ABE 69: HS 21+ US History: Assignment 3 - Timeline
US History Timeline project
The information on this page will help you complete your US History Timeline project.
Search for a topic
When doing research, it's super helpful to have an interest in what you're researching. Here is a great resources for helping you find a topic of interest.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Gale eBooks Topic Finder
1. Click on the Gale eBooks link.
2. Enter "US History" in the search box and click the search icon.
3. Click "Start the Topic Finder" on the right side of the page. The Topic FInder helps you find topics or keywords related to your search term.
4. There are two ways to visualize the topic ideas--by tiles or a topic wheel.
5. Click on a topic to see more focused topics. Keep clicking on a topic to narrow the topic even more!
Images
Remember, just like any content taken from a source, images must also be cited!
Click on the link below to learn how to cite images.
Timelines
The History Study Center database provides timelines on most of the major military, political, and social events in United States history.
To search, select "Key Events Timeline" located in the middle of the home page. Then pan the timeline by clicking and dragging it horizontally, or use the navigation links below the timeline.
- History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized sources for the study of global history.
Find more information on your timeline topic
Search the databases below to find more information about your topic.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowDigitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
- History Study Center This link opens in a new windowCollection of digitized sources for the study of global history.
- ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) News, culture and history from 200 plus publications from the ethnic, minority and Native press in English and Spanish.
Finding openly licensed images online
- How to search for a CC licensed image in FlickrStep-by-step, illustrated directions for how to search for the special collection of openly licensed images on flickr. From the Open Washington site.
- How to search for the CC licensed image in WikimediaStep-by-step, illustrated directions for how to search for images on Wikimedia. From the Open Washington site.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!