ABE 69: HS 21+ Health and Nutrition: Research project
Resources for your research project
Use the resources listed under each of the tabs in the box below to find resources for your research project option.
One of the requirements of your research project option is to create an annotated bibliography for each of your sources, which you can find using the resources listed below. For each source, you will need to provide an MLA style citation (see the MLA style tab of this guide for assistance) as well as an evaluation (annotation) of the source. See the Evaluating sources tab of this guide for a list of criteria to address in your annotation.
Books, databases, and Websites
Nutrition throughout the lifecycle by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016This book covers the central nutritional issues unique to each major stage of life, including preconception care, pregnancy and fetal development, infancy, early and middle childhood, adolescence, and advanced age.
Nutrition and well-being A to Z by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2004This two-volume reference examines the relationship between food and health on a historical, national and personal level. It analyzes how nutrition has affected quality of life, health and fitness in various countries at different times in history.
The story of the human body: Evolution, health, and disease by Call Number: Main Collection QP38.L74 2013Publication Date: 2013This book illuminates the major transformations that contributed key adaptations to the body: the rise of bipedalism; the shift to a non-fruit-based diet; the advent of hunting and gathering, leading to our superlative endurance athleticism; the development of a very large brain; and the incipience of cultural proficiencies. Lieberman also elucidates how cultural evolution differs from biological evolution, and how our bodies were further transformed during the Agricultural and Industrial Revolutions.
Public health and community nutrition by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016This book provides an overview of how social determinants of health socioeconomic factors that influence a population's or an individual's well-being contribute to the existence of health disparities in the United States.
The following TCC Library databases are specifically focused on health sciences journals, newspapers, and magazines:
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text provides access to over 600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. - alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
ScienceDirect holds hundreds of science journals and books, with a large number of them focused on health sciences.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and 11,000 books, including reference works. (Tip: After searching for your topic, choose the "Refine by subscribed journals" feature on the results page to view the items you can access free of charge because you are a TCC student.)
The following TCC Library databases are multidisciplinary. They each holds newspapers, journals, e-books and magazines on hundreds of topics, including health sciences, for professionals and for the general public.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
Also check out Films on Demand database. It has thousands of videos on many topics including health sciences topics.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 20,000 streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Videos can be watched in their entirety, or as individual segments.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Healthy LivingThe CDC's Healthy Living pages provides information and tips about an array of lifestyle health issues.
- MedLine Plus: Health TopicsHundreds of articles about health and wellness issues, including Food and Nutrition.
- National Institutes of Health: Your Healthiest Self: Wellness ToolkitsNIH Wellness Toolkits highlight evidence-based tips for living well and improving your health.
All three links above are U.S. Government Websites. Many government agencies provide reliable health and nutrition information. To search for more U.S. government sites, choose your topic word(s) and add site:.gov
search example:
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!