ENGL 102: Davis, L. (Spring 2025)
Expanding your research - video lesson
Accessing other databases
Periodical Databases
Other databases, like Academic Search Complete and ProQuest, will contain a mix of newspaper, magazine, and academic journal articles. These might be good places to find analysis of issues related to your topic, and also expert opinions about your issues. Yes, opinions will be biased! But in academic research journals, the opinions of experts are generally well-informed opinions and considered to carry weight in an argument.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly, but there are also many newspaper and magazine articles, too. -
ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
-
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of ethnic groups in the United States, with peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents. -
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) News, culture and history from 200 plus publications from the ethnic, minority and Native press in English and Spanish.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!