LS 301: Adams, M. - Applied Management: Books
Using the digital books collections
The TCC Library subscribes to two large e-book databases, ProQuest's "Ebook Central" and EBSCO's "Ebook Academic Collection."
Below are two sets of screenshots guiding you through how to search and access book from each of these databases.
Note the use of "key search terms" in each! As always with databases, keep it simple, scholar! Consider the most basic descriptor of your area of interest, which is often one, or possibly two, words! Get "fancy" only when necessary!
But first: "How to Use Books for College Research" (video: 7:44 mins)
"This video will teach you the parts of a book, the difference between popular and scholarly books, and why you should use books for your college papers." The presenter here demonstrates using print books, but the concepts and skills apply to e-books as well.
video: "How to use books for college research" by Orange Coast College Library is licensed under CC BY 4.0
Using Ebook Central database
Searching Ebook Central
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 180,000 electronic books, with broad coverage on academic topics. Viewable with your web browser; also downloadable to e-readers or e-reader apps with some restrictions.
Search Tips
- Enter your main topic into Ebook Central's search box
(click on Images to Enlarge)
Read or download ebooks
- You can read the book online or download it to an e-reader.
Using eBook Academic Collection
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 electronic books, covering a large selection of multidisciplinary academic subjects. Books can be read through a web browser or downloaded.
How to search for ebooks:
Enter your main topic into Ebook Academic Collection's search box.
Read the ebook:
You can read the book online with any device.
Looking for a print book? Use the TCC Library Catalog! (where you can also search for e-books)
While you can also use the TCC Library Catalog to search for the e-books held in these two databases, the catalog is the only place to search for print books! You can find the catalog on the Library homepage, or search it from here.
Search the TCC Library Catalog for e-books and print books and other types of materials:
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!