LS 301: Gillanders, H. - HIM: Finding articles
Article databases
The vast majority of free scholarly, peer-reviewed articles are in journals that TCC stores online.The easiest way to identify articles on your topic and retrieve the full text is to use the Library's databases. For HIT topics, we recommend the following databases. The following databases all have coverage of HIM topics such as health information laws, HIPAA privacy and security, HITECH and the "Red Flags Rule."
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text provides access to over 600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events. - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
(Also known as APA PsycARTICLES).(Ebsco) Periodical database of peer-reviewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology.
- PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher Web sites (i.e. not all articles will be available to you).
Example searches/topics
The following are the broad topics you have to choose from for your final research paper:
- Security awareness training in healthcare
- Red Flags Rule as it applies to healthcare (medical identity theft)
- Telehealth and telemedicine legal implications with respect to privacy and security
- Social media collection of data and privacy concerns
Here are some example searches. Feel free to simply copy and paste these into any of the databases to get started with your searching:
- "mobile health technology" AND (security OR privacy)
- "medical identity theft" AND prevention
- "social media" AND "medical data" AND privacy
- "security awareness training" AND healthcare
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!