Philosophy: Reference sources
Why use reference sources in your research?
Why Use Reference Sources in Your Research?
Research, write, and speak from a position of knowledge
An overview of your topic area provides you with specialized vocabulary that is used relating to your topic (you can use these words for searches later in your research process), and helps you to understand the following:
- The historical perspective on your topic
- What the key issues are and how you may want to refine your topic
- Who are the stakeholders (the groups or individuals interested in or affected by this topic)
- A context of how your topic relates to the other issues that surround it
Reference Database: Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is great place to find definitions and overviews of philosophical topics. This database of digitized, specialized, encyclopedias includes: the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Philosophy; 2 volume Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy; 6 volume New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, and Philosophy: Sources. Perspectives and Methodologies.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Search example in Gale eBooks (formerly known as GVRL) (it's OK to copy this box and change examples/wording)
Step 1: Searching for an article
Consider the MAIN concept you are exploring, and use that as a keyword to search this database for relevant articles.
Step 2: Selecting an article
To read an article in Gale eBooks, click on the article title. Be sure to note the titles of the encyclopedias the articles come from. Finally, always read through more than one article to get multiple perspectives or views on an issue.
Click the article title to read the whole article.
Step 3: Saving and citing an article
Once you click on an article title, look at the tools on the side for how to cite, email, download, etc., so you can take that article with you.
Sample encyclopedias and reference sources
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!