ENGL 101: Calkins, J. (Fall 2024): Finding articles
Article databases
Why use article databases?
The Library has some journals, magazines, and newspapers in print -- but we have thousands more stored electronically in research databases, also called "library databases" or "article databases." Here are some reasons to use article databases:
- Looking for articles in library databases can help you find more specific information.
- Almost all library databases -- including all the ones featured below -- have built-in citation tools to help make the citation process easier.
- And to help save time, you can also narrow down your results to "peer-reviewed" articles, when you are looking for more authoritative information.
Try searching the following article databases:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR! - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
Search terms
Finding articles for your essays
Below is a list of keywords related to the topics you are exploring in ENGL 101 this quarter, as well as some example searches. Articles are more narrow and specific in focus, so you will likely need to add additional terminology to your searches in order to find the best and most relevant information to support your research question/topic. Remember that different terms will get you different results, so you may need to try several different searches to find relevant sources! Keep in mind that this list is not exhaustive and there are many other terms you might brainstorm. For more guidance on how to brainstorm keywords see the "Brainstorming search words" tab of this guide.
- Adam Smith
- Moral philosophy
- Theory of Moral Sentiments
- Conscience
- Sympathy
- Ethics
Example searches (feel free to copy and paste any of these into the article databases to get started):
- Adam Smith AND "moral philosophy"
- Adam Smith AND sympathy
- Adam Smith AND "Theory of Moral Sentiments"
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!