COVID-19 and Other Pandemics
Searching for Books & Films
Catalog search
Searching the Catalog
You can search the TCC Library catalog for books and and some film* as well.
*The catalog can search for DVDs on the shelf. For most streaming film go directly to streaming video databases.
As with all database searches, keep it simple! Focus on your main topic term first, then add narrower terms if necessary. Here we are using a main topic term to find background and related information about vaccinations.
- Below are results from each of the databases listed above, simply using the key search term: VACCINATION
- Note that none of the books or film above are about COVID-19 vaccination. For a paper about COVID-19 vaccination, that is perfectly acceptable. Not all of your sources need to be directly about your topic. Related information and background information add depth and value to your papers.
From the library's collection
Finding books & eBooks
In addition to access to millions of articles through the TCC Library databases, you also have access to thousands of print books, e-books, and film. Books and film offer in-depth information. Because it takes longer to make a film, or publish a book, you may not find information directly relevant to a current topic, but books and film can offer useful background information and related information to add value to your research-based projects.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 180,000 electronic books, with broad coverage on academic topics. Viewable with your web browser; also downloadable to e-readers or e-reader apps with some restrictions. - eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 electronic books, covering a large selection of multidisciplinary academic subjects. Books can be read through a web browser or downloaded. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
- Complete List of TCC Library Research DatabasesClick here to view all of the research databases available at your TCC Library
Featured books - Click to learn more
Finding streaming films
Finding Streaming Films
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments. - Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
TCC Library subscribes to Swank streaming films that have been requested by faculty to support their online and hybrid classes.
Finding film segments in the esbsco databases
Shown in the image below is a search for the phrase covid-19 in the ebsco database "Academic Search Complete" - Depending on the film segments/clips available on any given topic, the results will often include any relevant video on your topic. Click the "View all results" to see a page of just streaming options.
(click on image to enlarge)
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!