TCC Library subscribes over 60 databases, many of which that you may find useful for your research-based-writing projects. Below find links and tutorials for several databases that hold scholarly music journals, popular music publications, video, and audio recordings.
JSTOR holds at least 77 journals (and 1,889 books) that are either devoted to topics in music, or include music in their coverage. Note, however, that this number does not include other scholarly journals, where you can also find articles about topics in music. JSTOR is an archival database that largely holds older materials, which add valuable retrospective content to your research.
There are many ways you can search JSTOR, but one good way is to start with a simple keyword. The search shown in the image below is for the word Music - and the various filters on the left are featured to show some of the ways you can narrow your results.
(click on image to enlarge)
JSTOR is a great place to locate images as well, even those pertaining to music. You can also find images of album covers, performances, concerts, etc.
(Click on image to enlarge)
ProQuest holds at least 47 journals (and 1,447 books) that are either devoted to topics in music, or include music in their coverage. Note, however, that this number does not include publications that cover general topics, such as newspapers and popular magazines, and other scholarly journals, where you can also find articles about topics in music.
As shown in the image below, there is a list of results for a search for: Music AND (BLM or "Black Lives Matter")
(click on image to enlarge)
Academic Search Complete holds at least 250 journals that are either devoted to topics in music, or include music in their coverage. Note, however, that this number does not include publications that cover general topics, such as newspapers and popular magazines, and other scholarly journals, where you can also find articles about topics in music.
The image below shows a search in Academic Search Complete for the following search: Music AND mental health
(click on image to enlarge)
You may find outstanding periodical articles and books that explore music topics in unexpected places. Think about the nature of your research topic, read the database descriptions below, and consider searching music related topics in these databases!
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!
