HIST 146: Sandin, J. (Fall 2025)
Where to Find Primary Sources
Finding Primary Sources
The TCC Library collection contains a number of primary source materials from Early American history.
-
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items on the TCC library's shelves, as well as digital books from our ebook collections.
Search Tips and Terms
To find these sources in the library catalog, try incorporating the keywords listed below in your catalog search.
- narrative
- diary
- journal
- travels
- letters
- eyewitness
- colonies, colonial
The image below shows an example search for the following: women AND "colonial America" AND diary
(click on image to enlarge)
Primary sources in Infobase history databases
Primary Sources in Infobase History Databases
The databases in this box contain both primary and secondary source material. To find primary sources in either database, enter your search term, then select the "Primary Sources" tab above the results list.
-
American History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents, maps, timelines, videos, biographies (and more!) spanning over 500 years of the United States.
-
American Indian History (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 600 Native American groups, this database contains videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, flags, and timelines.
Sample Primary Source Materials
Sample Primary Sources
These eBooks are only a small sample of primary source material from the Early America in the TCC Library's collection.
To access the books below, click on the title.
-
American eras primary sources.The Colonial Era: 1600 - 1754
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2015 -
Debating the issues in Colonial newspapers: Primary documents on events of the period
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2000 -
The letters of Mary Penry: A single Moravian woman in early America
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2018
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!