Washington State History
Newspaper and Magazine Articles
Academic Search Complete and ProQuest
You may be able to find local information in our two large national magazine, newspaper and journal databases: Academic Search Complete and ProQuest, which are linked below. Most articles will be about specific topics written because:
- the county, city or state has taken a leading role (for example, the recent passage of bills legalizing gay marriage and marijuana)
- the county, city, or state is a leader in a particular industry (Microsoft, Boeing)
- the county, city or state has a special geographic feature (Puget Sound, potentially active volcanoes)
- the county, city or state experienced an event of national interest (the Mount St. Helens eruption, Green River killer)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco) Periodical database. This multi-disciplinary database covers most disciplines taught at TCC. Most articles are scholarly. - ProQuest Periodical Databases This link opens in a new window
Multiple periodical databases providing coverage of a wide range of topics, with a mix of popular and scholarly sources. Particularly good for current events.
Other Featured History Databases
- History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Vast collection of digitized primary and secondary sources for the study of history. Do a search -- in quotation marks -- for "Washington state" to find articles and primary sources about different historical time periods and events relating to Washington state history. - African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
(Oxford) Articles from specialized encyclopedias of African American and African history and culture. Includes primary sources and the African American National Biography.
Washington State Newsstand
The Washington State Newsstand is part of the larger family of ProQuest databases, but it covers only local newspapers. The indexing covers most major papers in the state, but only the following newspapers are currently available in full text through this database:
- Columbian (Vancouver)
- Herald (Everett)
- Journal of Business (Tri cities area)
- Spokesman Review (Spokane)
- Yakima Herald Republic (Yakima)
- Washington State Newsstand This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Includes the full text of most larger Washington State newspapers.
Image source:"Seattle Star Newspaper" by taken from the "The Great Depression in Washington State Project," and is used under fair use practices.
Washington State Newspapers
Here's a complete list of Washington State newspapers with links from the Washington State Library.
The State Library is a participant in the National Digital Newspaper Program sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. The project digitizes older newspapers. Our State's contributions contributions also appear in the Chronicling America website.
- Newspapers in WashingtonAccess to Washington State newspapers from the Washington State Library.
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1925. Library of Congress project site.
Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.
Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087
Visit us on Instagram!