Skip to Main Content

Psychology: Mass media articles

This guide contains resources that can be applied to all Psychology courses at Tacoma Community College

Featured sources: Popular or mass media

Popular, or mass media articlesmass media - icons for radio, internet, phone, and tv

Mass media articles are articles written for the general public, rather than for experts.  Instructors may refer to these as "general" or "popular" or even "lay" articles--meaning written for the layman, rather than the expert.  These are usually articles from newspapers or magazines, such as Time or Newsweek, and websites such as CNN.com. 

  • Popular, or mass media articles (or video) are usually not written by experts on the topic.
  • Writers are often employed by the magazines, newspapers and websites where their articles appear. 
  • Articles (or videos) are generally brief, seldom more than three full pages, and almost always lack citation.

Find articles in the databases

The following databases house popular source articles from a wide range of magazines, newspapers, and related publications.

Comparing scholarly and popular sources

So what is the difference between scholarly vs. popular sources?

Differences between scholarly vs. popular sources
  Scholarly Journals Popular Magazines
Scholarly or popular? Scholarly. Also known as academic, peer-reviewed, refereed Popular
At a glance These journal articles often feature the results of scientific or academic research. They are written for scholars and provide in-depth analysis of a specific area of study. Good for summarizing information on a topic for the general public. They often provide some background, briefly summarize research findings, and provide some lay analysis of a topic, often with the intent to show the public how it applies to their lives.
Examples example of a scholarly journal example of a magazine
Appearance Often have a sober, serious look. May contain graphs and charts, but few glossy pages or photographs. Use scholarly language with vocabulary specific to their field. Generally glossy with attractive color photographs and other images
Purpose Written for researchers, scholars and professionals interested in the same field of study. Written for the general public,with the intent to inform, but also to entertain
Authority Written by experts in the field, often reporting the results and conclusions of research they conducted. There is frequently more than one author. Written by magazine staff or freelance writers
Accountability Articles are evaluated by peer-reviewers, or referees who are experts in the field; edited for accuracy, content, format, and style Articles are evaluated by editorial staff, not experts in the field; edited for format and style
Citations/references Contains footnotes/lengthy citations at the end of the work, citing the works of others used by the author. Citations are often absent or if present, informally referenced in the body of the text
Frequency May be published monthly, quartely, or yearly Usually published weekly or monthly
Potential uses Statistical information; research findings to 'prove' or 'disprove' a notion; cause and effect analysis; deep understanding of a narrow aspect of your topic Gain a basic understanding of a current topic, as it is happening; understand how it applies to people directly; gain an understanding of the popular perception of a topic.

 

Mass media sources

Mass media information is intended for the general public.  Articles are often written at a 5th grade reading level.  Typically, mass media sources provide an overview of a topic, or discuss only part of an ongoing story.

Comparing two sources

Click in the links below to look at these two articles on the same topic.  Compare the writing. 

  • Each is useful, but you would use them for different purposes.  How?
  • Only looking at the titles, which is the mass media and which is the scholarly?

Using database filters

Searching in the library's databases

Mass media  or "popular" literature treats topics differently than academic or scholarly literature.  Mass media publications are in the business of selling magazines or newspapers, so while they may be informative, they also strive to entertain the reader.  A common technique mass media uses to communicate is to mention a recent academic study and then tell a 'real-life story' related somehow to the study's findings - often a story meant to induce an emotional response in the reader. 

Using the filters to find specific source types
  • In ProQuest, as in many of the library's databases, you can limit to popular sources like magazines and newspapers, by using the Source Type/Format filter like the one featured below:

(click on images to enlarge)

database filters showing how to limit to newspapers and magazines

 

  • In SuperSearch, from the library's homepage:

a search in supersearch, showing where to limit to full text, and magazine articles

CC BY SA license

Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.

Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087

Instagram logo

Visit us on Instagram!