Argument and Research
Pro and Con Resources
Finding both sides
Finding Both Sides of an Argument
Sometimes it is difficult to find both sides of an argument. Here are some tips to use when you are searching databases. Try adding (usually one at a time, or separated by "OR") the words or phrases listed below. Some will be more useful than others depending on your topic. Try to imagine how authors might discuss the concept you are researching.
| Pro | Con |
|---|---|
| proponents | opposed OR opponents OR opposition |
| advocates | critics OR criticism |
| support OR supporters | resistance OR resistors |
| defenders | enemies |
| sponsors | damage OR costs OR burden |
| positive OR "positive effects" | negative OR "negative effects" |
| benefits | dangers |
Also consider using these more neutral phrases that may lead you to pro/con arguments:
- "moral aspects"
- "ethical aspects"
- "psychological aspects" or "psychological effects"
- "sociological aspects" or "sociological effects"
Search Examples
Search example using pro/con keywords in a library database:
Here's an example of a search you might use in ProQuest if you were having trouble finding articles opposed to beauty contests
(click on image to enlarge)
Useful websites for controversial topics
Useful Websites for Current Issues
Here are some web sites that might help with controversial issues
-
Opposing ViewsThis is a .com site, so be prepared for lots of annoying advertising
-
ProCon.orgA site focused on "promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, and primarily pro-con format." A significant feature of this web site is the provision of links to the documents cited in the arguments.
-
Public AgendaProvides information on the many facets of current interest topics and information drawn from polls give a sense of how the U.S. public views some issues.
-
DebateabaseDebateabase is produced by the International Debate Education Association. Use this resource as a springboard to current and controversial topics.
-
All SidesAll Sides presents current issues in the news from news sources on different sides of the political spectrum.
Liberal vs. conservative sources
Liberal & Conservative Think Tanks
Here are a few magazines (all available through our periodical databases) and think tanks that consistently promote traditional conservative or liberal views.
"Liberal" magazines:
"Conservative" magazines:
"Liberal" think tanks:
"Conservative" think tanks:
Need More?
Need more sources along the liberal/conservative spectrum? See below:
-
AllSidesNews and issues from multiple perspectives. The site clearly identifies each news story's position (left, center, or right). You can also browse publications and narrow down to specific perspectives (liberal/left to conservative/right).
Featured Library Resources
Using Points of View Reference Source
This is a great database to find articles on a wide variety of topics, including controversial topics. Be sure to look for the "Point" and "Counterpoint" articles.
-
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Articles on 400 topics, each with an overview and an argument, and many with opposing arguments. Also includes primary sources.
Search Tips and Tutorials
The image below shows the main search for the database where you can type in a keyword or topic in the box at the top, or you can scroll to the bottom of the page to see a list of topics you can choose from. Each will take you to an overview article of the topic and a list of related results.
(click on image to enlarge)
Limit to just Point of View Articles
This database is great for finding point and counterpoint (think pro/con) articles on many controversial topics in today's new.
- After searching your topic using keywords in the box at the top, limit by Source Type, selecting "Points of View"
(click on image to enlarge)
- Look for the articles' with titles that start with the words "Point" or "Counterpoint"
(click on image to enlarge)
Searching Tutorials
-
Points of View Reference Source Tutorial (2025)Click the link to watch this video for an introduction to searching Points of View Reference Source
The Opposing Viewpoints Series
The Library has many of the books in a series called Opposing Viewpoints. A larger issue (such as Censorship) is broken down into questions ("Should the right to free speech be restricted"?) with authors writing on both sides of each question. Ask a librarian or use the library catalog (see image below) to find these.
-
Opposing Viewpoints series"Opposing Viewpoints" is a series of books published by Greenhaven Press that compile essays from multiple viewpoints, or perspectives, on a central issue or topic. Perfect starting points for argument papers!
Feature Title
-
Gun violence
Call Number: Main Collection HV7436.G8762 2015Publication Date: 2015Opposing Viewpoints series
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!