Literary Criticism
Search For Biographical Information
Featured Books & eBooks
Featured books
Library Catalog
Searching for Books
Books are a great source for literary criticism and biographical info. Try searching a title, topic or theme, or author in the catalog linked below.
-
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Biographical Library Databases
Biographical Library Databases
The TCC Library subscribes to several databases that include biographical information about authors. Explore library databases with biographical info below.
-
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full text biographies on notable people from around the world.
-
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism and analyses of authors, works, themes, genres and literary topics.
-
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. -
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Digitized reference works, covering many disciplines. Very useful for background information on a topic.
Sample Search in Literary Reference Center for Biographical Info
- Type in the author's name in the search box -- note that capitalization is not important, but spelling is!
- You can limit your results to specific date ranges for publication
- You can limit your results to specific types of articles -- including biographies!
- Click on the title of the article to read the full text of the article
- Below the article title is information about the author, publication date, page ranges, etc.
- There are two main types of full text, PDF Full Text (a scanned image of the original source) and HTML Full Text (just the text, no images)
(click on image to enlarge)
Consider Films
Streaming Films
Consider searching for authors or specific books/works in Films on Demand. There you can find entire documentary films or shorter segments from educational films.
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments.
Gale Literary Criticism series
Gale Literary Criticism Series
What's the Gale literary criticism series, and where are they? The publisher Gale publishes series of literary criticism for specific time periods and genres. In the TCC Library, the following series are kept in reference storage (ask a librarian to help you find these).
- NCLC (19th Century Literary Criticism),
- CLC (Contemporary Literary Criticism),
- TCLC (20th Century Literary Criticism), and
- Poetry Criticism books
Browse Gale's Literary Criticism Series Online:
-
Literary Index (Gale)An electronic index to the many print volumes of literary biography and criticism published by the Gale publishing company.
Keep in mind that the TCC library may not own all of the volumes in all of the series -- a librarian can help you find what we do have.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!