Human Services
Article databases
Article Databases
In the Human Services Program, you will often be required to use sources that come from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. The following databases are the best starting point for finding scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles related to Human Services.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
(Also known as APA PsycARTICLES).(Ebsco) Periodical database of peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology. - CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text provides access to over 600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Be sure to click the "Peer reviewed" box on the search screen to ensure that the sources you find are appropriate for your use in the Human Services Program.
- PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher Web sites (i.e. not all articles will be available to you).
Database video tutorials
Database Searching Video Tutorials
- Academic Search Complete Tutorial (2020)Click the link to watch this video for an introduction to searching Academic Search Complete.
- PsycArticles video tutorial (2020)Click the link to watch this video for an introduction to searching PsycARTICLES
Search terms & search tips
Search Terms & Search Tips
- To force the search engine to look for two or more words in a particular order and with no other words in between, use the phrase search. Place the phrase in quotation marks like this: "diabetic foot" "culturally competent nursing"
- If you are unsure of the form of a word (or the spelling!) use an asterisk as a wild card. For example: nurs* will return nurse, nurses, nurse's, nurses', nursing. And diabet* will return results containing diabetes, diabetic, diabetics
- Use the "Boolean operator" AND to make sure that the search engine searches for all of your words or phrases. AND directs the search engine to provide results that contain the items on both sides of the operator, for example, intubation AND emergency
- Use the "Boolean operator" OR to look for synonymous terms. For example, if I am wondering whether there is an organization centered around caring for obese patients, I might search Google like this: "bariatric nursing" AND (association OR organization OR society). This means I'll take any results that include the phrase bariatric nursing and any one of the other three terms.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!