PSYC 200: Rendon, L. (Fall 2024): Find government and non-profit resources
This library guide provides resources and tips for students in Liza Rendon's PSYC& 200 class and final assignment
Why use government and non-profit sources?
Why use government sources?
- Government agencies and departments are often tasked with implementing programs and services for the public, as well as collecting data and statistics.
- Government documents include primary sources, such as reports, proposals, and data/statistics. Government workers often integrate infographics and data/statistics into reports for the general public.
- Government documents are rarely available in library databases -- the exception is the database called Military & Government Collection, available via your TCC Library -- and instead are almost always available online via government websites.
Why use non-profit sources?
- Non-profit organizations focus on raising awareness to help support specific populations or social issues.
- Non-profit organizations often take data and statistics from government sources and repackage them into resources that are more user-friendly for the general public.
- Websites for organizations can be super useful when looking for problem-solving solutions and how other people or organizations have gone about trying to help a specific social issue or problem.
- Non-profit resources will not be found in library databases, and instead are available online via their organization websites.
Government and non-profit organization websites - Starting points and search tips
Limit your search results to a particular domain (called "site searching")
You can limit your Google search results to specific URL domains, like .gov (government); .edu (education), .org (organization), or .mil (military).
- Example: I want to find government sources about music therapy statistics.
- What to type in the search box: "music therapy" statistics site:.gov
- Example: I want to find resources by non-profit organizations focusing on promoting positive body image in teenagers:
- What to type in the search box: "body image" "self-esteem" teens site:.org
Common URL domains:
- .com = commercial (ads & pop-ups)
- .gov = U.S. government (official agencies)
- .mil = U.S. military
- .edu = educational (colleges & universities)
- .org = organization (could be non-profit or for-profit, can be informative but often biased)
- .net = network (could be almost anything, including personal websites)
- .info = information (generic domain, no criteria needed for companies or individuals to use)
- .biz = business (an alternative to .com)
Now you try!
National government & non-profit sites:
- Lifespan Research - Resource Center"The Lifespan Research Foundation’s mission is to enable people to live healthier lives filled with meaning, connection, and purpose." This site's Resource Center includes videos, articles, and podcasts about topics relating to lifespan research.
- National Institute of Mental HealthProvides overviews of mental health topics, statistics, brochures and fact sheets, and more.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)Contains resources, research, statistics, searchable databases, online forums, and provides links to other related Web sites.
- National Institute on AgingAn official website of the National Institutes of Health. Includes sections for Health Information, Research and Funding, and News & Events. Tip: Go to the News & Events section and then click on "Research Highlights" for new research findings relating to topics on aging.
- Great NonprofitsThe search filters are already limited to Tacoma, for help in identifying nonprofits in this region. You can also click on nearby regions.
- Nonprofit ListThe search filters on this site are already set to Tacoma, WA, for help in identifying some larger nonprofits in this region.
Local, regional, and state government & non-profit sites:
- Pierce County WebsiteOfficial site for the Pierce County government services.
- City of Tacoma WebsiteGateway site for all city-related services, business, and government issues. Use the tabs across the top to drill down into specific areas or issues.
- Access WashingtonOfficial website for Washington State. Find information about the State of Washington, statistics and programs, various resources, and history.
- Tribal Government Resources, WashingtonFrom the Governor's Office of Tribal Affairs site.
- Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber Directory: NonProfitsA directory of nonprofit organizations who are registered with the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber of Commerce.
- King County: Find a non-profit organizationSearch non-profit organizations in and around Seattle and King County. Explore by map or search all nonprofits.
- Community Events Calendar - Greater Tacoma Community FoundationBrowse this calendar to see what community events are going on. You can narrow down by event category, organizer (a great way to see which community groups are active!), and by city.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!