Primary sources: American wars

"The basic site is organized into fifteen Topics... Each Topic is introduced with a contextual essay and is supported by six to twelve significant documents (manuscript or printed) from our collection. For every document there is a high-quality image of all pages." CARW

"The collection is organized into three "General Correspondence" series which include incoming and outgoing correspondence and enclosures, drafts of speeches, and notes and printed material.In its online presentation, the Abraham Lincoln Papers comprises approximately 61,000 images and 10,000 transcriptions." LOC

"An electronic archive of documents about the causes, conduct and consequences of the American Civil War." (U of P)

"Civil War Sources offers easy access to the countless digitized primary sources in Civil War era history that are available online. You can browse or search over one hundred databases."

A collection of newspaper editorials dealing with Nebraska Bill (1854), the Charles Sumner Incident (1856), Dred Scott (1857) and Harper's Ferry (1859).

"The Valley of the Shadow is different than many other history websites. It is more like a library than a single book. There is no "one" story in the Valley Project. Rather, what you'll find are thousands of letters and diaries, census and government records, newspapers and speeches, all of which record different aspects of daily life in these two counties at the time of the Civil War." Valley of the Shadow Project

"This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War."

Elizabeth Ball Collection of over 200 WWI posters

"The newspaper's mission was to provide...scattered troops with a sense of unity and an understanding of their part in the overall war effort. The eight-page weekly featured news from home, sports news, poetry, and cartoons, with a staff that included journalists Alexander Woollcott, Harold Ross, and Grantland Rice." Library of Congress

This library has assembled a list of primary source documents on the Korean War which include letters, reports, photos and speech transcripts.

Extensive collection of classified documents, photos, sound recordings pertaining to the Truman administration and the Korean war.

"(This) collection preserved at the NDSU Institute for Regional Studies provides a unique look into an aspect of the war often overlooked. Based upon what President Truman called “the campaign of truth” these leaflets became one of the primary means of winning the hearts and minds of enemy troops and Korean civilians." NDSU

"The mission of the Vietnam Center at (TTU) is to support and encourage research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam experience; promoting a greater understanding of this experience and the peoples and cultures of Southeast Asia." The VCA

"This collection of materials, commonly known as the “Peers Inquiry,” which provides the results of General Peers’ investigation of the “My Lai incident”— later also known as the “My Lai massacre”— is divided into four volumes: the report, witness testimonies, exhibit materials, and CID [U.S. Army Criminal Investigation Command] statements." from the homepage, Peers Inquiry

"The Pentagon Papers, officially titled "Report of the Office of the Secretary of Defense Vietnam Task Force", was commissioned by Secretary of Defense Robert McNamara in 1967. In June of 1971, small portions of the report were leaked to the press and widely distributed." (National Archives) This archive project houses the complete report.

General classified and top secret national security memoranda, browse to find those specifically about the Vietnam situation. Includes items such as the action memorandum to deploy the defoliating substance known as Agent Orange.

"This collection focuses on The Decision to Drop the Atomic Bomb. It includes documents totaling almost 600 pages, covering the years 1945-1964." Truman Library

"The National Security Archive publishes the most comprehensive on-line collection to date of declassified U.S. government documents on the atomic bomb and the end of the war in the Pacific. Besides material from the files of the Manhattan Project, this collection includes formerly "Top Secret Ultra" summaries and translations of Japanese diplomatic cable traffic intercepted under the "Magic" program. Moreover, the collection includes for the first time translations from Japanese sources of high level meetings and discussions in Tokyo, including the conferences when Emperor Hirohito authorized the final decision to surrender." NSA

"The Historic Government Publications from World War II contains 343 Informational pamphlets, government reports, instructions, regulations, declarations, speeches, and propaganda materials distributed by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) during the Second World War." SMU

"Includes some of the following texts from the Trial of the Major War Criminals Before the International Military Tribunal from the Proceedings Volumes; Motions; Orders of the Tribunal; Presentation of Cases; Testimony of Witnesses; Final Report on the Evidence of Witnesses for the Defense of Organizations Alleged to be Criminal..." as described by Harvard Law School Library

"Personal and official photographs, letters and diaries, transcribed oral histories, art, and more..." Calisphere

United States Army produced training maps. Texts describe action on various war fronts on a weekly/biweekly basis. Includes photographs.

"(Ernie Pyle) wrote feature columns six times a week, .... As his fame increased during the war (many newspapers) published Pyle’s work. In 1944 Ernie Pyle won a Pulitzer Prize for his stories about the ordinary soldiers fighting in World War II." School of Journalism

"The Project supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War, and seeks to accelerate the process of integrating new sources, materials and perspectives from the former "Communist bloc" with the historiography of the Cold War which has been written over the past few decades largely by Western scholars reliant on Western archival sources." from Cold War International History Project

A selection of U.S.-made propaganda films meant to encourage such things as increasing personal purchasing power as a way to staunch the spread of communism.