College 101: Getting to Know Your Library: Finding articles
Searching directly in library databases
Why Use a Library Database?
While SuperSearch can be helpful to browse through the collection and see what information is available on a topic, searching the library databases directly can give you more control over your search results. When you have decided on a topic, you can try searching in ProQuest or Academic Search, linked below.
What's in a Library Database?
These databases store thousands of articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and more. Limit by year, information type, publication, and more. Email articles to yourself, download them, and generate MLA or APA citations with ease.
Also Known As...
Library databases are also referred to as "research databases," "electronic databases," "article databases," etc. Sometimes, librarians just shorten the phrase to just the word "database."
Finding articles in ProQuest
Searching in Proquest
Use the link below to access this database, and use the additional tabs to learn more about how to search ProQuest.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
Search Tips
- Quick Guide: ProQuest PeriodicalsView or download this quick guide to learn more about what kinds of information this databases houses and how to access it.
Finding articles in Academic Search Complete
Searching in Academic Search
Use the links below to access this database, and use the additional tabs to learn more about how to search Academic Search.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
Searching tutorial
- Academic Search Complete Tutorial (2020)Click the link to watch this video for an introduction to searching Academic Search Complete.
- Quick Guide: Academic Search CompleteView or download this quick guide to learn more about what kinds of information this databases houses and how to access it.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!