Health Information Technology/Management
HIM (and related) journals available through the TCC Library
Searching the Library's Collection
The Library has hundreds of health-related titles available both in print and through our databases. The following are magazines and journals more specifically related to the work you do:
- BMC Medical Informatics and Decision Making: from 2001 to present in Academic Search Complete
- Health Information Management: from 04/01/2005 to 04/30/2016 in Academic Search Complete
- Insurance and Technology: from 01/01/1992 to 05/31/2013 in ProQuest
- Journal of the American Health Information Management Assn. [Journal Of Ahima]: from 2002 to present in Tacoma Community College's print holdings (ask at the Front Desk)
- Perspectives in Health Information Management: from 2004 to present in PubMed Central
Article databases
Article Databases
The vast majority of free scholarly, peer-reviewed articles are in journals that TCC stores online. The easiest way to identify articles on your topic and retrieve the full text is to use the Library's databases. For HIM topics, we recommend the following databases. NOTE: We have created brief video tutorials for these databases to help you with searching; scroll down to the boxes below to watch the tutorials.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text provides access to over 600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
- PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher Web sites (i.e. not all articles will be available to you).
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
(Also known as APA PsycARTICLES).(Ebsco) Periodical database of peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology.
- Revenue Cycle AdvisorTo obtain login information contact your HIM faculty.
Scholarly article vs. popular magazines
Scholarly Article vs. Popular Magazines
Scholarly Journals
A scholarly journal is generally one that is published by and for experts. In order to be published in a scholarly journal, an article must first go through the peer review process in which a group of widely acknowledged experts in a field reviews it for content, scholarly soundness and academic value. In most cases, articles in scholarly journals present new, previously un-published research.
Scholarly sources will almost always include:
- Bibliography and footnotes
- Author's name and academic credentials
As a general rule, scholarly journals are not printed on glossy paper, do not contain advertisements for popular consumer items and do not have colorful graphics and illustrations (there are, of course, exceptions).
Popular Magazines
Popular magazines, on the other hand, are written by journalists for a lay audience, are not peer-reviewed, rarely contain a bibliography, and often contain advertisements and colorful graphics.
The following video is from the UW Libraries. For more information about scholarly, peer-reviewed articles see NCSU's Scholarly vs. Popular Guide, linked below.
Video tutorial: CINAHL
Explore CINAHL
Find academic, scholarly, and peer-reviewed journal articles in the the fields of nursing and allied health.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window(Ebsco) The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text provides access to over 600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Tutorial
Video tutorial: PubMed
Explore PubMed
Find more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content (i.e. not all articles will be available to you)
- PubMedPubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher Web sites (i.e. not all articles will be available to you).
PubMed Tutorial
Video tutorial: ProQuest
Explore the ProQuest Database
Find newspaper, magazine, trade journal and scholarly journal articles.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new windowMultiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
ProQuest Tutorial
Video tutorial: PsycArticles
Explore the PsycArticles Database
Search this databases for Scholarly articles in the field of psychology.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window(Also known as APA PsycARTICLES).(Ebsco) Periodical database of peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology.
Video Tutorial
- PsycARTICLES video tutorial (2020)Click the link to watch this video for an introduction to searching PsycARTICLES
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!