ABE 69: HS 21+ Fine Art: Vocabulary assignment
This guide provides starting points for the vocabulary assignment and research project in the Fine Art module in ABE 069 HS 21+ portfolio course.
Resources for finding definitions of terms
Use the resources listed under each of the tabs in the box below to find definitions for your fine art vocabulary assignment.
Books, databases, and Web sites
Please ask a librarian if you need help finding any of the following titles on the shelf:
The American heritage dictionary of the English languageCall Number: Main Collection PE1625.A54
Longman advanced American dictionaryCall Number: Main Collection PE2835 .L593 2007Publication Date: 2007
Merriam-Webster's collegiate® dictionaryCall Number: Main Collection PE1628.M36 2003Publication Date: 2003
The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians by Call Number: Reference ML100.N48 2001Publication Date: 2003Recommended for the music topic.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic. - Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes access to Grove Art Online, a scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art. Also includes access to The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- Merriam-WebsterFree online dictionary and thesaurus.
- Oxford English dictionaryFree online dictionary and thesaurus.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!