How to get magazine, journal, and newspaper articles: Periodicals A to Z

In this example, I searched for Newsweek magazine. In the screenshot below, you can see that the full text of articles of this magazine are available in three different databases, as well as available in print in our library.

If, for example, I clicked on the Academic Search Complete database link for Newsweek, I would come to a description of the magazine and a chronological list of every issue (newest first).

If I knew exactly which article I want, I can open up the issue that corresponds to the date I need and then browse for articles published on that date.

Note: If you are off campus, then clicking the database link might pull up a log-in screen. If so, then log in using the same username and password you use to log into the MyTCC portal.

Most categories have subcategories of more specific subject headings. In this example below, I chose the broad category of "Earth & Environmental Sciences." From here, I can choose a more specific topic, like "Forestry."

When I click on the subject heading sub-category -- in this example, I chose "Forestry" -- you can then see specific journals related to that sub-category. In this example, the TCC Library has access to more than 40 journals on the topic of forestry. You can see full-text options for each journal in our databases.

Notes:

• Some journals are available in more than one library database, so be sure to check the dates available!
• Click on the name of the database, which is a link to that specific journal in that specific database.

Once you go to a specific journal in a specific database, you might be able to searching within ALL of the issues for articles on a topic. In this example, seen below, you can click the "Search within this publication" to do just that.

Or, you can open individual issues of the publication to browse for articles.