Argument and Research
Search for Background Information
Finding Background Info
The library databases that can provide excellent background information on a variety of topics. Consider the ones linked below
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
These weekly reports provide thoughtfully written analyses of social, economic and political issues. Every issue features an extensive report on one topic. - Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles on 400 topics, each with an overview and an argument, and many with opposing arguments. Also includes primary sources.
Finding Background Sources
Background sources largely give general information about a topic. For example, take the topic the history of tobacco advertising. If your paper is about cigarette marketing to adolescents, it is important that you understand something about the history of tobacco advertising in general.
The same is true for anything else: If your paper is about ______, it is important that you understand something about the history of ______.
Consider using the library's reference books and resources for this purpose. The library holds many print specialty encyclopedias and electronic encyclopedias. Use the following steps to help you find them.
How to Find Reference Books in the Library
-
Use the library catalog
Start at the library catalog, linked below, to start your search for reference books and background info.
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
-
Search using keywords
Type in keywords related to your topic. To find reference books, also add a keyword like "encyclopedia" in the search box
(click on image to enlarge)
-
Note the location/access
Double-check if the reference book is an e-book (electronic) or in print and available in your library's reference collection.
- If there is a print book icon and a call number, then jot down the call number to find the book. Ask a librarian to help you find the book!
- If it's an e-book, there will be an "E" icon and "Electronic access" heading. Below is an example of an electronic reference book -- click the "Click to View" link to open up the e-book to read online.
(click on image to enlarge)
-
Try other keywords
You often need to think of the many resources that would discuss your topic. In this case, an encyclopedia about children and media would likely have something about advertising and children, or tobacco advertising and children. So you could another search in the library catalog for: media children encyclopedia
Why Start With Background Info?
Research, write, and speak from a position of knowledge
An overview of your topic area provides you with specialized vocabulary that is used relating to your topic (you can use these words for searches later in your research process), and helps you to understand the following:
- The historical perspective on your topic
- What the key issues are and how you may want to refine your topic
- Who are the stakeholders (the groups or individuals interested in or affected by this topic)
- A context of how your topic relates to the other issues that surround it
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!