Health Information Technology/Management
HIM/HIT-related Web sites
HIM/HIT-Related Websites
- American Health Informaiton Management AssociationThe source for news and policy statements about issues of concern to the HIM profession.
- Health Information Technology FoundationsA free course from Carnegie Mellon University that offers an overview of healthcare, health information technology, and health information management systems. The focus is on the role and responsibilities of entry-level health IT specialists in each phase of the health information. Contains a unit on privacy and security.
- HIMSS: Resource CenterA "cause-based, not-for-profit organization exclusively focused on providing global leadership for the optimal use of information technology (IT) and management systems for the betterment of healthcare." Contains information on privacy and security.
- HIPAAThe Office for Civil Rights enforces the HIPAA Privacy Rule, which protects the privacy of individually identifiable health information; the HIPAA Security Rule, which sets national standards for the security of electronic protected health information; and the confidentiality provisions of the Patient Safety Rule, which protect identifiable information being used to analyze patient safety events and improve patient safety
- CDC: National Center for Health StatisticsThe NCHS provides a wealth of health statistics and is responsible for the coordination of all official disease classification activities in the United States relating to the ICD and its use, interpretation, and periodic revision.
Career & Employment Information
- AHIMA: Careers in HIMContains Career Map, which features in-depth information about the many career options for HIM professionals, and includes updated salary study results, job data, and self-assessments to measure if you are ready for a new role.
- WSHIMA: Job BoardPosts HIM job opportunities in Washington State.
- Health Career CenterSponsored by the American Hospital Association, the Health Career Center to connects healthcare employers and top talent in all disciplines through its online job board network.
Online Journals
- For the RecordNews, trends, and product information in the HIM field.
- Health Data ManagementProvides analysis of the technology trends, tools and strategies that are shaping healthcare's future.
- Modern HealthcareBusiness news, analysis, research and data.
Definitions & Overview Info
Definitions and information about a wide variety of diseases, conditions, and medical tests
- Lab Tests OnlineA peer-reviewed public resource on clinical lab testing.
- MedlinePlusThe National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in layman's language.
- MedTerms Medical DictionaryThe editors at MedicineNet.com claim the content of this dictionary is 100% doctor-produced.
For more definitions, see the "Medical terminology" tab of this guide.
Using Web sites
A Note About Using Websites
You need to be extra cautious about information found on the World Wide Web.
Why? Because both individuals and groups can create websites and write about anything they choose--whether or not they have the education, training, or experience to make them experts.
Despite this warning, the web contains a great deal of reliable, authoritative information; this page is dedicated to helping you find it.
Evaluating Web sites
Evaluating Websites
Things to ask yourself when evaluating a website:
- Is the author of the Web site clearly identified? (an author could be an organization, such as the National Institutes of Health)
- Is there an "About" link clearly describing the author's credentials and purpose for creating the website?
- What is the domain (.com; .org; .gov; .edu)? Generally, .com are commercial sites dedicated in some way to making money. Only governments and schools can have .gov and .edu domains. Generally non-profit organizations use .org but others can use the .org domain, so take care.
- When was the information last updated?
- Is the language professional and neutral? Or, is there biased or accusational language?
- Who is the intended audience? Is this meant for professionals or more useful for the general public?
- Does the author use poor spelling and grammar? Are there exclamation points(!)? None of these are present in reliable and authoritative Web sites.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!