "Helpful Handouts" developed for educators with activities, lesson plans, and resources for teaching and learning about Native Americans. Part of the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian site. Much of the museum's content is licensed with a CC0 (Creative Commons Zero) public domain license; otherwise, educational use is encouraged with attribution.
Recommended by TCC instructor Allison Muir in Spring 2021.
Tribesourcing Southwest Film ProjectThis project is creating Native narrations and contextual information for mid-20th century educational and sponsored films about tribal peoples, to counter inaccurate and/or culturally insensitive portrayals in the original narration.
Teaching Autoethnography: Personal Writing in the Classroom (OER textbook)Melissa Tombro, The Fashion Institute of Technology, Open SUNY, 2016. "[D]edicated to the practice of immersive ethnographic and autoethnographic writing that encourages authors to participate in the communities about which they write. This book draws ... also on theories and sensibilities from creative writing and performance studies, which encourage self-reflection and narrative composition.” PDF, EPUB, and online formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - Non-Commercial - Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Indigenous City Field Trip (OER ancillary materials)Kimberly Boissier and Jeremie Caribou, Toronto Metropolitan University (formerly known as Ryerson University, Canada), [2022]. “[I]ntended to facilitate walking field trips involving particular sites located on or close to the Toronto Metropolitan University (TMU) campus. For each site, we identified several resources and included links to original sources. We structured this website by listing the sources followed by a brief description of the information from the source in bullet form. This brief description does not replace reading the original source(s) but is rather intended to help the reader navigate through the website. This website contributes to knowledge and events relating to Indigenous people’s land and culture, focusing on the land that is currently occupied by TMU.” Potential samples for students as well as supplemental material to help support community “field trips” to explore Indigenous sites and/or culture. Pressbooks online format. NOTE: All Rights Reserved; this is not OER, but this is considered “open access” in that it’s ok to link to it, like for examples within a Canvas course. Not eligible for Print on Demand.
Indigenous Information Literacy (OER ancillary materials)Rachel Chong, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, 2022. “This book outlines best principles for working with Indigenous print and oral sources in academic research. Topics include evaluating Indigenous print sources for credibility and authenticity, finding Indigenous authors, and respectfully working with Elders.” Includes a section on “Elders & Respectful Research” as well as “Elder Citation” along with samples of how to cite interviews with Elders in different citation styles. Pressbooks online format; additional formats include EPUB, PDF, and Common Cartridge (web links) for LMS integration. CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial No Derivatives) 4.0 license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Human osteology
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Introduction to Human Osteology (OER textbook)Roberta Hall, et al., Grand Valley State University, 2010. "This text was designed for use in the human osteology laboratory classroom. Bones are described to aid in identification of skeletonized remains in either an archaeological or forensic anthropology setting. Basic techniques for siding, aging, sexing, and stature estimation are described. Both images of bone and drawings are included which may be used for study purposes outside of the classroom. The text represents work that has been developed over more than 30 years by its various authors and is meant to present students with the basic analytical tools for the study of human osteology." Organized into 5 chapters. Peer reviews of the text available on this site. PDF format. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Supplemental tools and materials (incl. games, lessons, videos, exercises, etc.):
SFU Archaeology Press booksCollection of reports and monographs on topics in archaeology from Simon Fraser University Archaeology Press (Canada). Titles include: Toolstone Geography of the Pacific Northwest; Found! Human Remains: A Field Manual for the Recovery of the Recent Human Skeleton; Evolution of Maritime Cultures on the Northeast and the Northwest Coasts of America; Indian Art Traditions of the Northwest Coast; Marpole: Anthropological Reconstructions of a Prehistoric Northwest Coast Culture Type. All titles are in PDF format for both the entire work and each chapter. Titles provided via initiative with SFU Library Digital Publishing under a CC license and/or open access; check each title for specifics.
Ethnographies of American cultures
Textbooks, courses, and readers:
Teaching Autoethnography: Personal Writing in the Classroom (OER textbook)Melissa Tombro, The Fashion Institute of Technology, Open SUNY, 2016. "[D]edicated to the practice of immersive ethnographic and autoethnographic writing that encourages authors to participate in the communities about which they write. This book draws ... also on theories and sensibilities from creative writing and performance studies, which encourage self-reflection and narrative composition.” PDF, EPUB, and online formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - Non-Commercial - Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.
Culturally responsive & inclusive pedagogy
The Culturally Responsive and Inclusive Pedagogy OER Subject Guide, linked below, provides a starting point for OER professional development and curricular materials relating to issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion; trauma-informed practices; and culturally responsive, inclusive, and anti-racist pedagogy and practices. This guide includes concepts and keywords; TCC OEDI resources; introductory and more in-depth professional development resources (toolkits, guides, etc.); curriculum resources (activities, assignments, etc.); OER and EDI rubrics; instructional design; accessibility; as well as EDI-focused OER in different disciplines across the curriculum, including Social Sciences.
An introduction to cultural anthropology by 
