ABE 69: HS 21+ Fine Art: Research project
This guide provides starting points for the vocabulary assignment and research project in the Fine Art module in ABE 069 HS 21+ portfolio course.
Resources for your research project
Use the resources listed under each of the tabs in the box below to find resources for your research project.
One of the requirements of your project is to create an annotated bibliography containing two sources, which you can find using the resources listed below. For each source, you will then need to provide an MLA style citation (see the MLA style tab of this guide for assistance) as well as an evaluation of the source (see the Evaluating sources tab of this guide for a list of criteria to address in your evaluation).
Books, library databases, and Web sites
Use the following resources as starting points for research related to dance:
Books:
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Library databases (articles and encyclopedia entries):
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics.
Web sites:
Use the following resources as starting points for research related to visual art:
Books:
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Library databases (articles and encyclopedia entries):
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes access to Grove Art Online, a scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art. Also includes access to The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new windowMultiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics.
Web sites:
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryThis resource from the Met (The Metropolitan Museum of Art) features art and global culture.
- Mother of all Art and Art History Links PagesSponsored by the School of Art & Design at the University of Michigan.
- Smarthistory“Smarthistory opens museums and cultural sites up to the world, one video at a time. We’re creating world-class resources on art and cultural objects for learners from around the globe—for free.” Lessons, videos, and essays. Everything on this site is openly licensed, under a CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) 4.0 license.
Use the following resources as starting points for research related to music:
Books:
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Library databases (articles and encyclopedia entries):
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowDigitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new windowMultiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics.
Web sites:
Use the following resources as starting points for research related to theater:
Books:
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Library databases (articles and encyclopedia entries):
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism and analyses of authors, works, themes, genres and literary topics. - Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowDigitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new windowMultiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics.
Web sites:
Use the following database to find images you can use in your projects. Artstor contains more than just images of visual art! It also contains images related to dance, theater, and music.
- Artstor This link opens in a new window
The Artstor Digital Library provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
How to search Artstor and download images:
- Start by going to Artstor.
- In the upper right corner, click Log in (or Register if you've not yet done so). Registering for an account will allow you to download images to use in your assignments and presentations.
- Next click on Advanced Search in the upper left corner.
- Enter your search terms in the boxes under Search for words or phrases. (You can also limit your search to the Title or Creator field by using the drop-down menu, or you can keep the default setting and search in any field.)
- (Optional) you may also want to specify a date range, geographic location, or classification (medium) by using the Date, Geography, or Classification filters. (NOTE: the more filters you use, the fewer results you will get.)
- Once you've found an image of interest, click on it to enlarge it.
- Click DOWNLOAD to download the image.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!