LGBTQIA+ Support and Resources
Featured source
Encyclopedias
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016Accessed in Gale Ebooks
- LGBTQ UmbrellaFrom the SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies
Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered history in America by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2004
- LGBTQ StudiesFrom the Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America
There are a wide range of LGBT topics addressed in this database. Consider some of these linked below or use the database link to search for more.
- Article: Coming out and outing"Coming out and outing" in the Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America, 2004.
- Article: Transgender youth"Transgender youth" in the Encyclopedia of Adolescence, 2011
- Article: Gay liberation movement"Gay liberation movement" in the St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, 2013
- Article: Intimate partner violence, female"Intimate partner violence, female" in the The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies, 2016.
- Article: Intimate partner violence, male"Intimate partner violence, male" in the The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies, 2016.
- Article: College students"College students" in The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies, 2016.
Getting started
Why use reference sources?
Reference materials, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, give you a general overview of your topic and can point you to more specific research.
This information can also help you identify relevant names, places, ideas, and dates to use as search terms.
Use these resources as a starting point for your research!
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
- Stonewall RebellionFrom the St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and TransgenderFrom the Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
offers in-depth reporting for one topic each week. Topics tend to be social/political/economic. Some past issues of this magazine have included: "Gays on Campus," "Gays in the Military," and "Gay Rights." CQ Researcher is a great place to get history and background information and each issue includes a section called "Contacts,"which may lead you to other good sources.
- LGBTQ RightsA 2020 article from CQ Researcher
- Transgender Rights: Can a long-scorned minority achieve equality?A 2015 report from CQ Researcher
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles on 400 topics, each with an overview and an argument, and many with opposing arguments. Also includes primary sources.
- Gay & Lesbian Adoption: An OverviewA 2019 overview article from Points of View
- Point: Gay Couples Should be Prohibited from Adopting Children.A 2019 article from Points of View
- Counterpoint: Sexual Orientation Should Not Be a Deterrent to Adoption.A 2019 article from Points of View
Image source: "Encyclopedias" by kdavis25 is in the Public Domain, CC0
Database search tips
Linked below are some tips and tutorials on using the databases linked in this page of the guide.
Gale Ebooks
Search tips:
- In the search box at the top, start by typing in keywords (e.g., "opioid dependence," like in the sample below). For keywords that are a phrase, then you can also put those words in quotation marks. This keeps those words together in your search results, and leads to more relevant results.
- Click on the title of the article to read the full article -- and get extra tools to help you email and cite the article!
- Take note of the title of the encyclopedia or reference book -- this will give you clues about the subject matter or context
- Take note of the word count or page length
- Also pay attention to the Filters on the side, if any are listed, which can help you narrow down your search results.
(click on image to enlarge)
CQ Researcher
Navigating to search
You can search for reports using the search box, or browse for reports or topics.
(click on image to enlarge)
Browsing through topics
Click on "Browse topics" to see a drop-down menu of potential broad topics to explore.
(click on image to enlarge)
Viewing a full report
Full reports include a table of contents along the left side, where you can jump to specific sections. The right side includes an "Issue Tracker," where you can see additional, related reports. Be sure to use the "Cite Now!" tool to get an MLA or APA citation so you can cite the report for your assignment.
(click on image to enlarge)
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!