Sociology
Multimedia
Finding and using media sources
Databases for Streaming Film
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments. - Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
TCC Library subscribes to Swank streaming films that have been requested by faculty to support their online and hybrid classes.
Featured Collections for Online Videos
TED Talks
Short for Technology, Entertainment, and Design, TED Talks are short videos on an array of topics, presenters are often experts in their fields who are sharing their research in these targeted talks. Linked below, and displayed in the image below, is the collection for Sociology.
- TED TalksTED Videos have a CC BY NC ND 4.0 license, and TED encourages users to freely view, share, and download the videos without restraint. The website is provided as a public service to promote the spread of good ideas.
- Sociology Playlist - Ted TalksA collection of videos and articles on a variety of sociological topics.
(click on image to enlarge)
StoryCorps
Find videos, including animations, as well as recordings on the StoryCorps’ website. With a mission to "preserve and share humanity’s stories in order to build connections between people and create a more just and compassionate world" StoryCorps can be a great source to find firsthand stories on an array of topics.
- StoryCorps"StoryCorps mission is to provide people of all backgrounds and beliefs with the opportunity to record, share, and preserve the stories of our lives."
(click on image to enlarge)
Crash Course
These videos are a great source to quickly get an overview of a larger topic or event in history. The Sociology Course linked here is a series of videos on the topics often discussed in sociology classes.
- Sociology - Crash Course video playlistThis collection of short, entertaining, educational videos include topics such as theories of gender, gender stratification, social mobility, economic systems and the labor market, age and aging, deviance, and more
(click on image to enlarge)
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is "a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more" and is a great place for older content, such as videos like the ones linked below. Older commercials or educational videos, as well as older books, videos, and images, can be a great way to see a picture of culture at any given time or location in history.
- Prelinger ArchivesThis collection at Archive.org is especially good for primary sources on American pop culture.
- Archive.org - Coronet Instructional FilmsCoronet Instructional Films were shown in American schools starting in about 1941
- Archive.org - Vintage CommercialsA collection of vintage commercials within the Prelinger Library.
(click on image to enlarge)
Podcasts
Featured Podcasts
- This American LifeArchive of the weekly radio show This American Life. Personal stories on a wide variety of themes. Search by keyword or browse under the "topics" tab.
- Code Switch - NPRA podcast that talks about race and is hosted by journalists of color who "explore how it impacts every part of society — from politics and pop culture to history, sports and everything in between."
- Understanding SocietyA UK-based website with podcast features ranging from 5-30 minutes on a variety of topics being researched in the field of sociology.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!