Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal resources at the library: Westlaw and Nexis Uni databases

This LibGuide contains information about how to find legal information online and using the TCC library's resources.

Westlaw

Westlaw is a legal database that includes secondary and primary legal sources. It contains statutes, codes, and case law. Includes the American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia.

This database is for TCC paralegal students only. Paralegal students get their own usernames and passwords during certain quarters in the Paralegal Program. Paralegal faculty will provide that login information. If you are a paralegal student without your own login information, please ask your paralegal instructor for assistance.

Access the database by clicking the link below:

Introduction to Westlaw video


Source: "Introduction to Thomson Reuters Westlaw" by Thomson Reuters Legal, Standard YouTube License.

Searching Westlaw

The following handout provides you with step-by-step instructions for accessing and searching Westlaw.

Nexis Uni

An alternative to Westlaw is the Nexis Uni database, which is accessible to all TCC students, faculty, and staff.

Nexis Uni provides full text access to:

  • U.S. Federal sources
    • U.S. case law
    • U.S. statutes and regulations
    • U.S. Supreme Court cases
  • U.S. State sources
    • State Appeals Court
    • State Supreme Court
    • State Claims Court
    • Not included are state trials nor jury trials.
  • Law journals (law reviews)

To search legal cases (federal and state) or law reviews (articles in scholarly law journals), select the appropriate box (Cases or Law Reviews) and specific filters will appear to help narrow the search.

Access the database by clicking the link below:

CC BY SA license

Except where otherwise noted, the content in these guides by Tacoma Community College Library is licensed under CC BY SA 4.0.
This openly licensed content allows others to cite, share, or modify this content, with credit to TCC Library. When reusing or adapting this content, include this statement in the new document: This content was originally created by Tacoma Community College Library and shared with a CC BY SA 4.0 license.

Tacoma Community College Library - Building 7, 6501 South 19th Street, Tacoma, WA 98466 - P. 253.566.5087