College 101: Getting to Know Your Library: Finding background info
Getting started with Gale eBooks
Getting started with Gale eBooks
Reference materials, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks give you a brief overview of your topic and are a great place to begin your research process!
You can think of these reference databases as credible alternatives to websites like Wikipedia. In them you will find detailed information about a wide range of topics. The who, what, where, why, why and how types of questions you can ask about a topic are often addressed here. Additionally, these books are thoroughly researched and written by well-educated people, often experts in their fields.
The information in these digitized books can also help you identify relevant names, places, ideas, and dates to use as search terms. So whether or not you know a lot about your topic or are still just brainstorming, these kinds of materials are also a great place to explore topic ideas!
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Image source: Library icons created by rsetiawan - Flaticon
Gale eBooks (formerly known as GVRL)
Using Gale Ebooks
Gale eBooks, formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library or GVRL, is a database that provides access to encyclopedias and subject dictionaries. It's a great place to start your research.
Use the link below to look for articles using Gale eBooks.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowDigitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Searching Tutorial for Gale Ebooks
- Gale EBooks Tutorial (2020)Click this link to play the video ( Previously called Gale Virtual Reference Library, GVRL)
- Quick Guide: Gale EBooksView or download this quick guide to learn more about what kinds of information this databases houses and how to access it. (Previously called Gale Virtual Reference Library, GVRL)
Step 1: Searching for an article
Consider the MAIN concept you are exploring, and use that as a keyword to search this database for relevant articles.
Step 2: Selecting an article
To read an article in Gale eBooks, click on the article title. Be sure to note the titles of the encyclopedias the articles come from. Finally, always read through more than one article to get multiple perspectives or views on an issue.
Click the article title to read the whole article.
Step 3: Saving and citing an article:
Once you click on an article title, look at the tools on the side for how to cite, send/email, download, etc., so you can take that article with you.
CQ Researcher
Using CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is a database that provides access to extensive, but easy to read reports that offer thoughtfully written analysis of social, economic and political issues.
(click on image to enlarge)
Use the link below to look for articles on today's controversial topics using CQ Researcher.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
These weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic.
Video Tutorial
- Quick Guide: CQ ReseacherView or download this quick guide to learn more about what kinds of information this databases houses and how to access it.
Navigating to search and browsing topics
You can search for reports using the search box, or browse for reports or topics.
(click on image to enlarge)
Viewing a full report
Full reports include Header sections, each with subsections, on the right side of the screen. Be sure to use the helpful tools on the right side of the screen to share reports, generate APA and MLA citations, and customize view settings for accessibility.
(click on image to enlarge)
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!