ANTH 204: Jenkins, K. (Fall 2024)_Archaeology: Finding information in library databases
Find your artifact here!
The databases below contain images of many ceramic artifacts from around the world.
To search, enter your chosen artifact in the search box and click "search."
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes access to Grove Art Online, a scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art. Also includes access to The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
TCC Library databases
You can find information about your chosen artifact by searching in these databases.
To search, enter the name of the artifact in the search box and click "search."
Tip: Put quotation marks around artifact names that have more than one word. This will "glue" the words together and results in better search results. Examples:
- "Canopic jars
- "Dogū figurines"
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR! - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
JSTOR tutorial
Explore the JSTOR Database
Find scholarly journal articles, dating from the 1800s through about 3 years ago.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR!
Video Tutorial
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!