ANTH 204: Jenkins, K. (Fall 2024)_Archaeology: Web sources
Online collections -- search for artifacts
- British Museum -- virtual exhibitsExplore thousands of archaeological artifacts from across the globe.
- Department of Anthropology collections -- Smithsonian MuseumSearch for artifacts from the museum's collection. Search by keyword or by browsing.
- Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology -- Harvard UniversitySearch by keyword or browse this online collection of archaeological artifacts from around the world.
- Museum of Anthropology online collection -- University of British ColumbiaExplore the museum's 48,000 objects and artifacts.
- Hearst Museum of AnthropologyExplore millions of artifacts and historical objects documenting the history of cultures from around the world. Search by geographical area,
Online journals and magazines
- Archaeology magazineThis popular magazine's website provides access to short, easy to understand, articles on archaeological topics and news.
- BMSAES -- The British Museum Studies in Ancient Egypt and SudanBMSAES is peer reviewed academic publication which presents research on ancient Egypt and Sudan. Provides access to all issues up to February 2019.
- Cultural Anthropology journal archivesPeer-reviewed, open access journal of the Society for Cultural Anthropology, a section of the American Anthropological Association. Their copyright notice gives permission to "download, save, reproduce, and transmit for noncommercial, scholarly, and educational purposes."
- SapiensThis digital magazine provides an accessible window into all things anthropology.
Open access journals
You can search for articles in open access journals. Open access journals include research articles that are free of all restrictions on access (subscriptions, etc.).
Please note that open access materials are NOT necessarily openly licensed. In general, you can link to open access materials, but you must check each site's terms of use for any further copyright or usage restrictions (e.g. restrictions on downloading or making copies of materials).
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)Quality-controlled scientific and scholarly open-access journals, covering a wide range of subjects and many languages. The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals.
- OMICS GroupInternational through its Open Access Initiative is committed to make genuine and reliable contributions to the scientific community. OMICS Group hosts over 300 leading-edge peer reviewed Open Access Journals and organizes over 100 International Conferences annually all over the world.
- SpringerOpenSpringerOpen journal portfolio includes peer-reviewed, fully open access journals across all areas of science. It ranges from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus, an interdisciplinary open access journal that covers all disciplines.
- Science Direct Open Access JournalsAlmost 600 open access titles are available in this leading scientific database. The TCC Library also has a subscription to this database, which provides access to more scientific journal titles that are not openly accessible.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!