Shakespeare Research
Library database starting points
Searching for Articles
Each of the following databases contains a large collection of articles from literary journals or books of literary criticism, in which most criticism is published.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism and analyses of authors, works, themes, genres and literary topics. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of a range of academic journal articles and primary sources. TCC's collection includes: "Archival Journal / Primary Source Collections." Good coverage of history, sociology, anthropology, literature, and economics. All images from Artstor are now on JSTOR! - Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. - ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and other content types provide authoritative and current coverage of famous and lesser-known novelists, poets, and playwrights, as well as topics like the Harlem Renaissance.
- Complete List of TCC Library Research DatabasesClick here to view all of the research databases available at your TCC Library
How to search the databases
Search Tips
- It is usually best to enter at least two concepts in a database or internet search engine.
- Each concept should be entered in a separate search box when possible.
- Be sure to click the "Scholarly Journal/Peer Reviewed" box, if it is available.
- In these databases, * is the wildcard.
Sample Search:
Here's a sample search in the Academic Search Complete database:
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!