ABE 69: HS 21+ Washington State History: MLA citation
What does citing mean?
What Does Citing Mean?
After you gather information from outside resources to add to your own ideas about a topic, you will quote, paraphrase, or summarize those sources within the body of your paper.
Citing allows you to share with your readers where you got your information so that they can verify what you've written or follow up on an interesting idea, and it protects you from any charges of plagiarism.
There are two parts to an MLA citation:
- The in-text citation lets your reader know, briefly, where the source information in your paper came from. Usually, this includes the author(s) and page number.
- The separate Works Cited page lets your reader know, in detail, where that same information came from.
(click on image to enlarge)
Video: MLA style citations
TCC's MLA style handouts
MLA Style Handouts
Here are some handouts (in both .docx and .pdf formats) featuring examples of citations for sources you might find through TCC's Library and the Web. This first handout is for the full works cited page.
Works Cited
- MLA style works cited guide (8th ed.) 2018 [doc]This double-sided .doc handout provides some example citations for commonly used sources.
- MLA style works cited guide (8th ed.) 2018 [pdf]This double-sided .pdf handout provides some example citations for commonly used sources.
In-Text Citations
- MLA style in-text citations guide (8th ed.) 2018 [doc]This double-sided .dochandout provides some example in-text citations for commonly used sources.
- MLA style in-text citations guide (8th ed.) 2018 [pdf]This double-sided .pdf handout provides some example in-text citations for commonly used sources.
Citing Social Media
- MLA style social media citations (9th ed.) 2021 [.docx]This double-sided .docx handout provides some example Works Cited section citations for social media content.
- MLA style social media citations (9th ed.) 2021 [.pdf]This double-sided .pdf handout provides some example Works Cited section citations for social media content.
Purdue OWL guides for MLA style
Purdue OWL Guides: MLA 9th Ed.
- The Purdue OWL: MLA Style Citation GuideThis resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook (8th ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!