ENGL 102: Men, S. - Spark Grant Project: Searching for articles in library databases
This library research guide provides starting points for research and information for the Spark Grant Project and annotated bibliography.
Try SuperSearch
Search the Collection Using SuperSearch
SuperSearch connects you to about 90% of the database content that TCC Library has access to. It's a great way to quickly see what options are available on a topic. Be sure to use the built-in filters (on the left) to narrow by source type (when needed).
Try these library databases
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR!
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
These weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic. - Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles on 400 topics, each with an overview and an argument, and many with opposing arguments. Also includes primary sources.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Education Resources Information Center -- Education literature and resources. (Look to the right of the abstract for the "Download full text" link.) - Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Education journals for professional educators - Exchange This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 3,000 practical articles written by the top experts in the field of early childhood education.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
(Also known as APA PsycARTICLES).(Ebsco) Periodical database of peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology. - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) More than 500 full-text journals, covering the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines. - Social Work Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide array of topics, such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and 11,000 books, including reference works. (Tip: After searching for your topic, choose the "Refine by subscribed journals" feature on the results page to view the items you can access free of charge because you are a TCC student.)
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Coverage of nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. - CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text provides access to over 600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. - alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA full-text database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and 11,000 books, including reference works. (Tip: After searching for your topic, choose the "Refine by subscribed journals" feature on the results page to view the items you can access free of charge because you are a TCC student.)
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Covers the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of full-text articles from scholarly, government and general interest sources. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA full-text database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and 11,000 books, including reference works. (Tip: After searching for your topic, choose the "Refine by subscribed journals" feature on the results page to view the items you can access free of charge because you are a TCC student.)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThese weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic.
- Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Provides scholarly literature and current news applicable to all branches of the United States military and the government.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Articles from academic journals, magazines, and trade publications, as well as current company, industry and region reports. - ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Thousands of full-text journals, key business and economics periodicals, industry-focused reports, and major news sources. - Business Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
International business intelligence, industry profiles, SWOT analyses, market share reports, financial reports, company histories, industry essays, case studies, scholarly journals, and business news.
- Complete List of TCC Library Research DatabasesClick here to view all of the research databases available at your TCC Library
Videos for library database searching
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowDigitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowArticles on 400 topics, each with an overview and an argument, and many with opposing arguments. Also includes primary sources.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThese weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic.
- How to combine EBSCO databases (Panopto, 2020)Click this link to view this TCC Library video tutorial, created in Panopto, in a new window.
Sample EBSCO databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window(Ebsco) Education Resources Information Center -- Education literature and resources. (Look to the right of the abstract for the "Download full text" link.)
- How to find subject-specific databases (Panopto, 2020)Click this link to view this TCC Library video tutorial, created in Panopto, in a new window.
- Complete List of TCC Library Research DatabasesClick here to view all of the research databases available at your TCC Library
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!