LS 301: Adams, M. - Applied Management: Business Databases
Databases
You will may never have this level of access again post-graduation, so take advantage of it!
The TCC Library subscribes to dozens of databases that contain proprietary information not available to the general public out on the "free web." Millions of articles, thousands of publications: find research, news, analysis, projections, informed opinions, best practices, and more.
On this page you will find direct links to business databases, and databases that include business-related publications and articles. You can also browse the entire list of TCC Library databases using the link below:
Business databases from TCC Library - best bets for sources for your paper
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications, as well as current company, industry and region reports. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Thousands of full-text journals, key business and economics periodicals, industry-focused reports, and major news sources. - Business Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
International business intelligence, industry profiles, SWOT analyses, market share reports, financial reports, company histories, industry essays, case studies, scholarly journals, and business news. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
More than 15,000 news, legal, and business sources. Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
Additional business databases from TCC Library
- Gartner This link opens in a new window
Outstanding resource for researching IT in business. Gartner reports provide forecasts for companies, industries, and specific technologies. (You will need to log in with your TCC email and your Portal password.) - Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Full-text for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications - Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles from many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics.
Reference - encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies
- Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full text biographies on notable people from around the world. - African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
(Oxford) Articles from specialized encyclopedias of African American and African history and culture. Includes primary sources and the African American National Biography. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
"Long shots!"
Sometimes it's good to take a chance on a database that you might not otherwise think of as useful to a business research project.
The following databases may provide you with interesting articles.
NOTE: For the Psyc databases, consider searching for attributes or behaviors rather than people or companies. Example LEADERSHIP or LEADERSHIP STYLES or INNOVATIVE
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
(Also known as APA PsycARTICLES).(Ebsco) Periodical database of peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology. - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) More than 500 full-text journals, covering the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines. - History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized sources for the study of global history. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR!
Video: Databases and why we need them (2:34 mins)
Outstanding introduction to databases and why to use them.
video: "What are databases and why you need them" by Yavapai College Library. Standard YouTube license applies.
Video: Searching databases (4:54 mins)
Great introduction to searching databases using key words and Boolean commands.
video: "Searching databases" by Yavapai College Library. Standard YouTube license applies.
Need help using the databases? Chat with a research librarian
You can meet with a research librarian in person in the TCC Library during open hours, or use Chat any time: A TCC Librarian is available during Library open hours, all other hours librarians from other colleges are available to help you out.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!