ART 201, 202, 203: Olson, J.: Books & Films
Books and films
Books - Once you've found general background information on your topic, it's time to find more in-depth information. One great source of more in-depth information is books. TCC Library subscribes to two ebook databases that offer over 300,000 unique academic titles. Directions on how to search and access these two collections are below. Below those boxes, you will find information on Hathi Trust and Project Gutenberg ebooks. If you are specifically interested in using our print books, please scroll down the page to the Library Catalog box.
Films - From your instructor:
You can search for films on your artist. They will give you a general overview, but they should not be the basis of your research paper.
Using Ebook Central to find e-books
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 180,000 electronic books, with broad coverage on academic topics. Viewable with your web browser; also downloadable to e-readers or e-reader apps with some restrictions.
How to search for ebooks:
Enter your main topic into Ebook Central's search box.
Read or download ebooks:
You can read the book online or download it to an e-reader.
HathiTrust Digital Library
- HathiTrust eBooksHathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and access platform. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone.
Library catalog - print books
Our library catalog is where you discover print books at TCC Library. When you search in our catalog and find print books you want to check out, first check to see if they are available. If they are, put a hold on them and then come into the library during our open hours to pick them up.
What about ebooks in the library catalog? Yes, you will find them in our catalog! However, all of them are more easily accessed through the two TCC Library ebook databases above, due to their having more robust search engines. You can search the library catalog for print books by doing a keyword search, and then once you have results, checking the "print books" box on the left of the page. To search in the catalog, click on the link below.
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Using eBook Academic Collection to find e-books
How to search for ebooks
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 electronic books, covering a large selection of multidisciplinary academic subjects. Books can be read through a web browser or downloaded.
Searching by keyword
Enter your main topic into Ebook Academic Collection's search box.
(click on image to enlarge)
To read the ebook
You can read the book online with any device.
(click on image to enlarge)
Project Gutenberg ebooks
- Project GutenbergFind the full text of classics and public domain works from the first massive ebook-creating organization in existence. Nothing fancy here, just files with the full text.
Streaming Video
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Over 67,000 videos covering a wide variety of subject areas. Programs include documentaries, interviews, performances, news, raw footage, and archival materials. Also includes The PBS Video Collection of over 600 titles. - Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!