ABE 69: HS 21+ US History: Assignment 2 - Research Project
Step 1. Finding background information
Reference sources -- materials such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks -- provide the researcher with a basic understanding of a topic. Because most students are not experts on a particular topic, it's a good idea to first orient yourself to the basics on your research topic before you delve into more detailed books and articles.
The Gale eBooks database is a great place to begin your US History research project.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
You can also find topical background information in reference eBooks. Try some of these history related eBooks to find background information on your chosen topic.
Just click on the title to get access!
Encyclopedia of U. S. political historyCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2010Enter your search term(s) in the "Search within publication" box on the right side of the page.
50 events that shaped American Indian history: An encyclopedia of the American mosaicCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017
Revolts, protests, demonstrations, and rebellions in American history: An encyclopediaCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2010
Step 2. Searching for eBooks in the TCC Library catalog
Searching the Library Catalog
Once you've found general, background information on your topic, it's time to find more in-depth information. One way is to find books that you can check out at the TCC Library or e-books that you can read online. You can search the library catalog for books by doing a keyword search (e.g., "bilingual education" or "drug abuse") by clicking the link below.
Click the link below to search for books in the library catalog
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Search tips:
- Type in your keywords in the search box and click the "Search" button
- Take note of the format of the results. You can narrow down to print books or e-books by clicking one of the boxes.
- Take note of the publication date range. You can narrow down results to a specific data range.
- Click the title of the book for more detailed info
- Take note of the format of the book. An e-book will have an "E" icon; a print book will have a book icon.
- If it's an e-book, then you can click the "Electronic access" link to read the book online.
- You can also text any book record to yourself.
(click on image to enlarge)
Step 3. Finding articles in library databases
Databases to Get You Started
The Library has some print journals, magazines, and newspapers but most are stored electronically in research databases. The databases listed below cover a number of subjects and are good starting points for finding articles for your research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR!
Need More Help Options?
Consider the linked list below
- Complete List of TCC Library Research DatabasesClick here to view all of the research databases available at your TCC Library
ProQuest video tutorial
Explore the ProQuest Database
Find newspaper, magazine, trade journal and scholarly journal articles.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new windowMultiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
ProQuest Tutorial
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!