Statistics
This guide provides links to the most useful databases and resources for finding statistics and data
Featured books
Statistical abstract of the United States 2024Call Number: Main Collection HA202.P7 2024Publication Date: 2024A print reference book that compiles data from all government agencies. Often a librarian's first place to look for statistics!
Learn more
Strategies for Finding Statistics
Consider these questions and strategies when searching for statistics:
- Many statistics are gathered by government agencies (such as the U.S. Dept. of Energy) or large organizations (for example, The American Cancer Society). Use the tabs above to explore recommended websites that gather statistical information.
- Depending on your subject, you can also find good statistics within books or journal, magazine or newspaper articles.
- When you find statistics, check the source of the data. In other words, does the book, article or website list where the statistics came from? Do they come from a reputable or well-known source? If not, attempt to find statistics from a more trustworthy source.
Finding United States Statistics and Data
Linked below are some useful and reliable websites that you can use to search for specific U.S. Statistics.
- Explore Census DataFind popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community. An easy way into Census data!
- UNESCO Institute for StatisticsUnited Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) statistical institute website. Includes statistical data sets of world education and literacy indicators, and selected data from the UNESCO Statistical Yearbook.
- U.S. Census BureauAuthoritative data on the U.S. population including city and state profiles which cover info from these various areas: Business and economy, Race and ethnicity, families and living arrangements, employment, education, and more
- Statistical Abstracts SeriesFrom the United States Census Bureau, the Statistical Abstract of the United States, was published from 1878 to 2012, and "is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States"
- Pew Research Center: Datasets"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions."
Finding International Statistics & Data
- UNdataComprehensive database which includes most major statistical resources of international statistics from the United Nations.
- Our World in DataThis site provides data on heath and the environment, but it also has data on "happiness and life satisfaction."
- CIA World Factbook"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues."
- Google Dataset SearchDataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.
- World Bank DataBankDataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. Includes World Development Indicators.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!